What's new
What's new
Play for real Exit Fullsc Enter Fullscreen

Dead or Alive 2 Slot NetEnt

Dead or Alive 2 Slot Overview

NetEnt’s band of outlaws are back for a second taste of Wild West adventure in the Dead or Alive 2 slot game. This hugely popular slot was released back in 2019 and its combination of classy sound and visuals, exciting bonus features (including 3 free spins features with multipliers), volatile gameplay and massive max wins of 111,111 x bet has proved a smash hit with slot fans. Find out all you’ll need to know about this cowboy classic in our in-depth Dead or Alive 2 review. 

Dead or Alive 2 Details, RTP, Payout and Volatility

The Dead or Alive 2 online slot is played with 5 reels, 3 rows and 9 fixed paylines. Create winners by landing 3, 4 or 5 matching symbols from left to right on a payline, starting from the leftmost reel. 

You can join this Wild West shootout at bet levels that range between £/€/$ 0.09 to 9.00 per spin. You’ll see a Coin Value box below the reels. Alongside this are + and – buttons. Use these, along with the Level button to adjust your bet sizing. 

Players in some territories will have the opportunity to use the Autoplay function. This allows you to set between 10 and 1,000 auto spins. In the Advanced Settings, you’ll also be able to create win and loss stop limits. As usual for a NetEnt release, it’s all very straig­htf­orw­ard. 

The Dead or Alive 2 RTP is 96.8%. 68.6% is for the base game and 28.2% for the free spins. That’s ever so slightly lower than the 96.82% in the original release but still a lot higher than the 96% online slots average figure. The game has a hit frequency rate of 29.8%. On average, winning combinations hit every 3.4 spins. 

One thing that it shares with its predecessor is its volatility. This is an extremely volatile slot. Wins can be big but you can expect some pretty lengthy barren spells. The main attraction in the Dead or Alive 2 slot is that it comes with max wins of 111,111 x your total bet. Your chances of winning this is 1 in 142 million spins. Finally, you won’t find many online slots that offer bigger top wins than Dead or Alive 2. 

Dead or Alive 2 Theme, Audio and Symbols

With a Wild West theme, the sound and visuals in the Dead or Alive 2 slot are impressively done. The setting is a classic ‘one-horse town’. Imagine an old-school Western movie starring John Wayne and you’ll get the picture. This town is gritty and certainly a bit rough around the edges. 

With the town’s Main Street in the background, the reels are set within a set of wooden gallows. The base game action in Dead or Alive 2 is very atmospheric with the sound of clanging bells, twanging guitars and pistols being cocked. Trigger the bonus features and you’ll head to a new venue. The High Noon free spins for example, take place in the saloon bar and come with a rocking honkytonk soundtrack. I’ve no complaints about the sound and visuals here.

Spinning around the reels are metallic A to J royals alongside 5 higher value which you’d associate with a band of Wild West bandits. In order of value are a bottle of whisky, cowboy boots, a Stetson, a revolver and a Sheriff’s badge. The best-paying symbol is the Sheriff’s badge as it awards up to 111.11 x bet for 5 in combination. 

The game comes with 5 Wild symbols. Each member of the outlaw gang is a wild. The line-up is Apache the Kid on reel 1, Della Rose on reel 2, Jesse James on reel 3, Belle Star on reel 4 and Billy the Kid on reel 5. 

They’re a motley bunch and certainly wouldn’t be winning any beauty contests. That said, they pack some pretty serious weaponry too including shotguns, pistols and an assortment of knives that would make a butcher blush. The outlaws substitute for all the standard symbols when they make up part of a winning combination. 

Finally, there is a Crossed Guns and Cattle Skull Scatter which pays up to 2,500 x your total bet for 5 on a payline. You’ll find a list of all symbol payouts below: 

  • 10: 3, 4 or 5 = 0.22, 1.11 or 2.77 x bet 
  • J: 3, 4 or 5 = 0.22, 1.11, or 4.44 x bet 
  • Q: 3, 4 or 5 = 0.44, 1.33, or 5.55 x bet 
  • K: 3, 4 or 5 = 0.55, 1.65 or 8.33 x bet 
  • A: 3, 4 or 5 = 1.11, 2.22 or 11.11 x bet 
  • Bottle of Whiskey: 3, 4 or 5 = 1.11, 5.55 or 22.22 x bet 
  • Cowboy Boots: 3, 4 or 5 = 1.33, 6.66, or 33.33 x bet 
  • Stetson: 3, 4 or 5 = 1.66, 8.33 or 44.44 x bet 
  • Revolver: 3, 4 or 5 = 2.22, 11.11 or 83.33 x bet 
  • Sherrif’s Badge: 3, 4 or 5 = 2.22, 13.88 or 111.11 x bet 
  • Wilds: 3, 4 or 5 = 2.77, 16.66 or 166.66 x bet 
  • Scatter: 2, 3, 4 or 5 = 2, 4, 25 or 2,500 x bet 

Dead or Alive 2 Mobile

Dead or Alive 2 is available to play on all devices including tablets and smartphones as well as PCs and laptops. The mobile version, known as Dead or Alive 2 Touch, is very easy to play, even accounting for the smaller screen. 

Dead or Alive 2 Bonus Features

Dead or Alive 2 comes with a trio of bonus features. Triggered every 195 spins on average, all of them offer free spins complete with a special modifier extra or two. Each feature has a different level of volatility too. 

Trigger the selector by landing 3, 4 or 5 Scatter symbols anywhere on the reels on the same spin. You’ll receive a payout equal to 4, 25 or 2,500 x your total bet before being offered the choice of the following 3 features. 

Train Heist Free Spins

Choose the Train Heist Free Spins feature and you’ll start with 12 free spins. Land a Wild symbol during and a multiplier increases in value by 1x as well as 1 more free spin being awarded. If you manage to get the multiplier up to a massive 16x, another 5 free spins are added to your total. This is the lowest variance option of the 3 features, offering regular but often small wins. 

Old Saloon Free Spins

Once again, 12 free spins are on offer in the Old Saloon Free Spins feature, this time with a 2x multiplier. Each time a Wild symbol appears, it turns sticky and remains in place for any free spins you have left. Land 5 sticky wilds and an extra 5 free spins are added to your total. This is the medium volatility choice, offering a balance between win size and frequency. 

High Noon Saloon Free Spins

Wilds are the key to success in the High Noon Saloon Free Spins feature. Like the other features, you’ll start the round with 12 free spins. As in the Old Saloon Free Spins, any wilds that land turn sticky. Land 2 or 3 Wilds on the same reel and they turn into 2x or 3x multiplier wilds. 

Multiplier Wilds on different reels can combine to deliver some potentially enormous payout boosts. 5 extra free spins are added if you get Wilds on all 5 reels. It’s the High Noon Saloon Free Spins where 111,111 x bet max wins are up for grabs. Be warned though, this feature is the most volatile. They offer big potential wins but don’t expect to land a winning combination very often. This is the high-risk, high-reward option. 

Feature Buy

Available in most jurisdictions (not the UK), there is a Feature Buy which was introduced in May 2020. This gives you the option to buy your way directly in the 3 free spins features. It costs 66.66 x your total bet with the RTP rate remaining the same (96.8%). 

Dead or Alive 2 Slot Verdict

The Dead or Alive 2 slot has gained cult classic status and for good reason. From an aesthetic point of view, the sounds and visuals are excellent and a big step up from what was on offer in the original. This Wild West adventure comes with the gameplay to match. 

Affectionately known by slot players as DOA2, the 3 free spins features in Dead or Alive 2 offer plenty of variety and potential. The fact that you can play with 3 different levels of volatility is also a big plus point. 

My pick of the 3 features is the High Noon Saloon Free Spins feature. The high volatility means they won’t be for everyone, but they can deliver some very exciting action. Offering 40,500 x bet max wins per free spin, the feature as a whole can deliver 111,111 x bet payouts. I recommend you try the Dead or Alive 2 slot demo at the top of this page to find your favourite of the 3. 

Many slot sequels fail to match the thrills offered in the original. The Dead or Alive 2 online slot is an exception. NetEnt has built on the main elements from the first Dead or Alive game, improved the design and ramped up the action in the second. For fans of the Wild West theme, Dead or Alive 2 is a must-play institution. 

Due to the high max win potential and well-above-average RTP rate, Dead or Alive 2 is often excluded from wagering requirements for casino bonuses. Each casino is different though so make sure to check the Terms & Conditions of each offer. 

Finally, if you’re looking for slots with big win potential, here are 3 games which offer up to 300,000 x bet max wins: 

Dead or Alive 2 Pros and Cons

Pros:

  • 111,111 x bet max wins
  • 3 free spins features with varying volatility
  • Very high 96.8% RTP rate

Cons:

  • Very high variance/volatility
  • All or nothing slot game
Play game
Software NetEnt
Slot Type Video slots
RTP 96.82%
Special feature Wild Scatter Free Spins
top10 Slot details
top10 More slot details More details
  • Software
    NetEnt
  • Slot Type
  • Paylines
    9
  • Reels
    5
  • Min Coins Per Line
    1
  • Max Coins Per Line
    2
  • Min Coins Size
    0.01
  • Max Coins Size
    0.5
  • Jackpot

    1500
  • RTP
    96.82%
  • Bonus Game
    No
  • Progressive
    No
  • Wild Symbol
    Yes
  • Scatter Symbol
    Yes
  • Autoplay Option
    Yes
  • Multiplier
    Yes
  • Free Spins
    Yes
Suggest an edit

Dead or Alive 2 Slot Reviews by Players

RATE GAME AND WRITE A REVIEW

Write a review
danieldownat 4 reviews
Austria
Reviewed on February 7, 2024

LIKED

Dead or alive 2 by netent is thrilling slot game with a Wild West theme. Visually impressive, with high volatility , and offers the potential for big wins 🤑. If you are fan of Wild West vibe this game is a must-try for you!
Fiekie247 1106 reviews
South Africa
Message
Reviewed on November 30, 2020

LIKED

Dead or Alive 2 was a highly awaited sequel of Dead or Alive slot that gave many players big wins with sticky wilds. Although the first release was a success this one followed suit and became even better with wild multipliers during free spins.

What makes this game so popular is that you can win up to $10 000 from a spin worth only $0.09 if you manage to get many sticky wilds and more on 1 reel. This slot has 9 pay lines and 5 reels but with big winning potential.

You are taken to the wild west to show you skill with your guns. On the reels, you will find the normal royal symbols as well as cowboy boots, hats, a bottle of alcohol, guns, and the famous characters who act as wild. Now the base game pays often and this slot is very good for wagering.

Landing the gun scatter symbol of 3 or more trigger the free spins feature. If you land 3 scatters you will get x4 your total bet, if you manage to land 5 scatters this slot will pay a massive x2500 your total bet. Scatters affect the payout value, however, the amount of spins stays the same.

Free spins have 3 options, the old saloon, where you get 12 spins with x2 multiplier, a train heist, where you get extra spins and increased sticky multiplier for every wild that lands on the reels, and finally the saloon max free spins with sticky wilds and multiplier wilds as well.

If you play the max version free spins the multipliers are added as per 243 pay ways slots. This is where you can bag cash over 100 000x your stake, where the max win is 111 111x your total stake. I am not sure if Lil Devil will beat this, but we have seen players hit the max win amount, even 50 000x is common.

I love this slot and up until today still chasing the wild line. I have had not had one, in the first and 2nd installments, but I hope to someday.
kayenne23 475 reviews
Greece
Message
Reviewed on October 1, 2020

LIKED

I do like this game so much. Lets start off with the basic. Max Win is 100000x and yes its possible to be done. Also, the minimum bet is 0.09 cents which is really good for low bet players as well. I am indeed a fan of dead or alive. Its a game that continues to amaze me. Easy way to bet, design is old wild wild west and of course it gives 3 options to the player to choose after triggering the bonus. Very happy to be able to play it and trust me, one time this game will amaze you too.

DISLIKED

The only negative that comes on my mind is the bonus buy option that netent released. I dont think this game ever needed the bonus buy option. But the good thing is that the bonus buy option is not available any more. Making it raw as its supposed to be as a game. Thats all.
Solun 4 reviews
Czech Republic
Reviewed on June 2, 2020

LIKED

You can tell this slot was indeed developed with streamer feedback like NetEnt says. I completely understand streamers want nice RTP (well, we all want that) and a chance to win huge so they have good videos. So this slot is fantastic for streamers, however, a person who plays just occassionally and not for a living will probably find this slot dull and boring because base game is boring, bonus rounds are rare and even when you get them, they don't pay much in order for the slot to be able to provide huge wins. I like volatile games, however, this one is bit too much even for me. I ended up playing on autoplay set to maximum spins which is 1000 on my tablet and during that I played a game on my phone, had a chat with friends or surfed the web because the game is so predictive (nothing happens). At least the graphics are not painful for the eyes in long sessions and sounds are not too hard to listen to either. If I could pick the perfect gameplay game, it'd be Jurassic World from Microgaming even though it suffers greatly from bad RTP that rips you off and amateur graphics but the actual game experience is otherwise so nice. DoA 2 is a slot for streamers, not usual players unless you are willing to play in all or nothing style. For me, I will stick with games where I can sometimes win x1000 bet, withdraw and be happy and not feed a slot indefinitely so someone can win x100 000 bet. However if you like small jackpot games, they have a really bad RTP and this slot can compensate that with a nice return of 96.8% and similar big win potential.

DISLIKED

- Monotonous gameplay
- Rare nice wins
- Impossibly difficult to win big (even above 100x)
- In my two day session of 12k spins (all on second lowest bet € 0.2) I didn't have a single win above x100 including base and bonus rounds
shoxicwaste 5 reviews
United Kingdom
Reviewed on January 15, 2020

LIKED

High Payouts but extremely rare, nice graphics and sound effects. Overall seems like a really well polished slot that is visually pleasing to play and overall a fun experience.

The high volatility of this slot is also attractive with the chance to potentially get a huge payout amount.
Reel payouts can also be quite good because of the low pay lines (but of course rarely hits)

I like how landing 2 scatters anywhere on the reels gives you a small payout. It makes the 1000's of near misses more tolerable.

DISLIKED

I've played this slot machine a lot over the last year, and i would say that the average to spins to get on the bonus is between 750 and 1500, there is then a high likely hood that you'll get nothing from the bonus too because of the highly volatile nature of the game.

10 pay lines absolutely sucks too, sometimes I can see a pattern on the reels which should match but it doesn't because of the low amount of pay lines.

I don't ever play this game anymore because the bonus mode barely ever triggers (my last session was over 3000 spins without 1 single bonus). This game is on my personal ban list now.

I've had sessions of putting £3000 - £5000 into this game, playing several bonuses which yeild x12, x10 and x5.

My advice is to avoid, there are much better games out there.
blondie 1632 reviews
Message
Reviewed on December 1, 2019

LIKED

Dead or Alive is probably one of the most popular online slots till now. I never really had much luck with the original release but Dead or Alive 2 had a lot of advertisement going around, starting with the fact that it was made in collaboration between streamers and Netent themselves. Being a fan of Netent, I was definitely interested to see if I would enjoy this release more than the original one.

Dead or Alive 2 is a 5 reel and 9 payline slot and visually it looks like more elevated version of the firs Dead or Alive. But I have to admit, I prefer the design of this release much more than the first one. One thing I have to say though, the game play is still very slow so unless you're up for a grinding, long session, you probably shouldn't be playing this slot.
I can't recall the times I've seen other players hitting big on this game as there's just too many. Without a doubt, this is  a very highly volatile slot and yes you can win big on it or it can go bust easily, especially if you're playing with high bets. I rarely play higher than 0.18€ per spin as it usually takes a lot of features to get a good win. My best win so far was a 1000x bet win however it was during a tournament. 

The game comparing to the first Dead or Alive features 3 bonus rounds and allows you to pick the bonus based on how volatile feature you want- there's train heist feature, regular bonus round and max volatile free spins. Almost never I go for the old saloon as I never was lucky with it. When I'm playing with a low balance I've sometimes gone for the heist bonus- for every wild symbol you get an additional free spin and the multiplier for free spins can go up to 16x. A few times I've managed to collect enough for the max multiplier but usually I get empty spins then so not much point of it. My favorite, as for most players, is the max volatility free spins. They work the same as old saloon with 5 extra spins for wild on each reel, the difference is that if you get wild on the same reel but different position, the wild will be twice multiplied, or stacked wild reel would mean 3x multiplier. 

Except for my tournament win I've yet to chase a big win, but it's definitely possible. I've had a few smaller wins and I have to say this is one spectacular game. Is it the most entertaining during base play? No. But the bonus round always keeps me on my toes and that's what we're here for. I give it 9/10 simply because the gameplay can be very slow even with quickspin option.
WaroftheGods 36 reviews
Alberta
Message
Reviewed on October 8, 2019

LIKED

The 3 bonus rounds and that you can choose one out of the 3 when you hit 3-5 scatters in the base game. I've tried them all multiple times over, and I'm having a tough time figuring out why anyone would want to pick anything other then the win often option. Every time a wild lands you get plus 1 to your spin count as well as the multiplier amount. You hit X16 you get another 5 spins added, which I hit about 90% of the time. The other 2 options I almost always walk away with less than a buck in winnings.

DISLIKED

The other 2 bonus rounds, and the fact that they seem far less superior to the multiplier option. Also the low max wager amount seems too small but still not on the bad side of low.
StallCation 46 reviews
Denmark
Message
Reviewed on May 19, 2019

LIKED

This is going to be a short review, since a lot of people already know everything there is to know about the most hyped slot of the year 2019.

Let me just say: It's a worthy successor to the original DoA slot. Bringing just enough new elements to the table, without ruining the legacy. I do like the Train Heist feature the most to be honest, as it's something completely different from the traditional "12 spins of mystically disappearing wilds" that make up the Old Saloon/High Noon Saloon features.

The potential is awe-inspiring, but will be reserved for the lucky few. And a word of warning: I've done >2000 spins on DoA 2 and only had 4 bonuses, paying between 4x and 100x, For me, this is A LOT harder to bonus than eg. Bonanza, having up to 750 spins between bonuses.

Luckily, DoA 2 doesn't rip hard in my experience, unlike many other high volatility monsters. Base game can have a quite decent RTP (I'd say around 65-75%). But it rips nevertheless, except if you are very, very lucky.

Of course, traditions are there to be kept; I never did good on the original DoA: Never came close to that illusive wild line or anything else worth mentioning. And I have a sinking feeling DoA 2 won't change that, as someone has to pay for those >50.000x wins, that are already circulating various casino media out there.
pc77 9 reviews
Message
Reviewed on April 24, 2019

LIKED

Netent have managed to do what so many others failed to do and improve a game with it's sequel. The two new features are very good, got the multiplier to x51 with the first new feature (the less volatile one !) for 400x not as much luck with the other new feature 50x being the best. Didn't try the copy of the original feature.

Why are you reporting this review?

RATE GAME AND WRITE A REVIEW
150 characters left for pros 150 characters left for cons

Time to Check your email!

You are recognised as Casino Representative. We sent an email to with registration link, please click that link in order to complete the registration.

Dead or Alive 2 Slot Winning screenshots

Been lucky lately? Share your winnings.