What's new
What's new
Play for real Exit Fullsc Enter Fullscreen

Thunderstruck Slot Games Global

Thunderstruck Review - Editor's Impressions

UK-based slot fanatics who love Nordic-themed online slots are in for a nostalgic trip in this 2004 release. Games Global brings out the storm in Thunderstruck with nine paylines. It has modest bonus rounds featuring Scatters, Wilds and Free Spins. Thunderstruck slot machine is a very popular title that is exciting for newbies and experienced players.  

In this Thunderstruck slot review, we'll tell you how to strike thunder and lighting based on our experience. We'll also explore other features the god of storms has for UK-based players. 

Overview of the Thunderstruck Game

There are countless slots with Nordic-themed slots in the market. Players couldn't get enough of Norse gods on the grid even then. This gave rise to a genre that has given rise to multiple Norse mythology games like Hall of Gods from NetEnt.  

Thunderstruck has a five reels by three rows grid with nine paylines. Symbols struck by lightning fall on the grid in the main game rounds, with a flash going off in the background when extra game features are activated. 

Thunderstruck RTP, Payout and Volatility 

The Thunderstruck game is a medium volatility slot with an RTP of  96.1%. Thor's Hammer is the highest paying in this slot's main game rounds. The castle, the horn, and the lightning symbol also have great payouts ranging between 100x - 160x for five matches. The game has a very wide bet range of £0.09 to £90 per spin. 

A picture of two rams represents the Scatters in this game, and the Thor represents the Wilds. Both special symbols have base game value, with the Wilds doubling winnings when it makes a winning combination. 

Thunderstruck Graphics and Gaming Experience 

From our online slot reviews, you'll discover that most Nordic-themed slots have a great visual appeal. This game is set in the background of dark clouds where the colourful grid floats. The 2D graphics also seem to be struck by lightning for dramatic effect. A menacing sound mimicking reel movement plays in the background of this slot. While the graphics are solid they can seem a little dated and that is not surprising since the title was launched back in 2004. 

Thunderstruck Bonus Features

The Wilds symbol substitutes others to help complete winning lines in this game. It also doubles the payout. The Thor Wild symbol can be used to take the place of any other symbol, besides the Scatter, to help create a winning combination. Besides the Free Spins there are no other bonus features in Thunderstruck, which is a little disapp­oin­tin­g.  

Thunderstruck Free Spins 

Like most classic online slots, the Free Spins are the main bonus features. Landing three or more pictures of the rams triggers 15 Free Spins. The Free Spins rounds come with a 3x multiplier making them more lucrative, as every single win is tripled. Moreover, landing three or more scatters can retrigger the Free Spins rounds and there is no cap on how many Free Spins that you can win. 

What Are The Pros And Cons of Playing Thunderstruck?

UK-based players find many Thunderstruck online casino features to be thrilling. However, some aspects leave players unsatisfied. 

Pros

  • It has a fantastic theme and soundtrack
  • The Free Spins have 3x multipliers
  • It has excellent base game payouts
  • Free Spins can be retriggered 
  • Wide bet range 

Cons

  • Free Spins rounds are the only bonus feature
  • Graphics a little dated with slot launched in 2004 

Where To Play Thunderstruck Online

After you get acquainted with the Thunderstruck slot demo, check out our page for the best online casino sites. We've reviewed multiple sites, including SG Casino, where you can play the Thunderstruck real money game. 

Summary of Thunderstruck - A Classic Norse Mythology Slot

As a newbie, this is the perfect game to give you a glimpse of the evolution of Nordic-themed games. You also get to enjoy straightforward gameplay and rewarding Free Spins rounds. Seasoned players can also enjoy casual play in the Thunderstruck demo slot and real money version. If you want to take it up a notch in terms of payouts and features you can try the sequel in Thunderstruck II. 

Play game
Software Games Global
Slot Type Video slots
RTP 96.1%
Special feature Wild Scatter Free Spins
top10 Slot details
top10 More slot details More details
  • Software
    Games Global
  • Slot Type
  • Paylines
    9
  • Reels
    5
  • Min Coins Per Line
    1
  • Max Coins Per Line
    5
  • Min Coins Size
    0.01
  • Max Coins Size
    2
  • Jackpot

    750
  • RTP
    96.1%
  • Bonus Game
    No
  • Progressive
    No
  • Wild Symbol
    Yes
  • Scatter Symbol
    Yes
  • Autoplay Option
    Yes
  • Multiplier
    Yes
  • Free Spins
    Yes
Suggest an edit

Thunderstruck Slot Reviews by Players

RATE GAME AND WRITE A REVIEW

Write a review
Flatzem 162 reviews
South Africa
Message
Reviewed on November 25, 2021

LIKED

So once again this is a 9 liner and if I am not mistaken this was the original 9 liner from Microgaming from which many clones were made. You get 5 reels, 3 rows, and 9 adjustable pay lines. In this game we have Thor being the Wild and doubles your win along with the sound of thunder to add that nice touch. There is a lot to like about a slot that is as simple as a 9 liner and Microgaming made a fine decision to choose this theme as one of its earliest releases. It is always nice to get the 15 free spins and that is done by getting 3 or more scatters, they could have given more spins if you get 4 or more but 15 is all we get but that is still a good number and opportunity is there to get further more spins by getting retriggers. And if you get 5 scatters you will get rewarded 500x Bet how good would that be? But that is quite rare but still 500x Bet for 5 scatters is better than what some slots give. Sure you can gamble your wins and I recommend doing that from time to time if you feel lucky at picking but stick to colors as it's a real 50/50 chance. Overall it is an old-school type of slot and I recommend you give it some spins to relive the way slots used to be.

DISLIKED

Just like any other slot the free spins can be AWOL however put a few hundred spins through it and it will trigger them, but you only get 15 even if you get 4 or more scatters. Only 15? how about making it 20 free spins for 4 scatters and 50 free spins for 5 scatters. As for getting 5 wilds on a pay line is probably a 1 in 2 million chance, only saw a screenshot of it once on line 1 it was.
Christo13 1 review
New Zealand
Reviewed on October 30, 2021

LIKED

Ever reliable if you stay the course and not get too greedy too fast 😆 easier said than done. Starting with a $100 bankroll and 90c bets easily gets to $500 7/10 times. Resisting the urge to double the bet after each set of free spins

DISLIKED

The game generally dies after 5 of a kind scatters or wilds in general play, and a 5 of a kind in free spins also generally kills the game. My advice, leave it for 2 hours before going back.
Sloter 514 reviews
Greece
Reviewed on February 14, 2021

LIKED

Thunderstruck, is a Microgaming video slot with 5 reels/9 Paylines based on the Nordic god of storms, Thor! Special features include Free spins and Wilds. On the reels, you will see: Thor himself/Scatter Rams/Thor’s Hammer/Horn/Thor’s Fist/Lightning/Mythical Castle. Compared to its sequel Thunderstruck II, the graphics pale in comparison.
Afi4wins 2075 reviews
Malaysia
Message
Reviewed on January 15, 2017

LIKED

Ah, Thunderstruck, the oldie game that had struck the likes of so many players worldwide, thrusting Microgaming up the ladder of popularity, fiercely competing with a few other established software providers. There aren't many providers back in those early years, so becoming popular wasn't as tough as it would be nowadays. But where new games are concerned, Microgaming games have to struggle hard to make it to the top, simply because their games are not as astoundingly beautiful, sophisticated, or even innovative enough as their 'younger' counterparts' games. Releasing yet another new clone isn't going to help either, which Microgaming has been very fond of doing, and which one other software provider seems to be following in the same footsteps too, unfortunately. But, as the saying goes, 'to each its own'.

The Almighty Thor is the Wild symbol, paying an excellent 10,000x the line bet for getting 5 of them, doubling all wins with it, and substituting other symbols except the Scatter symbol. The Rams is the Scatter symbol, paying an excellent 500x the total bet for getting 5 of them, and getting 3 or more of these Rams trigger 15 free spins with all wins tripled. More free spins can be retriggered. Ah, this is how all games should be like! Being an old game, there isn't any other extra feature available, but the good free spins offering is sufficient to keep this game going on. As for the other symbols in the game, the Hammer pays 750x, the Hand pays 750x too, the Castle pays 400x, the Lightning pays 250x, the Horn pays 250x too, and the others pay from 125x to 100x, all per line bet for 5 of each kind. A very good paytable indeed, which could have been an excellent one if all the other symbols have slightly better win values.

With such a very good paytable, one can expect the game to be very tight and very hard to win on, simply because this Thunderstruck game falls into the High Variance category, but when a good win comes, it may seem like it's raining cash! Hehehe. After so many years of playing Thunderstruck, my luck has always been struck off by the lightning, or by Thor's Hammer, so I haven't yet seen any huge good win from it, It may elude me forever, but I'm not that concerned, because I'm not going to go chasing after such huge wins. If I do get it one day, I'll be very thankful. If not, it doesn't matter at all. But Thunderstruck is one very good game to play.
hajnrih 1379 reviews
Macedonia
Message
Reviewed on March 31, 2016

LIKED

Thunderstruck is a video slot game coming from Microgaming software and it is probably one of my all times favorites. It is an old game, I believe that it has been around since 2004 and I remember I have read somewhere that it has 95 % return.

The thing that keeps me coming back is the 15 free spins bonus. it occurs very often and somehow it lures you to play with bigger bets. You usually get around 30 x bet from the free spins, but there were times when I was getting 500 x bet. That is the thing that makes you play this game over and over again and never get bored of it. You know that there is a big chance that you will get great payouts when you play this game. I have to say that there were times when this game was not treating me good and it was taking all my money in no time, but I will always play it. I know, if the game does not give anything in the first 100 spins you are dead and you should leave it as soon as possible and play it again another time.

If you get 5 scatters you will not only get the 15 free spins but you will also get 500 x bet, and also the free spins can be retriggered. If we put aside this amazing bonus we also have to mention the paytable which is great too. If you get 5 Ice Hammers or 5 Staffs you will win 750 coins or 1500 if there is a wild symbol too. The Thor symbol pays 10 000 coins but I am afraid to say that I have not seen this yet, but I hope it will happen soon. It should happen soon since I play this game that often. Even if you do not trigger the bonus the game itself will pay quite a lot.
zerooo 742 reviews
Slovenia
Message
Reviewed on November 27, 2015

LIKED

Thunderstruck is 5 reels video game with 9 paylines. It is Microgaming software game and I played it most of the time at freerolls at GoWild casino.

The game offer free spins feature when at least 3 scatters are anywhere on the reels. During free spins the winnings are at x3 multiplier. I never received free spins, I tried it also with my own money but I did not have better results. I think it is really hard to trigger feature, it is harder than at Dead or Alive game.

The base game paid well, sometimes very good because of wild symbol. Most of the time I had only 2 wilds, never more than that. But the prize for all five symbols is really set high, x10 000 bet. This game could provide big wins and I like it because of that. I love playing this kind of slots where huge winnings are possible.

I think i will rate this game with 9 stars. I will took one star, because I played it many times for a few hundred couple of spins but I never received free spins feature. I know that is high variance game. Dead or Alive is also high, super high variance but free spins seems easier to get than at this one.

I will play this game more in the near future, maybe I will finally receive free spins and I will see how they will pay me. Otherwise I don't have any bad words to say about it, I also like that two scatters pays x2 because I received them many times. But third never came, so that is my luck at this game. Anyway I recommend it to all to try it out. The look, design in the game is not perfect, but it has good paytable which is the most important.
raverbabe 559 reviews
United Kingdom
Message
Reviewed on July 31, 2015

LIKED

This game is getting a little long in the tooth now, but it's still just as good as ever if you favour the older, nine liner style of slot game. It’s all just so simple, with some big hits in the base game paytable as well as a free spins mode that gives you tripled up wins as well. I’ve actually seen a screenshot of somebody who was playing this game at just 1p per spin – a single line – and hit the five wilds during the free spins winning a monster £300, or 30,000 x times his stake to put it another way. Outrageous!!

A little fact for AskGamblers to note, the free version on this page is no longer accessible from the UK because of country restrictions on wherever you are using to supply the free game. It would be nice to get this fixed if possible ;)

One thing this game has which Microgaming seem to have brushed aside lately is extremely detailed autoplay settings – you can tune everything, not just the number of spins like on many other games. I particularly like the fact you can set a very small delay in between each spin if you wish, making the game much quicker than other games even when you put them in “Quick Spin” mode. Why can’t we still have these features in new games too?!

DISLIKED

This is a very different animal from the second Thunderstruck game, which is really just “another” 243 ways slot game, but then again, this game itself spawned a huge number of virtually identical games with just the symbols on the reels changed such as Adventure Palace, Ladies Nite, and Spring Break – so if you like the theme of any of those other games better than this one, then you might prefer to play those instead. The mechanics, prizes and features are all completely identical. I’m a bit cynical about this, and would prefer to see Microgaming concentrating on creating on genuinely new titles instead of spending so much time just reskinning old ones.
LilianInThaHouse 657 reviews
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Message
Reviewed on May 1, 2015

DISLIKED

Thunderstruck
This is an old and legendary slot game. Thunderstruck has only 9 pay lines. Well now, this game was never something especially for me. It's a bit boring for my taste and does not offer a lot of excitement and adrenaline while you play. Also, the reels are turning in some strange way. Actually I do not have a feeling that the reels are spinning at all, when I play here. I do not know if it's up to my old PC or something else is at stake. Of course this is an old game and the graphics are not anything special. I like some of the older Microgaming games because of symbols. I noticed that the symbols in these older slots are full of tiny and catchy details. In other words they look brilliant. But that is not the case with this game.

Here, the symbols look somehow completely easy and cheap. Like the designers of this game have invested a minimal effort. The theme for this game is inspired by Scandinavian mythology. I do not know almost anything about Scandinavian mythology so I do not have anything to write about it. I had the opportunity to try this game often. Also I've had some big wins. But those wins mostly come suddenly upon dozens of small wins. That is why this game is quite boring to me. From the futures there is free spins bonus. You must have at least 3 scatter symbols to get to this bonus. In that case, if I remember correctly, you will receive 15 free spins. A few years ago there were several Microgaming slot tournaments with this game. Today you can only play it at Go Wild VIP slot tournament, if you get an invitation from the casino for this tournament.

Thunderstruck is a video slot game that I will not recommend. It looks cheap and is boring, boring and I will repeat once again, this is a very boring game. However, if you like games with a theme from the Scandinavian mythology, then I recommend the continuation of this game Thunderstruck II, which is much better than this
bogdangy 515 reviews
Message
Reviewed on April 30, 2015

LIKED

Thunderstruck is a Microgaming slot ,really old but the fact is that I didn't try this slot so far, I played only the second release, Thunderstruck II, a 243 ways to win slot with nice features. I decided to try this slot, I thought that being the first released will be interesting too. I was expecting to see the same 243 ways to win slot, but it has only 9 paylines and a minimum bet of 0.09 euro. Because the minimum bet was 0.09, I started to play with 0.18 euro bet but I noticed that the wins aren't as good as I was expecting and I decided to change to 0.45 euro! About the graphics I could say that I am not impressed, I know that the game is pretty old but I was expecting to better graphics and nice symbols.

The features of this slot are very common, a Wild symbol, Free Spins feature and a Gamble feature that I am not using it anyway because I think that it is a waste of time and money! Regarding the free spins, I don’t understand why they chose the Ram symbol as scatter for the free spins, I don’t think that has any connection with the theme of the slot! I managed to catch these free spins 40 minutes after I started to play, very hard to catch 3 rams, most of the time will appear only 2 scatters on the first 2 reels or the last 2!

About the payout rate I don’t know what to say, I played with 0.45 euro stake and only one time I caught the free spins that gave me a 18 euro win.

I will give only 7 for the graphics, it is an old slot and I think that the second release is better than this one!

The features will receive another 7 because it has only free spins and a wild symbol, so nothing special.

DISLIKED

I don’t like the gambling feature and also I am disappointed because you can’t stop the reels!
irishchris07 39 reviews
United States
Message
Reviewed on December 30, 2014

LIKED

Thunderstruck is a nine payline slot game from Microgaming without a bonus game yet this game packed plenty of punch for me. While the game is dated and in my opinion it doesn't really stand up to the new version it can still provide plenty of entertainment depending on what you are looking for.

The good old Scatter Rams just loved grazing on my reels and by times I felt I was spending more time on free spins than paying for them. As many free spins as I got in my time playing this I never managed to win anything major through them although the small winnings did stack up.

My most significant win on this game came when I matched five of Thor's Hammers and this was out of the ordinary to say the least because I never came close to matching that win despite my efforts.

The graphics in this game would have to be described as impressive and if I had of discovered this game back in the days of being a He-Man fan I would have been glued to the reels for days!

The vast majority of my wins came through matches of three or four of the 9 to Ace symbols and while they were relatively small amounts it still felt good to be hitting something.

DISLIKED

Unfortunately the game has become dated and lacks in everything that Thunderstruck II supplies. This game may just suit you if you're interested in taking a trip up memory lane but if your looking for any sort of major winnings or some pulse racing action then I could not recommend this game.

After considering everything about this game and having spent some time recently playing lower payline games I would give Thunderstruck an overall rating of five out of ten and I would possibly have to rate it lower if judging it by today's standards and whats available now.

Why are you reporting this review?

RATE GAME AND WRITE A REVIEW
150 characters left for pros 150 characters left for cons

Time to Check your email!

You are recognised as Casino Representative. We sent an email to with registration link, please click that link in order to complete the registration.

Thunderstruck Slot Winning screenshots

Been lucky lately? Share your winnings.