What's new


What's new
Play for real Exit Fullsc Enter Fullscreen

Jack and the Beanstalk Slot NetEnt

Jack And The Beanstalk Slot Review - Editor’s Impressions

It’s time for one of your favourite iGaming articles – our in-depth online slot reviews. Today, our testing subject is the Jack and the Beanstalk slot, a game released by NetEnt. As expected, the game is based on the classic fairy tale from the 1700s. 

This Jack and the Beanstalk slot review will look into every aspect of the game, including its graphics, features, and bonuses. In addition, we tested the Jack and the Beanstalk RTP so you’ll know what to expect.

Overview Of Jack And The Beanstalk Game

Let’s start with a short game overview before we teach you how to play Jack and the Beanstalk. This fairy tale-inspired slot was developed by NetEnt, an award-winning iGaming provider.

If you play Jack and the Beanstalk, you’ll notice it feels like most online slots based on classic stories. The game has themed symbols, including a watering can, an axe, a goat, and the mighty giants that live atop the beanstalk. Jack is the most valuable symbol.

As our Jack and the Beanstalk slot review shows, the slot’s features can be as imposing as the mythical beanstalk. The best resources include Walking Wilds, Free Spins, and Treasure Collection.

Jack And The Beanstalk Game Characteristics

One of the best ways to learn how to play Jack and the Beanstalk is to check the base game’s characteristics, such as the slot paylines, RTP, volatility, and bets. Stick with us to learn our Jack and the Beanstalk slots review verdict.

The game has 20 paylines. When it was released, slots with 20 ways to win were the gold standard in the iGaming industry. Not to mention how many slots released nowadays still offer this number of paylines.

The Jack and the Beanstalk RTP surprised us. At 96.28%, the percentage is still higher than most modern online slots. It pairs incredibly well with the high volatility, resulting in isolated yet valuable wins.

As for the bets you can make, they vary between £0.20 and £100. This range is one of the most common, whether you’re playing classic slots or progressive jackpots. You can learn more about the game by playing the Jack and the Beanstalk slot demo.

Jack And The Beanstalk Bonus Features

Play Jack and the Beanstalk and you’ll learn the base game only has one feature – Walking Wilds. Essentially, any Wild that appears on the reels rewards players with a respin. Then, it moves to the left and triggers additional respins until it’s removed from the reels.

As with most online slots, Wilds substitutes for all other characters, except Scatter and Key symbols. All winning combinations featuring a Wild symbol will be subject to a 3x multiplier.

Free Spins features

As this Jack and the Beanstalk slot review will show you, the Free Spins feature is similar to most casino games. To trigger it, players must land three or more Treasure Chest Scatters. This unlocks 10 Free Spins.

The Free Spins bonus round comes with special Key symbols. These symbols can only appear on the fifth reel and unlock special features depending on the number of Keys collected:

  • 3 Keys – The next Wild is stacked with two Money Bag symbols.
  • 6 Keys – The next Wild is stacked with three Golden Goose symbols.
  • 9 Keys – The next Wild is stacked with a Golden Harp and covers the entire reel.

Wilds during the Free Spins bonus also have a 3x multiplier. 

What Are The Pros And Cons Of Playing Jack And The Beanstalk?

Our favourite things about this game were the Wilds with a 3x multiplier, the fair RTP, and the broad betting range. We also liked the slot’s theme.

But that doesn’t mean it doesn’t need improvements. We wish the game had more paylines and lower volatility. However, we also understand some players prefer high volatility games.

Pros

  • Decent RTP (96.28%)
  • Wide betting range from £0.20 to £100
  • Wilds come with 3x multipliers
  • Interesting theme based on a classic story

Cons

  • It would be nice if it had more paylines
  • Not everyone enjoys high volatility slots

Summary Of Jack And The Beanstalk – A Classic Story Packed With Prizes

Our Jack and the Beanstalk slot review proves older games can still be fun. We loved how Wilds feature a 3x multiplier, increasing your wins if you’re lucky enough to land them. In addition, the Treasure Collection feature pairs well with Free Spins.

The only things we didn’t like were the less-than-ideal number of paylines and the high volatility. You can test how you feel about these things by trying the Jack and the Beanstalk slot demo.

Now that you’ve learned how to play Jack and the Beanstalk, it’s time to choose an online casino. Pick a reputable gambling site to ensure a pleasant Jack and the Beanstalk casino experience.

Play game
Software NetEnt
Slot Type Video slots
RTP 96.3%
Special feature Wild Scatter Free Spins
top10 Slot details
top10 More slot details More details
  • Software
    NetEnt
  • Slot Type
  • Paylines
    20
  • Reels
    5
  • Min Coins Per Line
    1
  • Max Coins Per Line
    10
  • Min Coins Size
    0.01
  • Max Coins Size
    0.2
  • Jackpot

    1000
  • RTP
    96.3%
  • Bonus Game
    Yes
  • Progressive
    No
  • Wild Symbol
    Yes
  • Scatter Symbol
    Yes
  • Autoplay Option
    Yes
  • Multiplier
    Yes
  • Free Spins
    Yes
Suggest an edit

Jack and the Beanstalk Slot Reviews by Players

RATE GAME AND WRITE A REVIEW

Write a review
stewex555 110 reviews
Message
Reviewed on February 13, 2019

LIKED

Tasty game, winnings of different value come unexpectedly and I can influence the game so it is one of my favorite and most glamorous. Graphics and music make this game even more beautiful and appealing. Great praise for the creators.
Kietpro2223 2 reviews
Vietnam
Message
Reviewed on November 29, 2018

LIKED

The maximum base game hit is just 50x your stake for five of a kind Jacks, although this can be tripled if the winning combination contains a wild symbol, which gives a 3x multiplier to any combination it is contained within. That wild symbol is even more important than usual in this game, because every time you hit one you automatically receive a free respin and the wild symbol moves one position to the left, and this will continue until there are no wilds visible on the reels, meaning you can get an awful lot of free spins even without hitting three or more scatter symbols.

That's good, because there is no benefit to hitting four or five scatters in this game and there is also no prize for hitting the scatter symbols either. There's no special prize for hitting a line or large combination of wilds either, they pay just as the top Jack symbol does.

When you do enter the free spins mode you will want to collect as many keys, which drop only on the fifth reel, as you possibly can! After you collect three keys, any wilds which drop onscreen will expand into a two tall wild, and after six keys this becomes a three-tall wild - although you will only see the full benefit if the wilds drop on the top row. After nine keys, all wilds that land on screen will expand to fill the whole reel with a Harp symbol, and these will grant free respins and move across the screen from left to right just as the normal wilds do. You can also receive an extra five free spins if you hit three or more scatters during the free spins mode. You'll need a couple of these retriggers to stand a good chance of hitting nine or more keys, I have only managed this a couple of times and its even more difficult to get a decent number of the expanding harp wilds afterwards, but as with all slot games, chasing these hits is what its all about!

DISLIKED

Maybe the only thing U don't like is that sometimes is impossible to get those 3 scatters to start the feature.
AJCLS3 1 review
Ireland
Message
Reviewed on September 27, 2018

LIKED

I like the graphics and getting the little wilds, gives you a little buzz, and some 'free shots'

DISLIKED

When the wild symbols are useless and you get little or no wins, waste of time.
Free Spins bonus is few and far between, 10 spins is too few imo. It has one of the lowest bonus payouts I've ever seen.
My partner was betting with a €2 stake, got the bonus and won a grand total of 50 cent. Absolute disgrace!
This game needs a serious overhaul, or to be discontinued.
ek2001 1 review
Ireland
Message
Reviewed on August 22, 2018

LIKED

Not much, graphics are on the high level too be fair thou!

DISLIKED

Have played four or five times, have not had any luck whatsoever and i am the kinda player that will stick with a slot till zero, find it slow and that in game wild thing pisses me off, especially when it rarely pays anything significant.
spintowin25 4 reviews
United Kingdom
Message
Reviewed on October 2, 2017

LIKED

What can I say about this slot that good - Ermmmm - Not a lot - Oh the graphics are good.

DISLIKED

The feature ( The beans x 3 )is so painfully hard to get it's almost impossible.

If & when you do get the feature, you may well expect it to be a brilliant payout, but DON'T, yes there are stories out there that it can pay mega money & yes it can, but in reality those wins are very few & far between.
The real reality is that you may get around 20 times your stake on the feature, but I have know it to pay as little as £1.60 on the bonus for a £1.00 stake, & that is shocking & no bonus guaranteed situation, like Raging Rhino or Montezuma.

The game play can also be repetitive,with the same or very similar spin outcome in terms of winning or losing spins appearing at the end of a spin, which can become boring & frustrating.

Another down side is that when you get the "Walking Wilds" the feature symbols ( Beans / Chests ) disappear as if by magic, so it is impossible to obtain the feature during those spins.

All in all with the exception of the concept & graphics a slot to steer well clear of. If you really must play it, set yourself a very low limit & once spent get out quick & never return.
LeoDubbed 176 reviews
Netherlands
Message
Reviewed on April 17, 2017

LIKED

The good old fairy tale about a young boy named Jack went off to the market to sell his cow Milky-White because his mother told him to but came home early with 5 pieces of magic beans in his pocket. He got a few slaps by his mom and sent to bed without supper. My best guess, everybody knows how this fairy tale ends so I won't tell them further.

There are a few video slots are made based on this story, as far as I know there are three of them and all three are from different gaming providers (Microgaming, Williams Interactive and NetEnt). Which one is the best? That depends on your taste but NetEnt's version is the cheapest compared with the other two (WMS's 50 cents minimum and Microgaming's 40 cents minimum).

So far I do like NetEnt's Jack and the beanstalk because it's nice looking graphics and outstanding gameplay and sounds. As NetEnt fans we all know that they have made some update on their games and this also applies to Jack and the beanstalk. The old version had a small glitch and personally this glitch took away the excitement of the game a little bit. The glitch was the sound of the third bean chest went off before the chest itself appear on the screen. On the updated version, the glitch has been partly fixed.

Like Gonzo's Quest, the game could eat your money like a sponge falling into a pool of water but it could also show it's potential, I have seen it, I have won it and it felt awesome. Sometimes I can predict if a game will pay big time and most of the time I was right but Jack and the beanstalk has always been a mystery to me. Sometimes it takes about 500 spins before the game grants you a big win and sometimes within 10 spins.

The last time I played this game was yesterday. I played the game about an hour and it gave me 5 bonus rounds. Each bonus round triggered I was expecting a massive win but I was disappointed. I didn't end up losing though but it didn't made me rich either.

Most players could have a love and hate relation with this game. I am assuming every player who had played this game had at least 1 massive win. Jack and the beanstalk is a great game, I will keep playing this game because it is a keeper.
Łukasz G. 28 reviews
Poland
Message
Reviewed on January 24, 2017

LIKED

It was never a slot of my preference but it's kinda normal! I like the bonus feature. Not the spins but let's call it "the bean-tree bonus" :)

DISLIKED

Just a solid slot to play. Dunno why I do not like it so I rather stay far away of this game. Maybe, unlucky with RNG winnings.
raverbabe 559 reviews
United Kingdom
Message
Reviewed on August 4, 2016

LIKED

This is another nicely unique game from NetEnt, and they have done a good job of creating a slot game that mirrors the theme and feel of Jack and the Beanstalk really quite well in my opinion! This one is somewhere in the medium-high variance category, with a maximum jackpot win of 3000x your stake possible during the free spins mode, although as with many NetEnt jackpots, the circumstances required to achieve this are so unimaginably difficult to attain that I am yet to ever see a screenshot or hear a report of somebody achieving the maximum possible win on this game.

The maximum base game hit is just 50x your stake for five of a kind Jacks, although this can be tripled if the winning combination contains a wild symbol, which gives a 3x multiplier to any combination it is contained within. That wild symbol is even more important than usual in this game, because every time you hit one you automatically receive a free respin and the wild symbol moves one position to the left, and this will continue until there are no wilds visible on the reels, meaning you can get an awful lot of free spins even without hitting three or more scatter symbols.

Thats good, because there is no benefit to hitting four or five scatters in this game and there is also no prize for hitting the scatter symbols either. There's no special prize for hitting a line or large combination of wilds either, they pay just as the top Jack symbol does.

When you do enter the free spins mode you will want to collect as many keys, which drop only on the fifth reel, as you possibly can! After you collect three keys, any wilds which drop onscreen will expand into a two tall wild, and after six keys this becomes a three-tall wild - although you will only see the full benefit if the wilds drop on the top row. After nine keys, all wilds that land on screen will expand to fill the whole reel with a Harp symbol, and these will grant free respins and move across the screen from left to right just as the normal wilds do. You can also receive an extra five free spins if you hit three or more scatters during the free spins mode. You'll need a couple of these retriggers to stand a good chance of hitting nine or more keys, I have only managed this a couple of times and its even more difficult to get a decent number of the expanding harp wilds afterwards, but as with all slot games, chasing these hits is what its all about!
Inactive user
Reviewed on May 27, 2016

LIKED

Jack and the Beanstalk, by NetEnt, is an epic game, and one which Askgamblers had a mania game in its forum last year. Yes, we did, and guess what? I was always like a 'back-bencher' player, who was always there, willing to play, but never getting many spins on the game, not even 1000 spins, unlike the 3000 and more spins our famous gamblers in forum made. Worse still, I couldn't and haven't made any 'wow' screenshots on the game either. I was always getting small wins due to my very limited gambling budget.

This slot was launched in 2011. NetEnt's inspiration for this creation was from an old English fairy tale, Jack and the Beanstalk, which first appeared in 1734. Originally entitled 'The Story of Jack Spriggins and the Enchanted Bean', it later became known as 'The History of Jack and the Bean-Stalk'. This game has 5-reels, 20-paylines, and it comes in my favorite 3D graphics. Jack, the hero in the fairy tale, carries a maximum win of 1000 coins for five of a kind. This is definitely one of the 'must try' slots. Besides giving you a thrilling experience, you will also enjoy incredible graphics and animations, which will keep you into this game on a long term. Yes, you could fall in love with this game, and if we add a little bit more of spice in the wins, most likely you can get addicted, playing for hours and hours. Well, if you are loosing you, can get frustrated, but still, I personally never want to leave out this game, no matter the fact that I have never made any 'aww' nor 'wow' winning screenies.

I can't remember any of my big wins as I played this game last year. The 'Walking Wild' and the 'Golden Key' are special features in this game. I love hearing that lovely birds song while spinning, it makes me feel really relaxed. 3 or more Scatter symbols activate 10 free spins and they can be retriggered. Whenever a Walking Wild appears on a reel, you are guaranteed of re-spins for as long as they are on the reels. All wins with the Walking Wild are tripled. These Walking Wilds can appear both in the base game and in the Free Spins game too, and it's the most thrilling symbol in my opinion.

In the Free Spins game, a Golden Key symbol may appear on reel 5, and fills one space in the collection meter at the bottom of the game screen. Filling all 3 spaces in each meter awards a special Wild feature - 2 Stacked Money Bags, 3 Stacked Golden Hens or Expanding Golden Harps. Those Expanding Harps are definitely the best feature in this game, with really huge win possibilities. If you want to try out this game, I would recommend you to find a nice reputable casino and start spinning as soon as possible. There is so much for you to experience, and probably make lots of money too.
Damian 54 reviews
Message
Reviewed on September 27, 2015

LIKED

Jack and the Beanstalk is a game coming with a lot of colorful animations and innovations. This particular game seems to be like is one of the most enjoyable graphics at all the times of online casinos industry. I really liked playing in this game because it is very nice to eyes. Jack and the Beanstalk is a 5 reel, 3 row video slot that features Treasure Collection in Free Spins, and Walking Wilds with re-spins. You can enable auto play option and automatically plays the game for the selected number of rounds. Recently I used auto play option most of time and I appreciate it.

Classically the game at 20 bet lines comes with you can use different bet levels from as little as 1 cent per line, so that is 0.20 minimum bet, what is relatively small amount. There is no option to gamble your win when you can double it or lose it, I don't know even Netent provide this option but I liked it last time and it is more attractive to play with gamble option. It should be mentioned that when you play gamble option there is no edge, it is why I recommend it for all.

Wild is symbol which substitutes for all symbols except Scatter symbol and key symbols. Don’t forget that wild symbol pays only the highest possible winning combination on a bet line. Max bet is 10 euros. Most paying symbol is the cute boy who has brown hairs and big eyes. Game is very colorful and is done at very well creative fantasy world it is just beautiful. Worth of notice is that RTP for this game is 96,3 % (return to player), what is not so bad.

When Free Spins are, key symbols that appear on reel 5 unlock Wild features for example if you got 3 key symbols, and the next wild appearing on the reels will become a Stacked Wild of they call it “2 money bag” or so. (There are two others features are names expanding golden harp and 3 Stacked Golden Hen). Good news is the walking wild feature too and few other features which I didn’t discovered yet.

DISLIKED

There is no gamble option, it is more attractive to play with gamble option.

Why are you reporting this review?

RATE GAME AND WRITE A REVIEW
150 characters left for pros 150 characters left for cons

Time to Check your email!

You are recognised as Casino Representative. We sent an email to with registration link, please click that link in order to complete the registration.

Jack and the Beanstalk Slot Winning screenshots

Been lucky lately? Share your winnings.