What's new
What's new
Play for real Exit Fullsc Enter Fullscreen

Football Star Slot Games Global

Football Star Slot Review - Editor’s Impressions

For fans of slot games and football, this title is the real deal. As soon as I launched Football Star by Games Global, formerly Microgaming, I was instantly transported into the heart of a football match. This is a slot with a maximum win potential of 2100x the stake and has some great features. 

Rolling Reels and Striking Wilds make the game even more exciting, which helps to capture the excitement of a real football match. We liked that Scatters have payouts and there is a Wild symbol and winning combinations are formed for three matches on a payline. 

There are Free Spins aplenty and the game has 243 betways with a Multiplier Trail. To get going on the pitch read this comprehensive Football Star slot review to see all the game has to offer. 

Overview of Football Star Game

Games Global has developed this outstanding slot that glorifies the Beautiful Game. It is a 5 reel slot with 243 ways-to-win and a bet range of £0.50 to £250 per spin, but the max bet may be lower at UK online casinos. The action will put you in the middle of the pitch and to get to know the game you can play the Football Star slots demo on our site before playing for real money. 

The pair of football studs, pitch, and jersey are the lower paying symbols while the various players and the referee are the higher paying symbols. The Scatter is the football with the Scatter logo and not only triggers Free Spins but it is also the highest paying symbol. 

The Wild symbol is the game logo and can substitute for any other symbol besides the Scatter. 

Football Star RTP, Payout, and Volatility

Football Star has an RTP of 96.29% and has medium volatility, so wins are rather frequent with decent payouts. The max win on one spin is 2,100x the stake. 

Football Star Graphics and Gaming Experience

Football Star video slots incorporate graphics and audio to give the players a virtual football experience. The colourful reels are set on a background of the pitch and the stadium with fans above. While the colours are vibrant they are a little cartoonish and dated for a game that was launched in 2014. You can see your balance and bet per spin below the reels and all of the betting control buttons on the right of the reels. 

The soundtrack is somewhat intense music with the cheering fans in the background. There are also various sound bytes, such as explosions and pings, when wins occur or if you trigger a feature. 

Again while a little dated, the dedication of the developer is apparent in all aspects, which highlights a great deal of attention to detail that makes it visually pleasing.

Football Star Bonus Features

You can land more than 40 Wild symbols in the base game on reels 2, 3, and 4 to increase payouts. In the Striking Wild feature reels 2, 3, and 4 will randomly turn Wild in the base game to give you a guaranteed win. 

The Rolling Reels feature can give a player multiple consecutive wins, as symbols in a winning combination will explode and disappear and new symbols will fall in their place. The feature is also available when making Free Spins and offers a multiplier of up to 10x for any win. However, the feature is not available when the Striking Wild feature is active. 

Football Star Free Spins

When you land on three, four, or five Scatter symbols you will be awarded 15, 20, and 25 Free Spins, respectively. All of the bets when making Free Spins will be the same as the bet that triggered the feature. Free Spins cannot be retriggered. 

When making Free Spins there is a Multiplier Trail that offers multipliers of 2x, 3x, 4x, 5x, and 10x. On each Rollings Reels win in the bonus feature the multiplier will increase one increment. 

What Are the Pros and Cons of Playing Football Star?

Pros:

  • Exciting football-based theme
  • Free Spins 
  • Rolling Reels and Striking Wilds bonus features 
  • Wide betting range 

Cons:

  • Free Spins cannot be retriggered 
  • Rather low max win 

Where to Play Football Star Online

The Football Star slot machine can be found at many online casinos that offer Games Global titles such as Football Star. On our site you can check out many of those platforms and one we recommend to play Football Stars is Tsars Casino. 

Remember, you can play the Football Star slots demo on our site to check out the game mechanics. 

Summary of Football Star - Hit the Pitch for Free Spins and Great Bonus Features! 

Games Global’s Football Star game is not only a slot game, but gives players a great blend of slots and football. 

There are no lack of features with Free Spins, a Multiplier Trail, Rolling Reels, and the Striking Wild. The bet range is a wide one catering to low stakes players and high rollers alike and the max win for a single spin is 2,100x the stake. The graphics are nice but a little dated and the soundtrack, especially the fans cheering in the background, adds to the excitement of the gameplay. 

If you like online slots and football then Football Star is definitely a title that you should check out.

Play game
Software Games Global
Slot Type Video slots
RTP
Special feature Wild Scatter Free Spins
top10 Slot details
top10 More slot details More details
  • Software
    Games Global
  • Slot Type
  • Paylines
    243
  • Reels
    5
  • Min Coins Per Line
    1
  • Max Coins Per Line
    10
  • Min Coins Size
    0.01
  • Max Coins Size
    0.1
  • Jackpot

    500
  • Bonus Game
    No
  • Progressive
    No
  • Wild Symbol
    Yes
  • Scatter Symbol
    Yes
  • Autoplay Option
    Yes
  • Multiplier
    Yes
  • Free Spins
    Yes
Suggest an edit

Football Star Slot Reviews by Players

RATE GAME AND WRITE A REVIEW

Write a review
stewex555 110 reviews
Message
Reviewed on February 13, 2019

LIKED

The game has super features and provides great entertainment. Best game play theme for men "" "" It requires some experience that can easily be won for fun for not real money.

DISLIKED

Play carefully because if you hit a bad wave, nothing will happen and there is a risk of rapid loss. Repeatedly, if you hit the hot wave, you get the money.
hajnrih 1379 reviews
Macedonia
Message
Reviewed on May 31, 2016

LIKED

Football Star is another great game powered by Microgaming software. I enjoy playing this game every time I come across it. It is 5 reels and 243 ways to win video slot game. The game is very similar to Break Away. It has some great features and it is always a pleasure to play a slot that has many things to offer and on the other side it can pay a lot as well.

During the base game you cannot win a lot. I have never got anything more than 10 x bet. But I still chose to play this slot. Every time you hit a prize the symbols disappear and they give you a new chance to hit a winning combination again. There is another random feature called Striking Wild Feature where a football player appears and kicks a ball. By doing this it can turn the second, third or fourth reel wild. The thing with this feature is that it does not have a big potential. Every time I was getting a whole reel wild I was still getting nothing more than 3 euros.

Getting 3 or more scatters award you with 15 free spins. I have managed to trigger the free spins feature many times. I love this feature because there is an increasing multiplier than can go up to x 10 after every successful combination. I have never had x 10 multiplier, the most that I have gotten was x 4 and it always paid me something like 30 x or 40 x bet. I know that this is not a huge win, but still it comes on regular basis. I have to say that I play the Break Away slot more often than this one but still I have to say that Football Star is also worth trying it even if you are not a big football fan.
katemak 1265 reviews
Macedonia
Message
Reviewed on September 30, 2015

LIKED

Cricket Star, Break Away, Cool Wolf and now Football Star, they all seem a like, just because of their features, their payout table, which I am not mistaken it’s the same, same stacked wild and the great Rolling reels. I know many of the players see this and the other mentioned above games boring, but sorry guys, I like this slots, especially one of them, because I had fantastic time on it, which has made my bankroll go crazy.

The theme as it title says, everything connected with Football, so you'll see football players on the reels, everyone of them differently dressed, I guess they from different clubs they play and their equipment. So the same feature but here they changed the name of the feature, called the Striking Wild, which appears random, so you'll see the football player on the 2nd, 3rd or 4th reel and if the rolling wilds appear on 3rd, 4th and 4th reel there is a huge monster hit to be triggered.

What I look forward of this game and others, is the free spins feature, anyone who played this game and had some nice wins, will know what I am talking about. Well the game offers 15, 20 or 25 free spins which the multiplier of this game in the free spins mode will go up to X 10, and then you can hit some big money but if only the Rolling reels appear on the second, third, fourth and fifth reel. Actually on this game didn't has such a situation, but in Cool Woolf slot I had. Playing with 2 euros bet, getting the Rolling reels on all 4 reels I got around 900 euros, but unfortunately on this game I didn't.

Well they have everything the same, as I was lucky enough for a long time playing that Cool Wolf game, I tried all the same games, but I guess my luck is on that game and not in this sport connected slots, so I will carry on playing my favorite game and might try again this one, who knows, maybe my next spins will be another giant hit.
raverbabe 559 reviews
United Kingdom
Message
Reviewed on September 3, 2015

LIKED

I didn’t have to try Football Star for long to realise I was familiar with the game engine behind it – I’m not actually sure what made me try it to be honest, probably just another flashy promotional video, as I’m certain this is another one that has been released in the time since I first began playing on-line casinos. No the game seemed familiar because I’d basically already played it, in Cool Wolf in Break Away, two other Microgaming slots that, as far as I can tell, are essentially identical apart from the graphics and sound.

There’s nothing wrong with this I don’t think – Break Away, which I believe to be the first of the trio released, was themed around Ice Hockey, a game that is essentially unknown here in the UK. Swapping the ice hockey symbols and sounds for football, our national sport, would undoubtedly give this game a much bigger pull over here and in much of Europe too, and when they have already spent all the time and money designing the slot, its mathematics engine, its paytable and so forth, re-skinning it for suitability in different parts of the world seems a very shrewd business decision to me. It also allows well informed players to choose the clone that best suits their tastes, and nobody forces anybody to play these games, so nobody loses as a result of this policy as far as I can tell?

Back to Football Star itself, its another 243 ways game but it features the ‘Rolling Reels’, which were a bonus feature in Thunderstruck 2, Immortal Romance, and Playboy, on every spin as part of the main game. Because of this, the cost per spin rises to £0.50 rather than £0.30, but you do of course have the opportunity to win multiple times on every spin you pay for.

There are stacked wilds on reels three, four and five, and scatters on all five reels – you win additional free spins depending on the number of scatters you manage to catch, and it is possible to have two on the reels and then have any of the remaining ones drop in as a result of a winning combination removing symbols from the reels, which is always a great moment. The maximum multiplier for repeated wins increases to 10 x in the free spins round, and the “Striking Wild” feature adds even more possibilities for getting the screen filled up with wilds – you can in fact get reels two through four entirely wild in this game if you are incredibly lucky, but it’s a rare thing indeed and I’ve only seen a screenshot of it happening the one time!

DISLIKED

I guess the negatives would have to be, the regular symbols REALLY do not pay much, with a line of even the top symbol paying just 10 x your stake, but of course its all about the 243 ways, the stacked wilds, and the 10 x multiplier in the free spins round that combine together to make bigger wins. I found it hard to work out how the stated maximum win of £105,000 is calculated, as the maximum bet in the version on this page is £5 and that would mean a maximum win of 21,000 x your stake – I’m really sure that’s not possible in this game, I think there must be different coin sizes or something available in the real money version…

… So you know what on this exact note, it would be nice if Microgaming would start making their jackpots and maximum wins much more clearer, because I count myself as a fairly seasoned gambler and I really cant work out from the paytable how I am supposed to win £105,000 from this game, so god knows what chance somebody completely new to on-line casinos has! Despite this, I must admit I do like playing this game and its clones when I have the bankroll to cover the fairly high (by my standards!) minimum bet.
NextTimeWin 375 reviews
Message
Reviewed on March 31, 2015

LIKED

Football Star it is Microgaming video slot, game was released not sure when, but if guess that in a time of world cup of football most likely I will not be far away from truth. Game is almost same as cool wolf, and another ice hockey game.

Football Star has 243 paylines, and basically this is great game. Because there is a lot of stacked wilds at reels 3, 4, 5, and there is 40 wild symbols in a row at this symbols. Also when you have any winning combo - winning symbols disappear and on it place come another symbols, so generally you can get few great wins in a row during one spin.

Another feature during base game is striking wild - one reel can become wild at any single spin, this feature is triggered by random. To be honest I am not very like it because only one wild reel can appear, it is possible to have great win of course, but generally it is boring, for example at Immortal Romance or Thunderstruck II similar feature can make up to 5 wild reels... Why not make similar one here? Also during this feature symbols will not disappear after win.

Freespins are also here, and I do love this slot for one single thing - no payout for 2 scatters. It is just sucks to have two scatters and get small award for it, and here you get 2 scatters - no payout, so I do not pay attention on it, feel less pain when feature do not triggered. 3 or more scatters awards freespins, and there is starting feature like at gonzo's quest - each consecutive win increase win multiplier, up to 10 x. So best way to collect some great money - it is get 10x multiplier, 3 stacked wilds on last reels, and any two same symbols on first two reels.

My best result at this game is not great, I am not played it much, but have about 5 freespins features. Do not have 100 x total bets features, I think it is need to achieve high multiplier to get it, but generally each feature paid me not bad, higher than 50x total bet.

DISLIKED

If only striking wild feature is boring, but generally everything good, hard to thumbs down something.
irishchris07 39 reviews
United States
Message
Reviewed on November 25, 2014

LIKED

Football Star is a five reel slot game from Microgaming with 243 paylines, a rolling reels feature and with over 40 wild symbols on the reels. This added with the football theme got me interested immediately!

The game had hardly kicked off for me and the wins came thick and fast matching a number of the different players available the best of which for me was hitting five of the guy in the green jersey heading a ball which paid me €25.

This was a dream come through for me, no time wasted and I was in the profit zone somewhat like going in at half time leading seven nil...it was going to take a lot for me not to enjoy this game!

I decided to lower my bet slightly and play this one out, this was a move that the greedy side of me ended up regretting, I landed four of the scatters - which in this game are FLAMING FOOTBALLS (love it) - I got awarded with €125 and things couldn't have got much better for me.

Having played a number of Microgaming slots I can now say this is by and large my favorite of their slots that I've played to date thanks to not only the theme but the frequency and size of wins.

As for the look of this game I like with the slick stadium background and simple clear slots. The game looks modern without being over the top and its very easy on the eye.

All things considered about Football Star there is not one single bad thing I can say about my experience and as a grumpy sod who loves nothing more than a whinge that is special!

My rating for Football Star is 10/10 and now I'm going back for more.
LilianInThaHouse 657 reviews
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Message
Reviewed on September 30, 2014

LIKED

Football Star is a video slot game with 243 paylines which Microgaming promoted during the world series championship in Brazil 2014. While this event took place I got an email almost every day for some free spins offer on this game.

The graphic and sound are solid but not supreme. Still this isn't a boring game and it offers a few interesting bonus features. Of course the free spins bonus pays the best. Depending on the number of scatter symbols you can win between 15 and 25 free spins. Because this is a slot game with a football theme the scatter symbol is a football ball. I remember that when the world series began in Brazil 2014 I got 10 free spins from 32 Red to try out this game. On the last free spin I got 4 scatter symbols which activated the free spins and I cashed in about 40 euros. I was very satisfied with this win and continued to play this game. I raised my bet to 1 euro per spin and after some time I got the free spins again.

Unlike the 4 scatters and 20 free spins the first time this time I got 3 scatters and 15 free spins. After that my balance went up to 70 euros. Later on I lost my money playing mostly this slot. After the world series ended and the football euphoria settled down I almost forgot about his game. There is no particular reason for that because this is a great slot game even though the graphic isn't on a high level. On the other hand I don’t play in Microgaming casinos so often lately so that can be an excuse.

I am sure that everyone who loves football will like this game. Overall this is a good slot game and I recommend it to everyone.
paquito76 867 reviews
Hungary
Message
Reviewed on September 30, 2014

LIKED

I guess it wasn’t an accident that Microgaming introduced one of their latest slot games at the end of spring because I suppose they thought this football themed slot was going to be a great partner at warm up for the upcoming World Cup. To be honest I’ve waited for this game to be launched since the day I read a review about it and couldn’t wait to try it out in real situation.

The interface of the game is very correct. Somehow this theme doesn’t let too much space to the creators regarding to its symbols and graphic elements and Microgaming chose to make this game with good quality of graphics of drawn symbols instead of going with an image of a real football star. The fan packed stadium in the background and the clear, bright and very colourful characters are all great and I like the action rich, football moves illustrated symbols. I think this appearance meets to the expectation of a nowadays, modern slot and there can’t be nothing real issue relating to this part of game.

The lately became very popular 243-ways-to-win game mode is attached to this game and have to say there are surprisingly lot features that the players can enjoy. The slot has a Football Star emblem as Wild and though it doesn’t pay in itself or multiply the wins but it still play an important factor in success. These little pictures appear in stacked formats only on last 3 reels but thanks to the often occurring situations the wins with them are a permanent guest here.

The need of it increases during free spin feature after three or more Ball symbols on the table activate 15, 20 or 25 free games where the Rolling Reels feature is in still effect. Every time when a win occurs there the participating symbols disappears and all figures above them on the screen falls down one position. The real sense in it is when the second, third, fourth… wins happens thanks to Rolling Reels and that wins are multiplied with x2, x3 or even x10.

Besides Rolling Reels feature, the normal game mode has another extra to offer and this is the Striking Wild feature. During the play the randomly chosen reel (this only applies to the 3 inner reels) may turn into Wild with a guaranteed prize.

I find all of these game functions and features great and playing the game there’s really lot of wins but my problem with them is they’re all just small ones. Maybe my luck hasn’t been on my side (but it never is?) but the noticeable wins just avoided me and sometimes it is really annoying. Looking at the paytable - perhaps I’m a little bit greedy but - some of the written values can be little higher. I know because of it’s a 243-ways type game and has special winning rules and combination but it still can be more player friendly. Other than that it is not a bad game at all it can entertain us and give some funny moments but I’m still missing here something that makes the game real unique or more attractive for me.
Adebisi213 447 reviews
Message
Reviewed on September 23, 2014

LIKED

Every time when we come close to a global football tournament like the 2012 Euros or the FIFA World Cup this year, we tend to see Microgaming launch a game based on the world’s most popular sport. Yes, I prefer calling it football over soccer.

While in 2012 we saw Microgaming present the game Shoot with football legends from several eras, this year we were pleased with the slot Football Star. A game that had many promotions running on several casinos, including Unibet, ComeOn, Mr Green, Betsson and many others.

However, I didn’t find this game to be all that, nor living up to the big expectation I had. It for instance does not have the images of the famous football players. They simply don’t have the rights to publish the images of a Lionel Messi or Wayne Rooney for instance.

Nevertheless, they still tried though as you can clearly see the player with the number 19 jersey is based on C. Ronaldo and the black guy with the Balotelli haircut looks pretty similar to him as well, while the goalkeeper looks like Iker Casillas.

I haven’t seen a Messi look-a-like though. So it’s hard to take this game serious from that perspective. Other symbols are made of a referee and various soccer materials like shoes, goals etc. The football symbol is that of the scatter. The format is 243 ways to win and the minimum bet is only €0.25, although I played it on 50 cent bets most of the time.

The gameplay is exactly similar to the slot BreakAway. It makes use of rolling reels, when you hit a prize, then the symbols disappear to give you a new chance to hit again. The payouts are very poor however during the base game. It’s hard to hit anything above 10 x bet size, even though it has stacked wilds which can help you make a good combination. So basically you need the free spins or 5 scatters to hit big.

It also has a random feature where you get a guaranteed win called the Striking Wild Feature. Randomly a football player comes up and kicks the ball against reel 2, 3 or 4 to turn that whole reel wild. I won like 3 euros with that feature a few times. So it’s nothing spectacular.

I’ve also managed to experience the free spins a couple of times by hitting 3 scatters winning 15 free spins. The great thing about the free spins is that there is an increasing multiplier after every successful combination which can go all the way up to 10 x multiplier.

The feature paid me trash though every time I experienced and never going past 4 x multiplier and never having a good combo that really pays off. So I’m definitely not a fan of this game and actually like BreakAway much more.

DISLIKED

Poor payouts during base game, difficult to hit big. Even 5 oaks are nothing special.
sagar.agarwal.1865 93 reviews
India
Message
Reviewed on August 29, 2014

LIKED

Football star slot inspired by football sport caught my attention recently after the Fifa world cup 2014. I had an amazing experience. The best part of the slot is its great music. Yes it did felt that playing slot based on football. Microgaming people have done a great job. Now coming to the visual appearance of the slot, the symbols are used in the slot truly justify the theme such as football ground, referee, footballers with different postures, goalkeeper saving a goal, football shoes etc. The slot is a bit different from the usual slot games. If the wining combination is formed the icons disappear and are replaced by the new falling icons.

I first tried this slot at 32red casino and with very basic bet of $0.50. In an hour of play I could not manage any big win. The best win was of $16.20. Three or more scatter would trigger the free spin round. 15 free spins for three appearances, 20 for 4 appearances and lastly 25 for 5 appearances. The rolling reels feature can award up to 10 x multiplier during free spins. The striking wild feature will turn the 2, 3 or 4 reel entirely into expanded wild.

The football star logo is used as the wild in the slot. This feature has always been a good earning advantage for me. I was just able to trigger the free spin feature once and got maximum of 5x multiplier. The feature gave me a payout of $7.68 on the bet $0.50. So I was not happy with the return.

The slot is very exciting to play with great graphics and the music is just extraordinary. But the slot has really low returns. It is hard wining slot and has great difficulty to trigger the free spin feature. I would give 7 stars to the slot.

Why are you reporting this review?

RATE GAME AND WRITE A REVIEW
150 characters left for pros 150 characters left for cons

Time to Check your email!

You are recognised as Casino Representative. We sent an email to with registration link, please click that link in order to complete the registration.

Football Star Slot Winning screenshots

Been lucky lately? Share your winnings.