You are about to go to the simplified Italian version of AskGamblers
You are now leaving the full version of the website. Are you sure you want to continue to the simplified version of AskGamblers?
You are about to go to the simplified German version of AskGamblers
You are now leaving the full version of the website. Are you sure you want to continue to the simplified version of AskGamblers?

Spin Station Casino - Terms and conditions applied improperly to withdrawal attempt

RESOLVED
Sven2017 Netherlands
posted on April 12, 2017.

Recently I played with some no deposit free spins at 'Spin Station'. I got a fairly large amount of winnings from this (roughly €126), but I could not convert these winnings into a withdrawable amount before making a deposit.
From paragraph 10 of their bonus terms:
"(vi) If you have never made a deposit, any gameplay using bonus funds will not unlock bonus funds or bonus winnings from free spins and all winnings will return directly to your bonus account until you make your first deposit. All funds in your bonus account at the time of first deposit will be subject to standard play-through requirements."
I deposited 20 euros, played with this for a while on several slots (wagering more than €20) and then attempted to withdraw it. When I wanted to do this I got an error message stating that the minimum withdrawable amount was €30 (their T&C states the minimum is €20), when I asked a support agent he claimed that I was not allowed to withdraw anything until I had cleared my bonus balance. He cited the following section of their terms and conditions:
From paragraph 5 of Spin Station's bonus terms and conditions:
"(v) The deposit and possible winnings connected to the bonus will be locked to the casino account until the wagering has been completed. Where promotions do allow withdrawals with an active bonus balance, at this stage, any remaining bonuses will be revoked."
I would argue that this does not apply to my situation. Using the article 'the' twice in "The deposit and possible winnings connected to the bonus" means that it refers to a specific deposit connected to a bonus. I did not receive a bonus for my deposit, nor is my deposit connected to the bonus funds on my account. After further questioning I got told that "The deposit" refers to any funds in a players cash balance. This is incredibely confusing. In the terms and conditions 'deposit' and 'cash balance' are two seperate terms that are used in completely different ways. That section of the terms and conditions is the only section in which 'deposit' is used to refer to the cash balance as a whole.
When I asked the support agent about the minimum withdrawal he said that they changed it to €30, but hadnt updated their terms and conditions yet. This too is not fair. I understand that terms and condition can be changed. But reading terms and conditions, signing up, depositing and then finding out that the terms and conditions were outdated from the start makes me feel duped.

posted on April 18, 2017.

Hi Mark,

Can you please provide your Spin Station username so that I can properly investigate this for you?

Regards,

James
The Spin Station Team

AskGamblers
posted on April 19, 2017.

Dear Spin Station Casino,

Please keep in mind that player's login details could be found within the notification email sent from our complaints system.

However, to avoid losing time we have just sent these manually as a private message.

posted on April 19, 2017.

Hi again,

I've investigated your case and have the following to report.

Firstly, regarding our withdrawal limit. Due to a recent terms and conditions change, this was erroneously amended to £20. This is not acceptable and I apologise for the inconvenience this caused. It will be rectified as soon as possible.

Regarding your winnings, the no deposit required free spins winnings are credited to your account in the form of bonus funds. This is made clear in paragraph 10.1 of our Promotional terms under clauses iv and v:

(iv) Unless otherwise stated, winnings from free spins are credited in casino bonus and are capped to a maximum of £50. Winnings that exceed this amount will be removed from the account.
(v) Any play using free spins winnings will not unlock bonus funds and all winnings will return directly to your bonus account.

All bonus money funds, whether from free spins or not, are subject to wagering requirements before they are converted to cash. This is made clear in paragraph 5 and paragraph 9, clause ii of our Promotional Terms and Conditions. It is not possible to withdraw your free spins winnings via any other method.

Regarding the clause you quoted. The support agent was correct in stating that the term "the deposit and possible winnings connected" does refer to any cash balance in your account at the time of receiving a bonus. I have made an enquiry with our Legal Department to see if this term can be better worded to avoid any future confusion.

Due to the inconvenience you have experienced, I would be more than happy to refund your deposit of £20. Unfortunately, however, the bonus money you won will be revoked as a result. Alternatively, you can try your luck with your combined balance of £147.

Personally, I highly recommend trying your luck with your balance. The amount in your account means you have essential received a 600% First Deposit Bonus, which is the biggest first deposit bonus I have ever heard of.

Please let me know how you would like to proceed.

Best regards,

James
The Spin Station Team

Sven2017 Netherlands
posted on April 19, 2017.

I would highly appreciate it if you would refund my €20 (not pound) deposit. I understand that my bonus balance will be revoked because of this.

Thank you for the help,
Mark

posted on April 19, 2017.

Hi again,

This in currently in process and will be paid back to your account shortly. I trust this resolves your query.

Best regards,

James
The Spin Station Team

posted on April 20, 2017.

Good morning,

Just to let you know that the deposit has been refunded. Depending on your payment method, this can take a few days to reflect in your account.

Should you choose to come back, you will still be welcome at Spin Station and we would be more than happy to honour your Welcome Deposit Bonus.

Take care and all the best,

James
The Spin Station Team

Sven2017 Netherlands
posted on April 21, 2017.

I have received the refund. Thank you for resolving this issue for me. I don't know if I have to do something to close this complaint, but it has been resolved succesfully.

AskGamblers
posted on April 21, 2017.

Based on submitter's last post AskGamblers Complaints Team consider this case as Resolved and it is officially closed now.

Thank you all for your cooperation.