What's new
What's new
Play for real Exit Fullsc Enter Fullscreen

Finn and the Swirly Spin Slot NetEnt

Finn and the Swirly Spin Review - Editor’s Impressions

Uncover the secrets of a beautifully crafted world where luck dances hand in hand with whimsical design in the Finn and the Swirly Spin game. The slot has compelling features, including Free Spins, avalanches and special symbols. Keep reading this Finn and the Swirly Spin slot review to learn more.

While testing the game for this review, it took a few spins before we landed our first win. We also triggered the Star Bar Free Spins round, which took us to a new screen with two to five Wilds on every spin.

Overview of the Finn and the Swirly Spin Game

Finn and the Swirly Spin is a five-reel, five-row slot developed by NetEnt. The game uses a cluster pays mechanic, and any horizontal or vertical line with three or more matching symbols results in a win.

On the reels, you will find spades and hearts as the low-paying symbols, while the four-leaf clover, lucky horseshoes, acorns and rubies are the high-paying symbols. A star represents the Wild and will replace other symbols except for the key Scatter.

The betting range is between £0.10 and £100, so both low-stakes players and high rollers can enjoy the game.

Try the demo version to get a feel of this exciting slot before playing the Finn and the Swirly Spin real money version.

Finn and the Swirly Spin RTP, Payout and Volatility

The Finn and the Swirly Spin slot machine has an RTP of 96.62% and low to medium volatility.

The highest-paying symbol is the ruby, which will reward 500x the stake when five appear on the reels. However, the max payout from random features is 840x the wager.

Finn and the Swirly Spin Graphics and Gaming Experience

The slot reels are set against a lush meadow bathed in golden sunlight with a winding path through the emerald-green fields. You can see a quaint cottage adorned with ivy, and thatched roof stands from a distance. 

On the right side of the spiral grid, Finn, the leprechaun, plays his flute and occasionally graces the reels with his presence. This intuitive design and engaging animations accurately match the theme.

Finn and the Swirly Spin Bonus Features

Four random features can be triggered during the base game if the initial spin had no wins.

The Starfall Wilds feature places two or more Wilds on the reels randomly. If there are no rewards, Wilds will continue to appear until a win occurs.

The Dragon Destroy feature will annihilate a random number of symbols on the reels to create another avalanche with guaranteed wins.

The Irish Luck feature adds a vertical or horizontal line with similar symbols, except the Wild, for guaranteed wins.

The Magic Transform feature modifies the spade and heart symbols into one of the high-paying symbols with 16 possible combinations.

Finn and the Swirly Spin Free Spins

If the Scatter symbol moves to the central position after avalanches, it will trigger one of the four available Free Spins rounds.

The Star Bar Free Spins awards seven free rounds with Starfall Wilds. This feature works the same as the base game.

The Lava Lair Free Spins is triggered by landing four keys, and it will reward three extra spins with the Dragon Destroy feature. During the round, a sticky Wild appears instead of the Free Spins key symbol.

Four Lucky Mug Free Spins will be triggered with the Irish Luck feature if you land nine keys. If no winning combinations exist, more symbols can be transformed according to how frequently they appear.

The Golden Pot Free Spins requires 16 keys to unlock, and it will reward two extra spins with the Magic Transform feature.

What Are the Pros and Cons of Playing Finn and the Swirly Spin?

Like our other online slot reviews, we have highlighted the pros and cons of playing the Finn and the Swirly Spin.

Pros

  • Wide betting range
  • Several bonus features
  • Distinctive theme and design

Cons

  • Low max payout

Where to Play Finn and the Swirly Spin Online

Our list of recommended NetEnt online casinos allows you to play this and other online slots for real money. We recommend Mr. Play for the best Finn and the Swirly Spin online casino experience.

Summary of Finn and the Swirly Spin - A Whirlwind of Free Spins!

From its distinctive theme and design, the Finn and the Swirly Spin promises exciting gameplay with several additional bonus features. Its appealing betting range allows all types of players regardless of their wager.

We were impressed by the Free Spins round, which has different rewards depending on which round is triggered. Despite its low maximum payout, the game's medium to high volatility made it engaging by offering small, frequent wins.

Try the Finn and the Swirly Spin slot demo before playing for real money at an online casino.

Play game
Software NetEnt
Slot Type Video slots
RTP
Special feature Wild Scatter Free Spins
top10 Slot details
top10 More slot details More details
  • Software
    NetEnt
  • Slot Type
  • Paylines
    10
  • Reels
    5
  • Min Coins Per Line
    1
  • Max Coins Per Line
    10
  • Min Coins Size
    0.01
  • Max Coins Size
    2
  • Jackpot

    500
  • Bonus Game
    No
  • Progressive
    No
  • Wild Symbol
    Yes
  • Scatter Symbol
    Yes
  • Autoplay Option
    Yes
  • Multiplier
    No
  • Free Spins
    Yes
Suggest an edit

Finn and the Swirly Spin Slot Reviews by Players

RATE GAME AND WRITE A REVIEW

Write a review
Flatzem 145 reviews
South Africa
Message
Reviewed on November 25, 2021

LIKED

Something different from NetEnt here in a 5x5 grid configuration and what’s not to like, the Irish theme of this slot comes with a variety of features, 4 of them in fact, Starfall Wilds where you get several wilds added to the reels, Dragon Destroy symbols get destroyed and this brings your key closer to the center as well as getting some wins during the process, Irish luck where symbol transformation occurs and Magic Transform where more symbol transformation occurs for bigger potential wins. The fact that there are these random features that can occur in clusters makes the game worth playing but only when this generous situation occurs otherwise the game will eat and eat your balance without any regret. But best is when you get the key into the center of the grid and collect those keys to have the ability to unlock better features, you need about 14 keys to unlock the last feature though. I have only collected 5 keys in about 1250 spins so it would take me about another 2250 spins to get all 14 at this rate, an average of about 250 spins but there can be droughts too however of 300 spins without a key.

DISLIKED

Features tend to be on the lower side however they can be triggered quite often randomly however the key features can take a long time as you need a certain number of wins for the key to reach the center of the grid and so many times you will be only a few spots away from it that it can be a bit frustrating and sometimes can take several hundred spins currently for me in the real mode it has been over 300 spins since the last time I had the key reach the center of the grid and that is a such a long wait that I don’t know what to do with this game anymore, I will return to play it again at some point and hope to get the key early cause taking this long is too much from a slow where the wins aren’t that big anyway so far the features have been on average around that 70x best one being 110x and worst being 46x. There is no real chance of a 1000x on this slot that’s for sure.
Sloter 514 reviews
Greece
Reviewed on December 17, 2020

LIKED

The ‘Finn and the Swirly Spin’ A popular video slot created by Net Ent that uses an interesting a 5x5 grid layout, comes with Cluster Pays. Wins are formed by matching 3 or more symbols in a vertical or horizontal line. Bonuses are unlocked with play, all of which are various Freespins rounds. If you are a fan of Cluster Pays may find yourself, with the offer a selection of generous prizes, including extra wilds, symbol transformations, symbols that can be destroyed by an avalanche, and an extra line of symbols that can be used to increase your chance of a Big win.
Nigeljc59 8 reviews
United Kingdom
Message
Reviewed on May 14, 2020

LIKED

I have played this game a lot and although it’s not a big payer in relation to stake it can play well and get a good return when you catch it on a good day. When Finn is in the mood he will work his magic a lot to keep your interest.

DISLIKED

I think when you get the golden pot from Finn and it matches lots of the same symbols I strongly feel there is a fault in the game and it doesn’t pay nowhere near what it should as you also get a lot of stars on the second go. I have emailed both NetEnt and the UK gambling commission to see if I’m right.
My other complaint is when you get the stars you can get 7 stars I have only had it once, and I have played this game a lot, the average is 3 it should pay the maximum amount of stars more often.
Nigeljc59 8 reviews
United Kingdom
Message
Reviewed on February 16, 2020

DISLIKED

The game is CORRUPT!!!
REASON? When you get Finns magic transform and he turns the spades to rubies the payout is wrong it’s pays more like they are still spades!! And does the same with the stars created afterwards. I have emailed both NetEnt and the UK gambling commission with my findings but received no reply.
Don’t waste your money playing the game try it in demo mode you will find out for yourself.

Also I believe the fact in the last 6mths they have altered the game play so you will lose and have a lousy playing experience = based on me playing 10000s of real play and demo mode where the ratio won lose is from my findings is 99% playing anything from 50-300 spins in a go.
I could go into more detail about why it is now a corrupt and lousy game to play but play in demo mode on games guru and find out for yourself this is from someone who a year ago won £1400 in one session now you can’t get your stake back that’s how awful it is now.
katemak 1265 reviews
Macedonia
Message
Reviewed on July 24, 2018

LIKED

The Finn and the Swirly spin slot is one of the newest game release from famous Netent provider and each time they succeed to surprise me but not in a good way. Netent from year to year are releasing all very low payout games I really wonder why they even bother or continue to do that.

This game has an Irish theme where you'll see the Leprechaun who spins the reels on an very unusual way. The game has cartoonish look, the graphics are great for my taste, as for the game it self cant say the same. The payout of the game is poor or it needs to be played a lot so you can get the most of it. The only times I have played this game is from free spins some casinos has offered as playing with my money only several times, seeing what's the potential of the game I don't think its worth of spending my money on it.

The Finn and the Swirly spin slot has free spins feature as well. The thing about this game is matching a symbols, so no matter if they are vertical or horizontal you should match at least three of them and that way you get a winning line which will explode but after that you get the star which is the wild symbol and substitute with all symbols on the reels.

The game has free spins feature but doesn't have scatter symbols as we are used tobut on the reels there is a Key symbol so while you are matching the symbols, while making a winning a line and the Key should enter in the Keyhole in the center of the game, so that way you triggered the free spins feature.

There are 4 feature to choose from while you play those free spins the starfall wilds, dragon destroy, magic transform and Irish luck and those can be choosed only if you manage to collect required keys while you play and you need to play a lot. As I mentioned this game is not my cup of tea, yes I play it from time to time but only given as a free spins, other that that no.
Fiekie247 1106 reviews
South Africa
Message
Reviewed on December 28, 2017

LIKED

Latest releases of Netent is very bad. Low table pay-outs but more importantly it's very difficult to hit x500 your bet on the newer games since the pay tables are low as well as the game play is not the same like it used to be. Make no mistake Finn and the swirly spin is no different as well as you can't easily win x500 your stake however this slot looks very interesting and entertaining.

Similar to Emerald isle in terms of the colourfulness as well as the colours being used Finn sitting there on the ground blowing his whistle while you can place bets of minimum $0.10 but can be entertained for hours with a small balance. This game boast random features and 4 different free spins features. The random features can be triggered during any normal spin and activated 1 single round of the 4 free spins feature this game has.

The free spins feature is activated when the key on the beginning of the grid reached the centre of the grid. You can choose from 4 different features which include the following:

Starfall Wilds – wilds are added to the reels until a win occurs.
Dragon Destroy – symbols are destroyed in a way which guarantees a win.
Irish Luck – certain symbols are transformed to provide a guaranteed win.
Magic Transform – all hearts and spades are transformed into higher value symbols.

I have played this game since release days and always select the Star Wilds or Dragon Destroy as those are the unlocking levels are reached. You need to reach the feature a certain amount of times which then unlocks the other features on the slot. I am hoping to get the Magic transform feature very soon.

I managed to win x100 my bet once, but mostly its between 30 – 70 x my stake during the features. I would consider this slot as good for wagering purposed and would rate it a 7 out of 10.
Afi4wins 2075 reviews
Malaysia
Message
Reviewed on December 24, 2017

LIKED

I have been hating almost all of NetEnt's new games, including a number of their oldie games too, all because of being 'upgraded' or for having ridiculously low paytables, resulting in ridiculously poor gameplay. Then Finn And The Swirly spin came along. My first impression? "Oh god, yet another one!" Well, to my surprise, and well beyond my expectations, the game played very well for me! I first played this game with some free spins from a casino, then more plays with more free spins, and each time, I was quite delighted with the game. Why? Well, the reasons have nothing to do with its incredibly low paytable, but with the game's uniqueness in the swirling spins!

NetEnt should be proud of this new 'invention' - it's a new way to play slot games! Instead of the usual up-down spinning of the reels, or the dropping down of icon blocks, the symbols now shoots up from one corner and swirl in a squarish circle, ending in the center, and forming a 5x5 grid formation. Honestly speaking, I am not fond of any such grid formation, because there are too many symbols on the play screen which makes it look cluttered, but somehow, this swirling effect did not give me the cluttered effect. Don't ask me why, but that's the way it is!

Whenever 3 or more same symbols land in line, either horizontally or vertically, they would explode, leaving behind a bright Yellow Star Wild symbol. However, same symbols that explode with this Star Wild does not create another Star Wild, but that exploding Star Wild would explode the adjacent symbols around it. Very interesting! These maneuvers keep the other symbols moving in a swirl, until a special 'Key' symbol gets into the keyhole at the center, awarding a Free Spins game. This game doesn't rely on Scatters at all, but depends solely on that special key to get to the center of the swirl. If no movement of the symbols is encountered, a new spin ensues.

There are 4 modes of Free Spins games available, but each mode can only be played upon collecting the required number of that special key, indicated by a meter on the right hand side. The first 3 keys award the Starblast mode, whereby each spin of the 7 free spins would get 2 up to 5 Star Wilds being thrown into the swirl to create wins. Getting 4 keys awards the Lava Lair mode, with 3 free spins, but with an indestructible Wild Coin. The 9th key awards the Irish Luck mode, with 4 free spins, and with one random row of 5 same symbols. Finally, the 16th key awards the Jackpot mode, with only 2 free spins, and with 2 random symbols being transformed into another symbol. Amongst these 4 modes, the Jackpot mode tends to pay the lowest most of the time, except when you get most of the symbols, if not all, transforming into the Red Ruby symbol, for a nice big win. My favourite? The Lava Lair 3 free spins with the indestructible Wild Coin.

DISLIKED

What I dislike most about this Finn game is not really confined to NetEnt games only, but seems to be with any other new games as well. The game plays much better in the earlier stages than in the later stages! I have already reached the 62 keys level now, have played all the 4 modes of Free Spins, and have seen my credit balance going up and down regularly too. Playing with the minimum 0.10 bets would give the best play! Playing with much bigger bets would bring out the Blackhole in the game and devour your credits like hhell! You'd get lots of empty spins and lots of useless small wins!

Now here's probably the worse of the lot. My best win from all those 62 Free Spins games was only 158x my bet amount, with 114x the second best. All the other wins were either about 25x or about 50x! Nonetheless, I love playing this game, purely for its uniqueness and for fun sake, but where wins are concerned, it's a damn blardy poor paymaster!
LeoDubbed 176 reviews
Netherlands
Message
Reviewed on November 27, 2017

LIKED

NetEnt has been naughty in the last couple of years, games rating were dropped significant in my opinion because its poor payout. Apparently this is something that will happen to all games providers in the near future. It is similar to fishing. They are the fishermen and we are the fishes and their games are the bait, with other words, some how they will get us the take the bait hehehe.

Games providers are always trying to beat their rivals to be the number one, Microgaming was on top when online gambling was introduced to the world wide web but with years and because the popularity of online gambling, a new gaming provider must soon arrive and they did, NextGen (Nyx), Playtech, NetEnt, BetSoft. Today the amount of games providers has multiplied, it is hard to choose which you'd play with. Well, there's one word that increase chance of winning : Originality.

Finn and the swirly spin is a new gem of NetEnt. Some of you would recognize the game play, yes it is similar to Zuma, not the video slot but the original game of shooting marbles to a swirl of other coloured marbles. I think it's a very interesting concept and I must admit that I was intrigued by this game and couldn't help but to give it a 'swirl' hehehe.
My first time playing this game was with the free spins I got from a casino. Bad session, no win at all. Then I tried it with deposit money and I must say I had more luck this time, I played about 2 and a half hours with a small deposit. I collected 14 keys, you'll get 1 key each time the free spin feature is triggered. I do like the multiple stages bonus feature which you can buy with the keys you've collected. I've completed the whole bonus stages and the last one is kinda disappointing, it requires 16 keys to unlock it but you'll only get 2 free spins.
Highest win is the red ruby of 500 credits and this goes for 5 stars (wild) too, Another disappointment to me. It is a fun game but same payouts as other predecessor games.

Why are you reporting this review?

RATE GAME AND WRITE A REVIEW
150 characters left for pros 150 characters left for cons

Time to Check your email!

You are recognised as Casino Representative. We sent an email to with registration link, please click that link in order to complete the registration.

Finn and the Swirly Spin Slot Winning screenshots

Been lucky lately? Share your winnings.