Ag Awards
Notifications
Login
en

TonyBet Casino - Voided £5600 of winnings, returned deposit and have gone silent

UNRESOLVED
Complaint Info
Disputed casino TonyBet Casino
Reason Declined payment
Amount £ 5600
Posted on August 16, 2019

Hi AG!

Summary: I won £5600 playing slots on my first and only TonyBet account. I did not take nor use any bonuses. The casino has refused to pay out, citing duplicate account terms and syndicated/robot betting (which is not, and cannot, be the case- this being my only account with the operator). Full details below:

On 13/08/2019 I deposited £750 to Tonybet, and played some slot games. I didn't take any bonuses. After playing a game called Tahiti Gold, I hit my biggest win ever, a return of around £5600 on a £10 spin. I immediately provided all requested ID documents so they could process my withdrawal. I was informed today that all of my winnings had been voided, and my deposit only would be returned to me. They emailed me with the following:

We would like to inform you that an investigation of your Tonybet account was performed and related account were found. As a result of this, the decision was to cancel your placed bets, to return your initial deposit and to close your account permanently.

According to our Betting Regulation:

2.2.1. You are responsible for providing correct personal and contact information (name, address, telephone number, e-mail address, etc.) and updating the same from time to time. Operator reserves the right to request further information, even after registration of an account, in order to avoid the abuse of the same account, a credit card, a bank or e-wallet account, etc. You must enter all mandatory information requested into your registration form. In particular, your name, address, and other contact details such as e-mail address, place of residence, relevant payment information. It is your sole responsibility to ensure that the information you provide is complete and correct and you hereby warrant to Operator that the information provided is complete and correct. You are hereby notified that Operator carries out verification procedures, whether itself or through third parties on Customers registering an account. You may be requested to provide Operator with further documents. Your account may be blocked or closed if you do not provide requested information or documents or if such information or documents you supply are found misleading.

My response: All information I provided is correct, and I have provided all requested inform­ati­on/­doc­uments.

2.2.3. Operator reserves the right to forbid that different account holders from the same household (i.e. same IP address or same residence address) and/or family are betting on the same event/event outcome, including the betting on the same event/event outcome in different combination bets, to avoid the Rules and/or exceed applicable limits.

My response: No other users from my household placed the same bets/on the same event outcome as me. I won on casino and casino only.

2.2.4. Operator prohibits Customer collusion and takes active measures in prohibiting any use of robots or other devices that distort the normal game. Operator does not accept bets when it is likely that customers are acting in agreement, or as a syndicate. When syndicated bets are discovered, we reserve the right to cancel these bets. Fraud, or attempts to commit fraud, or violation of the Rules may lead to reduction of betting limits, closing of accounts, confiscation of winnings, return of deposits or remaining balance, as the case may be (subject to reasonable charges), and/or cancellation of all placed bets (even decided bets). TonyBet also reserves the right to take legal action against the customer or customers involved in such fraudulent behaviour.

My response: Once again, I placed no bets that won/lost. I committed no fraud/bonus abuse, just won some playing casino, without using any robots - these are slots after all!

You will get confirmation from our Payments Department once the withdrawal of your deposit is proceeded.


----


They have no rules about two accounts from the same household (they might be referring to a friend of mine who placed bets with them a while ago from my apartment and recommended the site to me) - just placing identical bets on the same event/outcome - of course, this wasn't the case, as I was playing slots.

I am satisfied that Tonybet, or any other operator for that matter, cannot withhold winnings from casino games when there is no duplicate account present (this is my first, and only account with the company), there is no bonus abuse present (i didn't take/use one), nor is there any syndicate/robot activity present.

I played slots honestly, using cash, and of course, could have no influence over the outcomes. Only when I withdrew was I told all winnings would be void- dare I ask whether they have been regularly closing losing accounts and refunding all deposits made? This seems to me to be a clear case of attempting to withhold payment without proper reasoning and goes against many of their license conditions. If they have IP-linked me to another account because of a friend playing weeks/months ago while logged into my WiFi, is this grounds to void any winnings/refund deposits only; and can they provide any term that shows that they only allow one *account* per IP - rather than free bet promotion, or bet on the same outcome to circumvent betting limits?

I hope this case is as simple to determine in my favour for you as it is me. If you require any ID documentation from me please let me know ASAP, and I will send this on immediately.

Thank you for your time.

Posted on August 16, 2019

Hi Askgamblers team,

This case occurred last week as our fraud department found out that this players' IP and device match already existing account. Please advise how can we provide all logs in private manner due to players data protection.

Regards,
Tom - Casino manager

Posted on August 16, 2019

Hello,

You have no rules about sharing a device or IP with a friend- in this case as stated a friend who recommended the site to me was logged into his account a few weeks prior while staying at my house.

To be clear- this was cash play, not using any free bets or bonuses, so everything was fair and I could not have gained any advantage even if this was a case of duplicate accounts.

As shown in your terms above relating to IP:

Operator reserves the right to forbid that different account holders from the same household (i.e. same IP address or same residence address) and/or family are betting on the same event/event outcome, including the betting on the same event/event outcome in different combination bets,

I assume you have no evidence of bets being placed on the "same event/outcome" from my IP/device. You have no terms stating you don't accept two accounts from the same household- in fact, you accept that people in the same residence are both allowed to bet, but not on the same outcomes to circumvent betting limits. (I accept that you probably refer to using duplicate accounts for bonus abuse too - but this wasn't the case here).

Please pay out my rightfully-obtained winnings from slots while playing with cash. I am happy not to use your site again if you want to keep my account closed.

Thank you

Joe

AskGamblers
Posted on August 16, 2019

Dear TonyBet Casino,

AskGamblers Complaints Team is kindly asking you to provide detailed explanation on the issue along with evidence which will support your accusations towards the player, with quoted terms that have been breached, if any.

Upon AskGamblers Complaints Terms we consider all evidence strictly confidential and won't be publicly displayed or sent to the third party. Please send required information directly to suppor­­[email protected]­a­s­kg­­amb­­le­r­s.com.

Thank you in advance.

Posted on August 18, 2019

Winnings of jjwstones have been cancelled since investigation was performed and related accounts found.

During investigation it was noticed, that initial account (registered with another name) was limited by our trading department, therefore possibly another account was opened.

jjwstones has made only one Sport Bet and was playing on Casino after, there are findings that his account is linked to previously limited account due to following facts:
1. Same mobile number was provided during the registration in both accounts ( it is customers responsibility to provide correct personal details)
2. The same postcode was provided in both accounts ( postcode according to jjwstones address should be different)
3. Account were registered from the same IP address.
4. Both accounts device trace is the same
According to above mentioned data these accounts were created by the same person to overcome limitations put on the very first account. Our rules clearly and strictly state that we allow only 1 account per player, this is why winnings were voided and deposits returned. If there is a need, we will provide all the mentioned data by email.

Cheers,
Tom - Casino manager

Posted on August 18, 2019

Hi Tom, thanks for your response.

You have no terms that back up this claim: "Our rules clearly and strictly state that we allow only 1 account per player, this is why winnings were voided and deposits returned. If there is a need, we will provide all the mentioned data by email. " Even then, the other account you are referencing is owned, funded and operating by another player.

Any mistakes made will be an accidental result of form autofill and the sharing of a computer. I am happy to provide full identification documents to prove my identity, and apologise for any mistakes made during signup- I registered with my name and address, deposited from my card, using my money, and provided my ID docs. Regardless of this, you do not have a term that specifically states that if two accounts have a matching postcode/ip you can void all winnings.

You are fully within your rights to close any account, or alter betting limits. You are again not within your rights to void winnings gained from cash play on slots - as there would be no difference whether I had played the same slots on my account, or my friend had played on his.

I understand from thorough reading of your terms that you can void sports bets on accounts if you believe syndicate betting is at play- this is not the case and cannot be the case with cash slots play.

AG - please can you ask TonyBet to provide a term which clearly states that they are within their rights to cancel winnings obtained by playing slots with cash if they see an account logging in from the same IP/device or with an incorrect mobile number/postcode. If they cannot, please can you reccomend that they pay what is owed- again, I'm more than happy to verify my identity to falsify any claims of having more than one account per player - both accounts referenced are operated by different people - not that this affects any payment of casino winnings as it stands.

Tonybet - please stop trying to claim that you can do as you please without using your own terms to back this up. You are a Gambling Commission licensed operator which is registered with IBAS - they do not look kindly upon this kind of behaviour; and I think we all understand that you would not have tried to pull this stunt if the account was in a heavy losing position. I am happy to call this a misunderstanding and close this case, and not pursue this any further if you can do the right thing and pay out winnings, you are free to update your terms and conditions accordingly in future, but those I agreed to upon registration do not back up anything you have said thus far.

Thank you,

jjwstones

Posted on August 19, 2019

Hi Askgamblers team,

Due to GDPR, we can not share players data with 3rd parties (except governmental institutions). We are ready to provide all data from both accounts which will prove that this is a case of duplicate account upon request for IBAS. Given that first account was limited by our sports trading team, second account was created to overcome limitations and such actions lead to permanent closure of account and return of deposits.

Please advise how to proceed further.

Cheers,
Tom - Casino manager

Posted on August 19, 2019

As above, TonyBet are still refusing to provide any terms that validate their decision to void all winnings. They can void sports bets, but not casino winnings gained through cash play based on their claims of duplicate accounts. They are also unwilling to allow me to prove my identify (further than I already have with the documents provided last week).

TonyBet/AG- I appreciate that casinos have terms that protect the house from unfair play, this usually comes in the form of bonus abuse and credit card fraud/chargebacks. These are intended to ensure a player cannot take advantage of them, which is I guess you could argue is normal for many businesses. In this case, I have gained no advantage over TonyBet (nor would I if I was using a duplicate account - not the case), I’ve just played slots using cash and been lucky enough to win. TonyBet haven’t got any terms to back up their case for voiding these winnings, they are simply trying to avoid paying out. which is a real shame for an operator that claims to be the world’s fastest growing. Please can we come to a fair resolution here?


On a side note, they are opening another can of worms. If a player was to set up a second account using a friends computer and some matching details, providing they got through registration they’d be playing slots risk-free- as TonyBet would void all losses upon being shown that there are some links between accounts, while the onus would be on them to stop withdrawals processing if a player was to win. Or at least they would, if this condition was within their terms, and it was applied fairly to both parties.

FYI the duplicate account claim (not that it is relevant, as terms don’t forbid it to the extent of voiding winnings, only closing accounts/matching betting limits) is a result of device sharing, which is completely normal (it’s a computer, not a mobile phone).

AskGamblers
Posted on August 23, 2019

Unfortunately, due to private policy of TonyBet Casino, they cannot provide the necessary information to AskGamblers Complaints Team so that the complaint could be adequately reviewed and decided. Obviously, we have no other option but to close the complaint as Unresolved and recommend a player to forward their issue directly in front of the relevant regulatory body.

As soon as AskGamblers Complaints Team is being notified about the regulator's final decision on the case, we will comply and mark this complaint accordingly.

Sign up for +100 No Deposit Spins!

This offer is not applicable to residents of Great Britain.

By subscribing you are certifying that you have reviewed and accepted our updated Privacy and Cookie Policy