What's new

  • What's new
  • Notifications
Search
Search for over 1000 casinos, slots, bonuses

Notifications
failed to load.

Reload

You don't
have any
notifications.

Reload
View all

Notifications
failed to load.

Reload

You don't
have any
notifications.

Reload
View all

King Billy Casino - Withdrawal unfairly refused based on country restriction

RESOLVED
Complaint Info
Disputed casino King Billy Casino
Reason Declined payment
Amount € 1500
Gib1234 Gibraltar
Posted on March 31, 2019

I registered with the casino and entered my residential address (Gibraltar). Prior to registering I viewed the terms and conditions that stated a list of restricted countries - Gibraltar not being one of them. After playing and making a withdrawal request, I was advised that Gibraltar is part of the UK and my withdrawal would not be allowed, instead they refunded my deposit.

I have stated that Gibraltar is not part of the uk, it is an overseas territory, however this would still class as being “part of the uk” in the casinos opinion.

The withdrawal they are not willing to pay is for €1500, but I registered on the understanding (per the t&c’s) that I could gamble, I don’t believe this to be fair. Had I not won, I really don’t think they would have returned my deposit and it is only being used now as I won.

Gibraltar is included in the registration page, which allowed me to enter it, with all countries that are restricted not appearing, which I again think is proof that this should be acceptable.

Posted on April 3, 2019

Dear AskGamblers,

When the complaining player started uploading documents, we realized that the player originates from Gibraltar which is British Overseas Territory - and UK is a restricted country for our casino (moreover, the player uses a British phone number in his documentation).

So, how we acted was not really out of the norm, but 100% standard procedure.

Thank you for your understanding.

Gib1234 Gibraltar
Posted on April 3, 2019

Appreciate the response, but what is being stated totally contradicts the terms and conditions.

Gibraltar is its own country and although they are claiming that it should fall under the UK due to it being a British Overseas territory, it is an invalid argument.

For the purposes of allowing customers to play from Gibraltar there is no requirement that King Billy Casino has a GB gambling commission licence (which it doesn't) and it should be covered under their licence from Curacao - Gibraltar has different licensing requirements to that of the UK. I am aware that King Billy has geo location restrictions to prevent players from the UK accessing the site, so should Gibraltar fall under their argument the restrictions should also prevent access being given.

The countries included in their registration page are the countries where business can be accepted. The countries on the "restricted country" list (per the terms and conditions of their website) are not included as would be expected. They website allowed me to view, register, deposit, play and verify my account. It was only at the point the withdrawal request was made that the "Gibraltar is part of the UK" argument was mentioned and the initial deposit return - which I have now received.

The argument regarding the UK phone number is a non-starter. Playing at a casino is based on where the customer is playing from, not their phone number. Documents have already been provided which validate my country of residence and if they were to validate the IP address where access was granted from, it would confirm.

AskGamblers
Posted on April 6, 2019

Dear King Billy Casino,

AskGamblers Complaints Team would like to pay attention to the following key moments in this particular case:

  1. According to Wikipedia "The British Overseas Territories (BOTs) or United Kingdom Overseas Territories (UKOTs) are 14 territories under the jurisdiction and sovereignty of the United Kingdom.[1][2] They are remnants of the British Empire that have not been granted independence or have voted to remain British territories. These territories do not form part of the United Kingdom and, with the exception of Gibraltar, are not part of the European Union. " Which basically means Gibraltar is not a part of the United Kingdom in the sense used by King Billy management.
  2. According to King Billy terms and conditions the list of restricted countries is as follows: Estonia, Israel, Ukraine, Republic of Crimea, France, Netherlands, Romania, Spain, Slovakia, the United Kingdom, US or any of its states, Dutch West Indies and Curacao. Obviously none of the British Overseas Territories have been listed as a restricted country and/or territory.
  3. According to King Billy registration form Gibraltar is actually duly listed as an allowed country - https:­//p­rnt.sc­/n89ehs.

Based on the above, AskGamblers Complaints Team consider player's claim as justified and therefore, we expect player to be paid in full as soon as possible.

Posted on April 6, 2019

Dear AskGamblers,

we read your reply and we forwarded it to our legal department.

We are waiting for an answer from them, which we believe we shall have by Monday, and move forward to resolve this complaint.

Thank you for your time and effort.

Gib1234 Gibraltar
Posted on April 8, 2019

Complaint has been allocated to me.

Comment added to direct complaint back to King Billy Casino

Posted on April 8, 2019

Dear AskGamblers,

It is true that players from Gibraltar are not accepted at King Billy Casino. However, we cannot deny the fact that there was a slip about this in our T&Cs.

Therefore, we shall compensate the complaining player to the full amount of his winnings.

We thank you for your time and your understanding and we apologize for any inconvenience caused.

The King Billy Management

AskGamblers
Posted on April 9, 2019

Dear King Billy Casino,

AskGamblers Complaints Team is happy to know you have decided to reconsider this case and pay your player in full.

Please let us know as soon as the payment is processed so that we could proceed further closing the complaint accordingly.

Thank you for your cooperation.

Posted on April 9, 2019

Dear AskGamblers,

payment in full has been processed.

Therefore, we would like to have this complaint resolved.

Thank you

AskGamblers
Posted on April 10, 2019

Dear @Gib1234,

Please make sure to update your issue in a timely manner and let the AskGamblers Complaints Team know if you got the payment. Please be in aware in case you fail to respond within the given time frame we will consider your issue as resolved and your complaint will be closed accordingly.

Thank you for your cooperation.

Sign up for +100 No Deposit Spins!

This offer is not applicable to residents of Great Britain.

By subscribing you are certifying that you have reviewed and accepted our updated Privacy and Cookie Policy