What's new

  • What's new
  • Notifications
Search
Search for over 1000 casinos, slots, bonuses

Recent Searches

Clear

Notifications
failed to load.

Reload

You don't
have any
notifications.

Reload
View all

Notifications
failed to load.

Reload

You don't
have any
notifications.

Reload
View all
Kathmandu Slot is currently available only in free play mode in your country.
Exit Fullsc Enter Fullscreen

Kathmandu Slot Microgaming

Kathmandu Slot is a 9-payline video slot, running on the Microgaming software platform. The game is inspired by the eastern culture and features thematic symbols, such as a temple, an elephant, the rising sun, and a map of Nepal. There are 5 purple reels set against the decorative frame. Players are welcome to try Kathmandu Slot for free, or visit any of the listed Microgaming Casinos to play for real money.

Before you go to an exotic trip to Nepal, you are advised to regulate your bets. There are up to 9 paylines to bet on. “Coin size” ranges from 0.01 to 0.25, whereas the number of “Coins” to wager per line varies from 1 to 20. “Bet Max” sets the maximum bet that the slot allows and spins the reels automatically. To access the “Au­top­lay­” option, press Expert button. Once you are ready, hit “Spin” and start the game.

The Wild is the Spinning Wheel and it acts as a replacement for all symbols, with the exception of the Scatter. There is also an extra Wild symbol in the game, which is the Temple. The extra Wild may only occur during Free Spins and act as the regular Wild card.

The game’s Scatter is the Big Bell. Once players land at least 3 Scatters simultaneously anywhere on the reels, 15 Free Spins feature will be activated. The random multiplier of up to 5x will be applied throughout the feature.

Gamble Feature is triggered upon every winning combination. Players can gamble their winnings by clicking the “Gamble button”. If you guess the correct colour or suit of the card, you may double or quadruple your winnings. But be careful, if you make a wrong guess, you will lose the winning amount and will be returned back to the main game.

Game Play

Coin value: Set the coin size.
Select Lines: Set the number of lines to bet on.
Select Coins: Set the number of coins per line to wager.
Bet Max: Sets the maximum bet that the slot allows.
Autoplay: Sets the reels in motion without interruption for a chosen number of times.
Spin: Set the reels in motion.

Play game
Software Microgaming
Slot Type Video slots
RTP 96.29%
Special feature Wild Scatter Free Spins
top10 Slot details
top10 More slot details More details
  • Software

    Microgaming
  • Slot Type

  • Paylines

    9
  • Reels

    5
  • Min Coins Per Line

    1
  • Max Coins Per Line

    20
  • Min Coins Size

    0.01
  • Max Coins Size

    0.5
  • Jackpot

    600
  • RTP

    96.29%
  • Bonus Game

    No
  • Progressive

    No
  • Wild Symbol

    Yes
  • Scatter Symbol

    Yes
  • Autoplay Option

    Yes
  • Multiplier

    Yes
  • Free Spins

    Yes
Suggest an edit

Kathmandu Slot Reviews by Players

RATE GAME AND WRITE A REVIEW

Write a review
Flatzem 117 reviews
Message
Reviewed on January 29, 2022

LIKED

A slot from Microgaming and based on the Nepal theme. It’s another one of Microgaming's 9 liner slots and that means 5 reels, 3 rows and 9 paylines, the way slotting once used to be. The minimum bet is just 0.09 if playing all 9 lines and that is good enough for low rollers like myself and many others. You will notice everything Nepal is in this slot, temples, elephants, maps etc, are all found here along with the playing card symbols from Ace down to 9 making it similar to many other slots, the best symbol is the temple however which also becomes an additional wild during the free spins feature.

When it comes to the sound effects, one thing you will notice is when the scatter symbol appears it makes a distinct sound. You will be hearing these often and they will become important in landing the feature, by getting 3 scatters or more where you will get your standard 15 free spins with a multiplier between 2x and 5x. I would have preferred if it stayed 3x for the entire feature cause many times it gives you 2x.

Making the temple function as a wild is a good little addition to a 9 liner as the more wilds you have the better chance of getting those big wins.

As in some good Microgaming slots there is a gamble feature where you can double your wins if you pick the correct colour, red or black or if you want a bigger risk with bigger reward go for the suit gamble and you can quadruple your wins, I would mostly prefer the red or black gamble and sometimes try those in a row. Sometimes even after a feature if I wasn’t satisfied with the feature win.

The RTP is at a good level of 96.29% which aligns with many of the other 9 liners from Microgaming but it comes down to the theme which most appeals to players.

DISLIKED

The theme of this slot doesn’t quite appeal to me compared to the other 9 liners from Microgaming, I would still play this slot in most sessions but I gave the other 9 liners more spins compared to Kathmandu. There is no additional free spins if you get more than 3 scatters would have been better if they made it 20 spins for 4 and 25 for 5 but it is what it is.
Sloter 514 reviews
Greece
Reviewed on February 16, 2021

LIKED

The History of the Kathmandu valley dates back to ancient Times.
Microgaming’s Kathmandu video slot, comes with simplicity on graphics, 9 Paylines across 5 Reels.
The W logo is the Wild symbol in the basic game but also in the Free spins. The Wild symbol pays 6.000 coins. The Ancient Bell represents the Scatter symbol. Landing 3 on the reels will activate the Free spins mode with 15 Free spins (The Free spins mode can be activated again). During this mode, winnings will be multiplied by a random Multiplier of up to x5. In addition on Free spins mode, the Ancient Temple represents the extra Wild!
Afi4wins 2050 reviews
Malaysia
Message
Reviewed on September 25, 2016

LIKED

Where in the world is this mysterious place called Kathmandu? If you don't know, there's a map of it in the game, but I'm not telling you. Let your fingers do some walking, it is good or you, hehehe. Some of you may have left your hearts at Kathmandu, some may still be stuck somewhere in Timbuktu, but I've been there and come home, so good luck to you. Nothing like a bit of nice simple poetry to get the mood going, right? Well, I'm only getting you into the mood for the game, not the mood for the night. Hehehe.

As you would expect if you do arrive into Kathmandu, everything looks old and simple, with nothing much to confuse you. With just 9 paylines and simple graphics, it's a game that would take you back in time without much ado. But whether you like it or not, I wouldn't know, it's all up to you. The Wild symbol pays 6000x the line bet for 5 of them. It doesn't double any wins with it, it doesn't expand on the reels, it doesn't come stacked, it only substitutes for other symbols except for the Scatter symbol. Hmm, okay, it's just an old dumb symbol, hehehe. The Temple acts as an Extra Wild during the Free Spins game, paying 750x the line bet for 5 of them, and does what the Wild symbol would do. In the base game, the Temple is just another paying symbol. The huge Bell is the Scatter symbol, one ding of it will give your ears a dong, 5 of it will pay you 100x the total bet, and 3 or more of it awards 15 free spins with a random multiplier of up to 5x. I told you it would give you a dong! Not the usual 2x or 3x, but a nice 5x sing-along. What's more, the Free Spins game can be retriggered, and this time, I do mean can be retriggered, because I did get a few of them in my various plays.

The other symbols in the game aren't so interesting, paying from 600x to 75x the line bet for 5 of each kind. The Wild symbol has a good win value, the Temple acting as an Extra Wild adds more value, the Free Spins game is pretty good too, so even with the other symbols having low values, I would still rate the paytable as average and not low. For an old game, this is more than acceptable.

Kathmandu can play as hotly as it can coldly. During its dry runs, there would be a few hundreds of useless spins, without any Free Spins game coming by, but this is nothing out of the ordinary. In good runs, there'll be some good Free Spins games coming quite closely together, giving good chances of making up for whatever losses have been incurred, making some nice decent wins even. At times, the payouts can be as low as below 15x the total bet, at other times, it can be well over 30x. My best win on the game was about 200x my bet amount, won years ago, before I had any reason to get a screenshot of it. Yes, higher wins are indeed possible, but I have not given this game much play to see how much higher the wins could be. Nonetheless, Kathmandu is a worthwhile game to play, that much I can tell you.
raverbabe 559 reviews
United Kingdom
Message
Reviewed on August 29, 2016

LIKED

Chatting on the forums regarding nine liners just recently I asked for some suggestions, alternatives to good ol' Break Da Bank Again or Thunderstruck and its clones. I love nine line games and Kathmandu came up straight away from a couple of keen fans so I was excited to give it a try.

It's obviously an older machine that much is immediately obvious just from looking at the user interface, however Microgaming hasn't been creating a whole lot of nine line games in recent years and when they do they are often just clones of older slots such as last months "Karaoke Party" so I wasn't about to let a little thing like age put me off!

Because of it's age I'm willing to let the less than amazing graphics slide but the symbols do fit in with the games theme - there are elephants and temples, maps and bells as well as the typical TJKQA symbols filling in the gaps. I experienced quite a bit of lag when playing the game in my browser which seemed very unusual for a nine line game. I tried refreshing the page but it persisted although opening the game in my 32red download casino client immediately got things running as I expected.

On an average day I'll play nine line games anywhere from 0.36 to 0.90 per spin but as I was new to this game I decided to keep my bet sizes low, kicking off with a few spins at 0.18. After 100 spins I'd managed to land two scatters many times but still hadn't seen a bonus round so decided to take a look at the paytable and see what the game had in store for me - my first impressions had been good but I wasn't really getting a feel for the games win potential although the fact I'd lost well over 50% of my wagers suggested that this was going to be another high variance nine liner, just the way I like them!

My hunch panned out too - the scatter symbols pay up to 100x your stake or up to 500x during free spins thanks to an up-to-5x multiplier given on each spin. A full line of wilds returns 6000 coins too which represents 666x your stake when playing all of the lines and although the base game payouts aren't quite up to the crazy levels offered by Break Da Bank Again they are easily substantial enough to make for an exciting game.

I'm surprised I never tried Kathmandu before and am really grateful to of had it recommended to me as I might never have found the game otherwise. Microgaming just have far too many games available in their back catalogue to make trying every single one a realistic possibility in the near future, especially when they are adding even more games every single month! Even if your not a fan of nine line games I think this is a slot that most gamers would be able to enjoy and if you are into these types of games well it's a no-brainer, give it a try right now!
zerooo 742 reviews
Slovenia
Message
Reviewed on December 22, 2015

LIKED

Kathmandu is 9 payline video slot from Microgaming software. This game is old, so you can not expect much from it, when we talk about graphics and sound effect, music.

I played it only once and I do not like it. The game offer free spins feature, when three or more bell symbols appears on the reels. I never got three bells, but I played it for some time, so I expected that I will receive free spins. This was first disappointment, I played it for a longer time without free spins feature. In paytable it looks good, 15 free spins up to x5 multiplier. I think only here you can win big amounts, base game is not so interesting.

While I was playing it, I had only small winnings, never more than x100 bet size. I saw here, at AskGamblers forum some good winning screenshots, so I think this game could provide good wins. But I had no luck when I played it. A few times I had two wild symbols and some other symbols but the payout was not so good, I expected more since wild symbols have good payout ratio. Maybe this is because I had near wilds low payout symbol, but still symbol was not so low. It was better than A or K so I expected more.

DISLIKED

The free spins feature is hard to trigger. And while I was playing it, it became boring at base game. Waiting so long for free spins feature. I also played other games with 9 paylines and I received free spins, but here it is very hard. This is main thing which bothered me. The payouts during base game could also be better. Otherwise I don't see anything special about this game, it is not so attractive and it is old. So I think I will not play it more in future since I had no luck at it.
winningfly 283 reviews
Message
Reviewed on October 31, 2015

LIKED

Kathmandu is game made by Microgaming. I played this game only couple of times at Gowild casino, because first time I met this game exactly in this casino - lovely customer support offer me 200 freespins on this game for 20$ deposit which I take.

I did like here only freespins feature, it is decent here. It is triggered when 3 or more scatters appear and you will get 15 FS and multiplier can be up to x 5, but of course better not hope to have x 5. Typical thing for all slots, when it say up to something, you usually get much lower. And also you will get extra wild symbol during freespins, it is best paying symbol, so it appear not often, but still easier to get 5 wilds a bit. In theory of course, on practice I could not say since I did not get 5 wilds on this game.

And I forget that there is good payouts for 5 of a kind wilds, not remember exact but very huge probably even 1000 bets so it worth to get it, but probably it is easier to get wild line in DOA.

I played not many times, never had more than 100 bets wins, and I not like this game much. I rate it with 6 stars. I had freespins feature during all my playtime probably 4 times, including one time when it is retriggered twice - I won best about 80 bets. With multipliers and extra wild this is very poor result. I did not like this game since then and not like to play it.

DISLIKED

I did not like how this game looks at all. Theme, sounds, animations - nothing for me. And also it is old game this why it looks not nice.

I did not like that normal play payouts are not very high, and also because wilds do not have any multiplier. Very unusual for game like this.
LilianInThaHouse 657 reviews
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Message
Reviewed on July 28, 2015

LIKED

For Kathmandu, I suppose that this is a very old game, which was created in Microgaming. The game comes with simple graphics and animations and has 9 pay lines and 5 reels.

Also, from features, Kathmandu does not offer much. There is a wild symbol feature and free spins feature. But here, the free spins feature is very interesting. To activate this feature you need to get at least Temple Bell symbol anywhere on the screen. You will receive total 15 free spins with up to 5 x multiplier. Also 15 free spins can be activated again during the feature. What is very interesting in this game is that during the free spins, in addition to wild symbols another symbol becomes a wild symbol. So, in the free spins bonus you have a total of 2 wild symbols. Of course this can provide you some really great wins. This interesting free spins feature is the biggest reason why I love this game so much. Kathmandu video slot game often is my choice and it is one of my favorite Microgaming games.

I had a lot of success and many wins larger than 100 x bet on this game. My greatest win here so far was about 300 x bet.

The last time I played it at the Spin Palace Casino. That was yesterday so I remember almost on every detail. I received a total of 6.06 euros on the free spins bonus on Gold Factory game and it was necessary to make a wager of about 186 euros. Of course, my first choice was just this game. I played with min. bet of 0.9 euros all the time. After a while my balance climbed up to around 25 euros. In the time I spent here, I had a few decent wins larger than 50 x bet. Probably for a half an hour of playing, I came to the free spins bonus at least 6-7 times.

For the end there is the recommendation. I recommend that you play Kathmandu on downloadable casino because the game is much faster, than playing through the browser. For Kathmandu, I give 9 out of 10 stars.
NextTimeWin 375 reviews
Message
Reviewed on May 31, 2015

LIKED

Kathmandu it is great Microgaming video slot. It is already was in my list of slots which I am play sometimes, so of course it would be a pleasure for me to review this slot game.

Game looks like most other Microgaming slots, not better, but it is still ok, I have nothing to complain here. Also there is only 9 paylines, and min bet is just 0.09, very low, and I like it, it is not needed to have big balance to start playing this slot.

Base game at this game is something that I did not like at all, really, I think Microgaming can do a bit more interesting base game, or at least make payouts for many symbols a bit better, because best paying symbol (not counting wilds of course) will not pay more than x 100 total bet during base game, and for 9 line game it is quite unusual.

There is only one feature - freespins. It can be triggered by 3 or more scatters, and freespins feature is one of the most interesting for old games I ever played by Microgaming software. You get 15 freespins, extra wild (best paying symbol), and random multiplier (from 2 x to 5 x). Very good feature, and of course while 5 wilds pays a lot of money, with a multiplier and extra wild you have great chances to hit big, or at least have decent wins.

I have probably 20 features lifetime in this game. Best result was something like 400x total bet feature, and also 1-2 a bit higher than 100 x total bet. This is good result I think, compared to number of fresspins feature I played. Unfortunately during base game I never hit big. I will play this game again and again, because I love freespins with extra wilds, and when there is also multiplier for wins - I am always ready.

DISLIKED

This is not very new game, so it looks not very good.
blondie 1574 reviews
Message
Reviewed on March 31, 2015

LIKED

Kathmandu is a Microgaming software game and from the design it has, I can say it is one of the Microgaming oldies. It has 5 reels and 9 paylines and I've started to play it only recently. My first experience with this game was at Go Wild casino, when I received 100 free spins on it.

Altough the game has only 9 paylines, it can be quite generous. When I played 100 free spins offer, I received free spins feature a couple times and altough the spins were played with 0.09€ bets, I managed to win 11€ on it. This game also isn't generous with features, besides the free spins that can be caused by at least 3 scatters, and wilds that substitues all wins, except scatters, there is no other bonus feature. But if you like to gamble, there is an option to gamble your wins, as usual- choosing the color card for a 2x win or the card suit for a possible 4x win. I have tried to gamble my wins a few times, but I never win so I won't be doing it from now on.

The last time I played this game was at Yukon Gold casino, where I had a 30€ big bankroll. I started with 0.27€ bets and soon got 15 free spins.Free spins paid me only 4€, but it started to seem like the game was in a good mood.

Good thing is that 2 scatters pay your bet size and they appear quite often. And as I said before, the free spins are triggered by at least 3 bell symbols (sccatters).You can have 4 or 5 scatters, but the amount of free games will be the same, but the payout for 4 and 5 scatters is much higer. Good thing though is that the free spins has multiplier that changes and can multiply wins up to 5x. But mostly I get 2x,3x and rarely 4x multiplier, as I've noticed. Another pluss is that the spins can be retriggered in the bonus round and I've experienced it once. Didn't pay very much, but still good opportunity.

After bonus round I changed bets to 0.45€, played for some time and received another 15 free spins, this time they gave me a good 90x bet win, and that was the biggest winning I've received from this slot! I continued to up bets to 0.90€ and again got free spins bonus round, this time with nearly 70x bet win.

Overall I think this game is definitely a must try and it seems like it will become one of my Microgamings' favorites. It can bring great winnings even with small bets and I think it could be a great fit for wagering bonuses. Nice design and great payouts is all I need- 9/10!
hajnrih 1379 reviews
Macedonia
Message
Reviewed on February 28, 2015

LIKED

Kathmandu is a very old game coming from Microgaming. Because it is very old I think this game is popular among the older gamblers whose first choice was Microgaming. This game has a very simple graphic and simple sounds. The first time I saw this game I thought the name was very familiar and after some time on Google I saw that the capital of Nepal has the same name like this game. When you take a closer look of the symbols in this game you will see that they are inspired by the everyday life from this country. Maybe the programmer who made this game was from this country who knows.

This game is very simple by itself because it has only 9 paylines and 5 reels. This game reminds me very much of Avalon and it is one of the games I start with when I play in some Microgaming casino. I usually start playing this game on a 0.18 bet and if it pays good I raise my bet hoping for some big win. This game has a very interesting bonus game just like Avalon but it can produce some big wins during base play. Sometimes it will produce 5 of a kind wins combined with wilds and can boost your balance very fast. One time it raised my balance from 10 to 70 euros only by line wins without a bonus game. If you get 3 scatter bells you get the bonus game. Here you have 15 free spins with a random multiplier which can go up to 5 x. Also it has a second wild symbol in the bonus game. All of this and the low bet makes it a very good game when you have a low balance. A few time when my balance was only 2-3 euros this game has gotten me back in the game with a solid bonus game.

DISLIKED

This game has a poor graphic and sound and sometimes the bonus game just doesn’t come. In one session I spent 250 spins and didn’t get 1 bonus game.

Why are you reporting this review?

RATE GAME AND WRITE A REVIEW
150 characters left for pros 150 characters left for cons

Time to Check your email!

You are recognised as Casino Representative. We sent an email to with registration link, please click that link in order to complete the registration.

Kathmandu Slot Winning screenshots

Been lucky lately? Share your winnings.

Sign up for +100 No Deposit Spins!

Availability may vary depending on your country or region.

By subscribing you are certifying that you have reviewed and accepted our updated Privacy and Cookie Policy