What's new

  • What's new
  • Notifications
Search
Search for over 1000 casinos, slots, bonuses

Notifications
failed to load.

Reload

You don't
have any
notifications.

Reload
View all

Notifications
failed to load.

Reload

You don't
have any
notifications.

Reload
View all

Betway Casino breaching one week suspension cooling off period allowing me revers and lose £13.5k of my winnings

RESOLVED
Complaint Info
Disputed casino Betway Casino
Reason Other
Posted on November 25, 2014

Betway casino has refused to return my winnings of £13.5k after breaching their responsible gambling terms and conditions and regulations set by the Gambling Commission for responsible gambling.

On Wednesday 19th November 2014 I wont £13.5k. I withdrew the funds and request my account to be suspended via a one week cooling period from that date.

On Saturday 22nd November 2014 I enquired when I was able to open my account. I was informed I could open the account now if I wish during the one week period. As a result of this I lost the entire amount, allowing me to completely reverse the withdraw, despite the status ‘worked on’ and unavailable to at the time.

The cooling off period is designed to suspend the account on a certain period requested to prevent compulsive gambling and encourage responsible gambling. Betway have failed in their duty of care to adhere to these conditions set by their Terms and Conditions and the Gambling Commission.

Betway have declined to return any funds to me claiming that they are allowed to re-open the account during the cooling off period upon the customers request. They have also told me that as I have not made any deposits they are not able to refund me anything because I had reversed the funds. So it appears they are accepting partial responsibility??

I find this an utter disgrace and taking advantage of the players impulse that had already requested for a temporary suspension for seven days.

Their terms and conditions state that after the cooling off period is over, the account will automatically be re-activated. It does not say we can open the account during the cooling off period. At no stage did I request the account re-opened DURING the cooling off period on request. I asked WHEN the account can be re-opened to which customer stated I can reopen if I wish.

The withdrawal process is extremely slow and I feel that the casino had deliberately allowed me to gain access, which is a serious breach of trust. I find this casino an utter disgrace to allow me to re-open during my one week suspension. How they are regulated by the Gambling Commission that supports responsible gambling is astonishing. I request for my original funds to be reinstated on the basis that you have breached your own terms and conditions and the regulations set for responsible gambling, and taking advantage of my impulse during my suspension. I have all the copies of emails and phonecalls are all recorded on Betway with conversations I had.

Posted on November 24, 2014

Here is the last response I have received on 23rd November pasted below.

You can clearly see that Betway have stated that because I have not made deposits during the cooling off period no refunds can be given? Because I reverse my funds they wont refund me.

So this statement already implies you are accepting responsibility for this? So from your statement, in theory I could had deposited £20,000, lost that and you have to refund me? That correct? I don’t think you would.

Whatever the funds are, reverse withdraws, deposits is completely irrelevant. You have failed to enforce the one week cooling off period which I reiterate is a SUSPENSION as defined by your own terms and conditions.

You have abused your position of trust within responsible gambling guidelines.

I hope this complaint is viewed by all players that see the unethical values this casino has.


------­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­-------

Hi XXXX,

Account: XXXXXX

Hope this e-mail finds you well?

I would like to thank you for your patience regarding this matter.

As per our previous discussion on the phone, I have escalated this matter to our Operations department who have had a further investigation into this.

They have provided us with feedback stating that you did not make deposits during this cooling off period, Only reversed cash-ins were made and therefore we cannot be liable for these reversed funds made on your request.

There were no deposits and therefore no funds can be refunded.

Kindly note that this decision is final. If you do require any further information, you may contact our regulators at (http:­//w­ww.e­co­gra.org/).

Hope you enjoy the rest of your day.

Kind Regards,

Roberto

The Betway Team

Posted on November 24, 2014

This is copied from the Betway Group page to show their Corporate Responsibility. They say they take responsible gambling very seriously. I am hope a Betway representative can understand that the responsible conduct of their gaming operator has fallen well below its required standards as outlined by their regulator eCOGRA.

------­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­---­------

Corporate Responsibility

Responsible gaming
Betway is committed to ensuring that all players can enjoy a safe and fair gaming experience whenever they play. Each site offers a number of ways for players to ensure they stay in control of how much they gamble. This is made possible by a player’s ability to monitor and manage their accounts with the use of responsible gaming features such as; self-imposed deposit limits, cooling-off periods and the ability to request self-exclusion for a minimum period of six months.

Our commitment to state of the art processing technology across all our gaming sites means that players can be confident that their personal data and key financial details carry the highest level of security. Additionally, our on-going investment in monitoring systems and stringent KYC (know your customer) checks ensures the highest quality vetting of customers to ensure that none of our players are under age.

We take corporate and social responsibility very seriously, as is evident by our accreditation by eCOGRA, which gives our customers additional safeguards including the ability to use its services as a mediator in the event of a dispute. eCOGRA itself aims to protect players by addressing the need for fair gaming and responsible conduct by the online gaming operators. It has a very broad remit to enforce standards through continuous monitoring and onsite reviews, ensuring that the highest operating standards are maintained throughout this growing online industry.

AskGamblers
Posted on February 20, 2020

Dear all,

Kindly notice this complaint is being reopened following the declared willingness on behalf of Betway Casino management to do everything within their powers in resolving their outstanding AGCCS cases. AskGamblers Complaints Team will gladly assist by giving any of these old cases an additional chance for a successful resolution.

Posted on February 20, 2020

Hi Quay,
Please see the findings from our investigation:

2014:
The account in question was first opened.
You had then deposited £430.00 and won £13 567.15 by playing online Blackjack.
These winnings were requested to be withdrawn.
You contacted us and requested for a cooling off period of one week. The reason was to wait for the funds to be processed.

You contacted us via chat, requesting to have your account reopened. You were advised that you could re-open the account upon your request. This was in alignment with Regulations as well as our Terms and Conditions. You replied with "Yes" and confirmed that you wanted the account to be reopened. Due to the fact that 24 hours has passed, you were able to reopen the account upon your request.

We received additional contact from you stating that you would like to reverse £9 500.00 of your £13 567.15 withdrawal. This was completed after receiving confirmation from you.
You contacted us via live chat at a later stage and requested an additional £4000.00 to be reversed which was completed after gaining confirmation from you once more. This left you with £67.00 as a withdrawal balance.

You had contacted us a day later, enquiring why you were able to re-open your account. Our Terms and Condiitons were explained to you however you requested a full refund on the account.

The remaining withdrawal of £67.00 was paid to you and the refund request was denied.

Please let us know if you would like to be contacted in order to follow-through with the resolution of your complaint.

Regards,
The Betway team

AskGamblers
Posted on February 20, 2020

AskGamblers Complaints Team has been provided with enough information and explanation on behalf Betway Casino management in regards of this complaint to confirm and justify the casino actions.

Based on the above, AskGamblers Complaints Team consider this case as Resolved and it is now officially closed. In case of a disagreement with our decision we remind player that further assistance on this matter could be requested from the relevant regulatory body.

Sign up for +100 No Deposit Spins!

This offer is not applicable to residents of Great Britain.

By subscribing you are certifying that you have reviewed and accepted our updated Privacy and Cookie Policy