What's new
What's new
Play for real Exit Fullsc Enter Fullscreen

Spinata Grande Slot NetEnt

Spiñata Grande Review - Editor’s Impressions

The Spiñata Grande game delivers colourful symbols, a festive Mexican theme, and colossal symbols that keep the gameplay interesting. Despite this being one of NetEnt’s older slots, its graphics remain excellent, and the bonus features are exciting.

We spin the reels 100 times when writing our online slots reviews to see what players can expect from the game. In our test cycle, we found semi frequent and smaller wins and were lucky enough to trigger the Free Spins feature once. 

We look at various aspects of this game in our Spiñata Grande slot review. We test the bonus features, see its RTP and volatility, check the graphics and sounds and more. 

Overview of Spiñata Grande Game 

NetEnt released this video slot in 2015, but it remains on par with many newly released slots. It has five reels and four rows with 40 paylines. These paylines pay from left to right, but only the highest win per line counts toward the overall win.

The theme follows a Mexican town getting ready for a fiesta, with the high-paying symbols all different animal piñatas, or spiñatas, as the game calls them. Standard playing card symbols 10, J, Q, K, and A are the low-paying symbols. The Colossal Bonus symbol is a slot machine with a sombrero and moustache. Meanwhile, the Free Spins symbol is a star piñata, while the Wild is a Day of the Dead skull.

The game has a very wide betting range from £0.20 and £200. but, this can change depending on the limits of the UK casino you play at. 

Spiñata Grande RTP, Payout and Volatility

The RTP falls within the industry average at 96.84%, while the volatility is low to mid. The provider doesn’t state the maximum win of this video slot, but the highest payout is 300 coins if you land five bull spiñatas on a payline. Your coin value will determine how much you win in that case.

Spiñata Grande Graphics and Gaming Experience

Set in a Mexican town, the background of this slot shows the residents going about their day as they prepare for a fiesta. You can hear a Mariachi band playing in the background, trucks driving by, and a man in a sombrero whistling as he walks below the reels.

The graphics are excellent, as we expect from NetEnt slots, and the sound design is exceptional. While the slot music only plays while spinning the reels, ambient sounds are always present. 

Spiñata Grande Bonus Features

This slot has two Wilds: the star piñata Wild, which also doubles as the Scatter during the main game, and the skull Wild. Both only appear as Wilds in the Free Spins feature, but the skull Wild will appear as a 3x3 colossal symbol. The Wild symbol substitutes for all other symbols besides the Bonus Colossal symbol. 

Further, the base game will feature colossal symbols of any of the symbols, like in NetEnt’s Asgardian Stones slot. These will range from 2x2 to 3x3 symbols that can fall anywhere on the reels. These symbols include the Bonus Colossal symbol, which activates the Mini-Slot feature. This feature is also how you possibly trigger the Free Spins.

Spiñata Grande Free Spins 

The Mini-Slot feature will have a colossal bonus symbol spinning all the positions inside the symbol in a re-spin. Only star Scatter symbols and coins can land during this spin, and you can receive three, six, or nine symbols depending on how much of the colossal symbol is visible.

In the base game, the coins range from bronze and silver to gold, worth 20, 40, and 80 coins. You’ll get more spin symbols during the Free Spins while only the bronze coins are available. You must land at least three Scatters to trigger five Free Spins; each additional Scatter will award an extra spin.

You can win more spins if you trigger the colossal bonus symbol and Mini-Slot game again during the Free Spins. Further, while this feature is ongoing, only the Wilds, bonus symbol, and high-paying animal spiñata symbols can appear as 3x3 colossal symbols.

What Are the Pros and Cons of Playing Spiñata Grande?

Consider the game’s pros and cons before playing the Spiñata Grande slot machine.

Pros:

  • Wide betting range
  • Mini-Slot feature
  • Free Spins
  • Excellent graphics

Cons:

  • Average RTP 
  • No Wild in the base game

Where to Play Spiñata Grande Online

One of the best Spiñata Grande online casino options is Virgin Games, as you can try this slot and various other online slots on the site. However, we also offer the Spiñata Grande slot demo on our page for players who want to test the game beforehand.

Summary of Spiñata Grande - Mini-Slot Feature and Free Spins

The Spiñata Grande real money slot offers various exciting features. This slot keeps the gameplay interesting using colossal symbols, a Mini-Slot feature, Free Spins, and colossal Wilds. Though this game is low volatility, that doesn’t mean you constantly trigger the Free Spins feature. Decide on a wager your bankroll can comfortably sustain. 

We enjoy this slot’s colourful graphics, theme, and bonus features. UK players can try the Spiñata Grande slot demo on our site before spending money to play it at UK online casinos. So take a peek and see whether this slot is the one for you.

Play game
Software NetEnt
Slot Type Video slots
RTP 96.84%
Special feature Wild Scatter Free Spins
top10 Slot details
top10 More slot details More details
  • Software
    NetEnt
  • Slot Type
  • Paylines
    40
  • Reels
    5
  • Min Coins Per Line
    1
  • Max Coins Per Line
    10
  • Min Coins Size
    0.01
  • Max Coins Size
    1
  • Jackpot

    300
  • RTP
    96.84%
  • Bonus Game
    Yes
  • Progressive
    No
  • Wild Symbol
    Yes
  • Scatter Symbol
    Yes
  • Autoplay Option
    Yes
  • Multiplier
    No
  • Free Spins
    Yes
Suggest an edit

Spinata Grande Slot Reviews by Players

RATE GAME AND WRITE A REVIEW

Write a review
Sloter 514 reviews
Greece
Reviewed on June 17, 2020

LIKED

'Spiñata Grande' is another video slot with 5 reels and 40 Paylines,from NetEnt Software provider.
Alongside the unusual 5×4 framework, Spiñata Grande employs the use of colossal symbols to mix things up for gamers even more. These appear,during the main game either as a 2×2 or 3×3 block of the same symbol, increasing your chances of hitting some winning combinations. They can also be split off-screen too if the reels happen to fall a specific way, for example the bottom reel would display only the top half of the colossal symbol!
The Laughing Skull with the fetching sombrero,is the Wild symbol,which can substitute for any of the standard symbols and during the Freespins round as well. With Medium variance and plenty of Special features,such as Wilds/Free Spins/Colossal Symbols/Mini Slot feature,you might like this slot!
LeoDubbed 176 reviews
Netherlands
Message
Reviewed on April 22, 2017

LIKED

A piñata is a decorated container made of papier-mâché (chewed paper), pottery or cloth and they are filled with small toys or candy but sometimes both. Most people associated piñatas with Mexico but did you know that the idea of breaking a container filled with treats came to Europe in the 14th century where the name, from the Italian pignatta, was introduced. Spain brought the tradition to Mexico and that's why piñata are always associated with Mexico.

Spiñata Grande is a game powered by NetEnt, this game is very similar with NetEnt's Dracula. Both have 40 paylines and require a minimum bet of €0,20 per spin. Require means fixed paylines. Every gamblers know that in order to win the maximum out of a game, all paylines are needed. I think that's why NetEnt removed the option of setting the paylines amount on all of their games. If you asked me, 20 cents for 40 paylines is not bad at all. I noticed that more and more of these kinda games are made by NetEnt. For example, Warlords: Crystals of powers, Dracula, Motörhead, Dazzle me. Those are games with huge paylines but only require a minimum bet of 20 cents.

Spiñata Grande has a great gameplay, nice looking graphics (animated background) and very amusing sound/music. I really like the huge one armed bandit symbol that can triggers the bonus feature when 3 or more star shaped piñatas appear. One thing for sure though, zero can never be won during this feature.

Spiñata Grande is not like Jack and the beanstalk or Gonzo's quest, it's not a game that could make your wallet thicker. It is a fun game though and I always had fun playing it. To be honest, I miss a few thing in this game. The thing I miss most is a random feature, a game has to have a random feature to make it more enjoyable.

The biggest win I ever won playing this game was something above 3500 credits from the bonus feature. I wasn't expecting that huge because I never won that big before, that's on the same game of course.

So if you are a Mexico fan, I suggest you put a sombrero on, roll some burrito or heat up some tacos, open the game, turn up the volume and spin away.

DISLIKED

The game doesn't have a random feature, which I kinda expected from this type of a game. Also it doesn't have a multiplier.
Inactive user
Reviewed on August 25, 2016

LIKED

Spinata Grande can be approached as your "colossal symbols" type of game majoring in a Mexican theme surprisingly boasting a variety of pinata symbols. It does have some relations with RTG's Jackpot Pinatas........the jackpot bull and the wild donkey but no dog scatters to compare.....and the sometimes "large bets" it starts off upon opening Jackpot Pinatas. Hmm, however in Spinata Grande they have the bull for the top paying non-progressive symbol, the donkey for the second highest then the last two being the parrot and the fish! Lowest symbols are your common letter/number symbols. I just wish they would stop that already! Put tacos or a senorita to sand off the "boring symbols", now that will make this a "Spinata Grande!".

I usually put in 2 coin bets, the way this slot pays can be better although many teasers were expected! The decent wins I collected were $6 which they consider this to be a "big win" and $10.40 in free spins. I would expect it to be better! The most I can vouch for would be about $30 in 8 free spins! Part of the time, hitting the wild colossal skull, mostly in parts (3 or 6 spaces) were enough to make me satisfied in my winnings. I have not seen all 9 spaces filled up so I will stick around to try Spinata Grande when my passion for newly tried games has worn thin! Great Mexican themed video slot, fair free spins feature (could be my luck) and letter/number symbols need to change........forever, please!!! A 6 out of 10! No tacos, senoritas and no whacking stick symbols for the pinatas!?!? (Discouragement sets in..........for a donkey about to eat my taco that is sitting in front of me at my table, pokes it with a spoon, goes away slowly)

DISLIKED

There are no wilds in the main game! The only way to get wilds is through free spins but even for this slot the colossal wild skull barely makes an appearance sometimes! This causes plenty of disinterest as well as disappointment for it just makes me realize that the wild colossal skulls are just for show, to tease us players in hopes to land it yet maybe in one or two free spins the colossal wild lands only partially so it can be upsetting depending on the position! Chasing the Slot machine scatter symbol can be a pain in the @ss especially when 3 parts of the slot machine got just coin wins instead of pinata stars........it hardly gave me the chance for a trigger!
raverbabe 559 reviews
United Kingdom
Message
Reviewed on August 16, 2016

LIKED

Spinata Grande has recently emerged as a common alternative to Starburst as a "free spins" game from NetEnt based casinos, which is definitely a good thing. That said, I can't imagine many games I'd NOT prefer to receive free spins on over Starburst! The game reminds me a lot of Aloha! Cluster Pays, though this slot has a more conventional payline and reel setup.

The visible area of the game is slightly larger than average, with four rows onscreen at once rather than the usual three. The extra space is needed in order to accomodate the "colossal" symbols scattered amongst the reels which occupy a 2x2 square (or even 3x3 on rare occasions!) making it easier to score on many lines simultaneously, should you be lucky enough to land them in a winning combination of course. It's a double edged sword you see - the large symbols can also take up a large number of spaces on the reels with a symbol that is of no use to you, so I think this feature definitely increases the games variance dramatically.

One colossal symbol that won't ever ruin your day is the colossal wild, but sadly it is only available during the free spins mode. Isn't that always the way with the very best features though! If you do manage to get this symbol in view in its entirety anywhere on the reels you'll almost certainly be in line for a huge win! Triggering the free spins does require a fair bit of luck as simply hitting the scatters isn't enough on it's own - you'll need to score three stars on the mini game that appears first. This seems to happen roughly 1/3 of the time in my experience, the rest of the time you'll receive only a low multiple of your bet.

All of the other smaller symbols also appear in stacks on the reels which really helps to make the most of the 40 paylines available for bets, but also results in the base game payouts for each individual combination being quite low. Despite this the game has a high overall RTP of almost 97% which is very respectable even by on-line slot standards.

DISLIKED

Spinata Grande is well presented and graphically pleasing, but we've all come to expect that from NetEnt these days. There's plenty of fresh ideas in here and I've had a couple of profitable sessions playing the game, but it does seem very difficult to get a large individual win. This one is more about the "long game", and you'll be watching your balance creep up or down slowly - that just isn't my favourite kind of game.
Fiekie247 1106 reviews
South Africa
Message
Reviewed on June 30, 2016

LIKED

Spinata Grande is another slot from Netent and one of the better online slots they’ve released for a while. This slot is a fun fiesta bursting with colours and entertaining extras such as colossal symbols with 5 reels and 40 paylines.

It has a very colourful and Mexican theme with some old school western Mexican music, which is also referred to as Mariachi. The background of the slot has some floating balloons and other stuff and it seems like a Mexican fiesta party is about to go down. I guess it goes down as soon you trigger a big win hahaha.

The base game payout is good because 85% of the time you win the stake of your total bet or more. For me personally winning are not frequent or I guess the game is just cold when that happens but I can never score very big in the base game. I think what affects the frequent wins is because the base game does not have any wilds.

Now the free spins feature on this game makes it worthwhile. The feature is triggered when a colossal mini slot symbol appear on the screen, sometimes it appear fully stacked or just half. The mini slot starts spinning which during this you can win coins and you need a minimum of 3 stars I think to start the free spins feature. The more stars, the more free spins are granted. The free spins feature has a colossal wild symbol that is very active and cover reels 2 – 5 as wild when fully stacked. All you need is any high pay symbol on reel 1 and the wild to cover reels 2 - 5 and you in for a very big win.

I have had some really nice big wins on this slot, but at times landing that mini slot on the reels can take forever, the longest I waited was almost 230 spins to trigger free spins. My biggest win was almost 200x my total bet on 7 free spins. I would give it 7 stars.
Afi4wins 2075 reviews
Malaysia
Message
Reviewed on April 30, 2016

LIKED

Is this game supposed to be in Mexico or in Spain? Beats me, but it doesn't really matter does it? But the name of the game somehow reminded me of "arriba-arriba-yeeee-hah!" So, what's the connection? Beats me, but I'm just saying it aloud. Maybe it's due to that lively Mexican music in the background, or is that Spanish? Dang! Maybe I need a nice Mexican-Spanish translator lady to show me and tell me the differences. Yeah, that will do very nicely indeed! Then I'll probably go "arriba-arriba-yeeee-hah" myself! Hahaha.

When was the last time a new game made you happily tried it out? Can't remember hah? Neither can I, but I do know that this Spinata Grande game gave that bit of liveliness to me when I played it for the first time! Not many games can do that, I can tell you! But of course, I was only referring to the lively aspect of the game. Whether it pays happily or not, or simply eats your credits hungrily, is yet to be seen, or to be known, for you that is. I already know it, or else I won't be writing about it, right? Hehehe.

What can you find in Mexico, that you cannot find anywhere else? Any ideas? No, hah? Well, the answer is...a fish with a mustache! Yep, this fish even wears a hat! Hahaha. Like they say, in Mexico, anything can happen, just like as in Spinata Grande too. By that, I mean, you can have lots of small wins, you can have plenty of playing time, but you can also have lots of holes in your e-wallet! This Spinata Grande isn't as generous as you would expect it to be, simply because the paytable lacks the 'oomph'. But the entertaining part of the game would probably keep you busy playing for a while, until the novelty fades out.

My first few plays on Spinata Grande were not too bad really. Had some wins from it, not big at all, but better than nothing. You can get wins of 30x-40x your total bet quite easily, but anything bigger than 100x becomes a rarity. Why? Because the winning potentials of the game are rather limited in many ways. The free spins game, for example, can offer you a maximum of only 11 free spins, if you get all 9 stars in the mini-slot game, which again, is rare! With 5-reels 4-rows and 40 paylines, the winnings become diluted, unlike if it were to pay 243 ways. The paytable is so low you can do a 'limbo' dance with it! But otherwise, when the going is good, you can play for extended periods of time. On bad runs, oh boy, you better get out of there like a bull is chasing after you! Hahaha.

DISLIKED

Damn blardy difficult and so rare to get big wins of 200x total bet or more. A 1000x win? Don't think it is possible at all, except maybe if you get that Colossal Wild with all bulls, which I haven't seen or heard of as yet. Spinata Grande can be fun to play, but blardy hard to win big on!
Inactive user
Reviewed on October 31, 2015

LIKED

Spinata Grande is one of the newer titles that come to us from NetEnt and for a short time became the favorite in my repertoire slot. The game is graphically perfect, its content and the sound coming from your speakers while you win winning payment lines. The biggest gamblers among my friends agreed with me that this is the right refreshment for a bit empty days when the quality of the new game comes. I do not want to shortchange other operators, but there is less viable titles that after the initial euphoria, very often fall into oblivion, I think this game will not experience it.

Spinata Grande is the standard 5 reels slot, but what sets it apart is even 40 payment lines are graphically Perfectly done, which is not big news when the latest NetEnt issues at stake. When we talk about symbols, I divide them into two types, those who see each other every day while playing poker (10, J, Q, K, A) and those that symbolize some of the elements and animals that bind to the Spanish climate. I especially like what some symbols here, take as many as nine positions symbols (in the box) you when they occur on the drum multiplies the opportunities of winning.

Somewhere I found the fact that the percentage of winnings to the slot about 97%, from my experience here I had more gains than in some of which claim that this percentage exceeds 98%. Maybe I did not play long enough to bring real conclusion, but all that does not matter when you know that fun during the game play is guaranteed. Most often hang out with this game at Unibet Casino, Bet365 Casino, Betclic Casino and Sports Interaction Casino. So far I have had some great monetary losses, but also did not even earned a lot of money when I played Spinata Grande, one might say that I am happy medium.
winningfly 283 reviews
Message
Reviewed on September 15, 2015

LIKED

Spinata grande is Netent slot game, which was released this year, or probably in past year, I can not say this exactly. But it is great and funny game, I play it very often and it is obviously in my favorite games list in many casinos where I play.

There is many reasons why I love this game, but probably most important for me is how this game looks. It is very funny game with a lot of great symbols, which is very funny. Soundsis also always make me happy, and music is same great. I think it was a goal by creator - to create funny slot game which will give players relaxation - and they make this game.

There is 40 paylines. And also there is very big symbols on reels, they really huge and can cover almost all screen. This make game very interesting, because you can get a lot of winnings lines of good symbols. By the way there is also interesting and awesome bonus. It is triggered when slot automat drop on reels. It can contain from 3 to 9 places. You can get money prizes, or freespins. During freespins there is special very huge wild can appear, and help to get big win.

My best result for sure was during freespins. I hit on first reel many red bulls, and landed wild. It paid me about 250 bets, and with few other wins I got almost 300 bets result, which is so far really good. Thing is that sometimes spinata in bad mood and just not want to pay anything. But I rate this game with 9 stars.

DISLIKED

There is hard to find something negative for me about this game, it is almost perfect. Probably a bit bigger payouts can make me more happy with this slot game. And also a bit more frequent freespins feature. And super annoying thing - get slot automat not in full.
katemak 1265 reviews
Macedonia
Message
Reviewed on August 16, 2015

LIKED

Spinata Grande is another game from Netent provider, not so old game but it was released few months ago. Every time Netent Entertainment knows how to surprised me, but not in a good way. I have been reading everything about this game, so someone is satisfied, someone not, so I belong in that group of people, where I just don't like this game, just because I have played and played, but it seems nothing special would come from it.

The only thing I liked about this game is the Colossal bonus symbol, but not even here I had some luck. The Colossal symbol will award the player with free spins or some cash prize and triggering at least 3 free spins symbols, will award the player with minimum 5 free spins, but as for my experience I rarely get free spins, only cash prizes. I am really annoyed when playing this game or some of the latest edition from Netent, when I see huge wins and the coins start flying, like I have won some big money and seeing only 3 euros as a big win feature I think that hilarious or annoying.

The last time I played this slot was with 30 euros deposit and played with 0.40 per spins, so the good thing about this game is the minimum bet which is 0.20 cents, so another cheap game for everyone's pocket, especially if your balance is a bit empty. I don’t know is it me or this game just doesn't like me, whenever I trigger free spins and won some winnings after that, Spinata Grande seems like will eat all of my credit and that's all.

I don't remember I have played this game more than 20 minutes, sometime not triggering the bonus feature, not giving me anything. So that way I decide to stop playing this game, honestly there a many slots from the same provider, which I really enjoy playing and of course will benefit more from it. I do think this is low to medium variance paying slot, just because I think it doesn't have potential of big wins.
hajnrih 1379 reviews
Macedonia
Message
Reviewed on May 26, 2015

LIKED

Spinata Grande is one of the newer slots by NetEnt and was launched a few months ago. I remember when it was first released there were a lot of casinos offering free spins to try this slot so I managed to claim a few promos to try it for real. I have to say I liked the slot at first look. It has a very cheerful look, with lots of colors and interesting music in the background. It has a Mexican origin and you can see that from the name of the slot where Spinata is actually Pinata. One small letter does wonders.

Anyway this is a 40 payline 5 reel slot but the great thing is that you can play it at minimum bet of only 0.20. The symbols in the game are very interesting and the new feature here is the colossal symbols. These are basically a group of the same symbols that can come 2x2 or 3x3. I have seen this feature on another game, I think it was from Skill on Net software but I can’t remember the name at the moment. Another new feature is that the scatter and wild symbols aren’t standard but they come as a Colossal wild which appears in the free spins. The scatter is basically The Colossal Bonus symbol which awards free spins and cash prizes. If you get 3 free spins symbols you are awarded with 5 free spins and for every extra free spin symbol you get an extra free spin. Overall it’s a very fun game to play. I always try it whenever I am playing in some NetEnt casino and I had some nice wins on it. In my last session in Hello casino I started off with a 20 euros balance and after half an hour of play on minimum bet my balance was at 50 euros. I then moved on to Wishmaster and ended up with a nice 90 euros withdrawal all thanks to this slot which was kind to me from the start.

I recommend it to everyone.

Why are you reporting this review?

RATE GAME AND WRITE A REVIEW
150 characters left for pros 150 characters left for cons

Time to Check your email!

You are recognised as Casino Representative. We sent an email to with registration link, please click that link in order to complete the registration.

Spinata Grande Slot Winning screenshots

Been lucky lately? Share your winnings.