What's new

  • What's new
  • Notifications
Search
Search for over 1000 casinos, slots, bonuses

Recent Searches

Clear

Notifications
failed to load.

Reload

You don't
have any
notifications.

Reload
View all

Notifications
failed to load.

Reload

You don't
have any
notifications.

Reload
View all
Age Of Discovery Slot is currently available only in free play mode in your country.
Exit Fullsc Enter Fullscreen

Age Of Discovery Slot Microgaming

Age of Discovery is a 25-payline video slot which runs on the Microgaming software platform. Featuring a long-gone era of new findings and long overseas voyages, the game’s key symbols are the Gold Coin, which is wild, a Dragon scatter and a Compass, which is a treasure bonus symbol. Players are welcome to try the slot here on this page for free or choose any of the listed Microgaming casinos to play the game for real money.

Before setting off to explore the once unknown lands, players need to adjust their bet. Pressing +/- in the lower left corner regulates the coin size, ranging from 0.01 to 2, while “Select Coins” adjusts the number of coins wagered. The number of paylines is chosen by pressing “Select Lines”. “Spin” starts the game and "Bet Max" automatically wagers the maximum sum, prompting the reels to begin spinning. To play for a number of times without interruption, players need to click “Expert” and then “Auto Play”.

When 3, 4 or 5 Compass symbols appear on the reels, players are presented with a map containing 30 treasure sites. Players select dig sites until they find a Skull and Cross Bones. Every successful find is a win.

Game Play

+/-: Choose a coin size.
Select Coins: Adjust the number of coins wagered.
Select Lines: Choose one more payline.
Spin: Start playing the game at the chosen wager.
Auto Play: Spin the reels multiple times with no interruptions.
Bet Max: Spin the reels at the maximum wager.

 

Play game
Software Microgaming
Slot Type Video slots
RTP 96.62%
Special feature Wild Scatter Free Spins
top10 Slot details
top10 More slot details More details
  • Software

    Microgaming
  • Slot Type

  • Paylines

    25
  • Reels

    5
  • Min Coins Per Line

    1
  • Max Coins Per Line

    10
  • Min Coins Size

    0.01
  • Max Coins Size

    0.5
  • Jackpot

    1000
  • RTP

    96.62%
  • Bonus Game

    No
  • Progressive

    No
  • Wild Symbol

    Yes
  • Scatter Symbol

    Yes
  • Autoplay Option

    Yes
  • Multiplier

    Yes
  • Free Spins

    Yes
Suggest an edit

Age Of Discovery Slot Reviews by Players

RATE GAME AND WRITE A REVIEW

Write a review
Sloter 514 reviews
Greece
Reviewed on February 18, 2021

LIKED

As you wanderιng through Microgaming’s vast collection of slots is possible to encounter with this title, Age of Discovery (especially if you are a beginner on slots – and this title is available at your favourite Casino).
This Age of Discovery video slot, features 25 Paylines/5 Reels combining the classic fruit slot machine with a discovery adventure theme (?)
In my opinion, a confusing combination, which does not yield a decent result. The main reason is due to poor Paytable. Most of the wins will be around 6x bet! Take note, the top payout goes up to 240x bet!
However, Low risk means low Payout, but caution is advised because it is almost certain that you will be disappointed.
raverbabe 559 reviews
United Kingdom
Message
Reviewed on August 29, 2016

LIKED

I guess I can be a little bit slow sometimes as I didn't immediately register what the fruit symbols had to do with the games title "Age of Discovery" ... oh dear! Of course the game is actually trying to invoke the spirit of the old world, when explorers would sail to far away lands in their boats and return (if they were extremely lucky) to their home country with a new fruit or delicacy to present to the king or queen. What a strange time it must have been!

Fast forward a few hundred years and here we are effectively trivialising those heroic discoveries, so I did at least hope that this would be another smash hit from Microgaming!

DISLIKED

It's a pretty standard machine in most ways - 25 paylines, play up to 10 coins per line, and a 96% return to player payout rate. Base game payouts aren't bad for a 25 line game but with no free spins mode or wild multiplier the games jackpot combination is just the regular five wilds paytable hit paying a maximum of 60,000 coins - that's just 240x stake making this a super low variance game.

In terms of scatters and features things get a little different - there are two scatter symbols, firstly the compass which triggers the "Treasure Bonus" and awards a payout of up to 32,250 coins and also what looks to be a dragon like symbol which pays between 5x and 80x your stake depending how many land onscreen but does not have any feature attached. I'm not sure I like this, why not just add the payout to the same scatters which trigger the bonus round? Whenever a game has multiple sets of scatters of bonus symbols I always find myself cursing them when they continuously and inevitably get in the way of large winning combinations, or worse still I'll get two of one kind on the screen and two of the other but still end up with nothing as well as no smaller wins because the scatters have blocked the paylines!

There's not much in the way of real innovation here, the two sets of scatter symbols annoy me and the game feels much older than it really is. The ridiculously low maximum win is what really kills it for me though, this just isn't my type of machine.
Afi4wins 2050 reviews
Malaysia
Message
Reviewed on May 25, 2016

LIKED

When I see this Age of Discovery game from Microgaming, my mind instantly compared it with Playtech's The Discovery, both sharing the same theme of colonial discoveries by sea travel. I've played Playtech's game on numerous occasions, simply because Playtech is more like home to me, whilst Microgaming has always been like a sudden meet up with a Cannibal tribe! Yep, most of my plays on Microgaming games had landed me in the tribe's cooking pot! My most recent adventure landed me in their cooking pot yet again, with the tribe chanting "soup it up", "soup it up" "soup it up"! Hahaha. If you're a Microgaming fan, you wouldn't have any problem at all in knowing what game I was referring to!

This game is old, the graphics are acceptable for its age, and its paytable is typical of so many of Microgaming games - low. The Gold Coin, the Wild symbol, is the best paying symbol of the lot, 5 of them paying 6000x the line bet, which is actually much lower than usual. Does the Wild symbol do anything else? Nope, it's yet another dumb Wild! The Dragon is the Scatter symbol, 5 of which pays 80x the total bet, which is again very low. All the other symbols can only be lower, so no need for me to elaborate on them. They range from 1000x down to 50x the line bet.

Any Free Spins game? Oh gees, I guess it got thrown off the ship along the way somewhere! None is left in the game. Only one Bonus game is available, activated by getting 3 or more Bonus symbols, the Compass. In this game, you are given 30 sites to pick from, each site awarding cash prizes, but pick a Skull symbol and the picking ends. All wins are per total bet amount, but don't expect a dinosaur of a win in any of them though, there simply isn't any! What's the biggest amount to win? I really don't know, because I've never stayed with this game for long. That skull seemed to follow me around every time! Sheesh!

DISLIKED

What do I like about this Age of Discovery game? Nothing! What do I dislike about this Age of Discovery game? A thousand things! But I won't go into all that. I think I have already said enough to give you all an idea of my opinions on the game.
hajnrih 1379 reviews
Macedonia
Message
Reviewed on February 29, 2016

LIKED

Age of Discovery Slot is a great video slot game run by Microgaming software. I heard from a friend that this game is amazing and I had to try it of course. He advised me to play higher for a better win. I played it with 1.25 euros per spin and I must say the game was very generous. I will definitely play it again very soon. I did not get any good money during the base game but I hit the bonus 3 times and every time I got something like 50 x bet size.

Age of Discovery Slot has a maritime theme. Some of the symbols include compasses, ships, sextants, coat of arms, avocados, bananas, pomegranate, figs and dragons. Except for the wild and the scatter symbol, the gold coin is the most valuable symbol in this game. If you are lucky enough to get five gold coins on an active pay line you can win up to 60 000 coins. The music is not very good, I really did not like the flute and the whistle sounds. There are only 25 pay lines 5 reels with a limited range of bonus features. Minimum bet is 0.25 euros. This makes this game perfect for beginners because it is very simple.

The best thing that can happen to you is to collect the compass bonus symbols which guarantee a bonus game that is full of potential. This bonus game is activated when you get 3, 4 or 5 compass symbol on the reels. During the bonus game you have to find as many valuable treasures as possible. The dragon symbol represents the scatter. These symbols do not trigger any special feature but they award prizes x total bet and sometimes you can get 5 of them on the reels. Another good thing is that the dragon symbol does not have to be on an active payline to provide payment.
zerooo 742 reviews
Slovenia
Message
Reviewed on November 25, 2015

LIKED

Age Of Discovery is old video game powered by Microgaming. It has 25 paylines. I tried this game only a couple of times, I did not like it very much.

The game offer only one bonus, no free spins feature. Into treasure bonus you have to pick out some location on the map and this reveal cash prizes. I had this bonus a few times and most of the time it paid good. But the game is not so interesting because there are no free spins into the game.

I really missed this at Age of Discovery. I think the game would be much more interesting with free spins. The base game pays ok, but it could be even better. I think the only fun thing here is bonus and most of the big winnings came from there. The bonus is set ok, because I won most of the time good money on it.

After all I don't think I will play it often. It has old look, the design is not so good and I like to play game where are free spins. I like to receive free games when i play slots. It is much more fun than without them. I will rate it with 6 stars.

DISLIKED

While i was playing this game, it bothered me how slow is the game.There is no quick spin button to speed up the game. When I pressed spin button i need to wait long time for reels to stop. It is really slow game and I don't like it because of that. I like to play faster slots. Otherwise maybe it could be good for wagering bonuses, I did not tried it for that yet. Maybe could be good in this purpose if you receive bonus game a couple of times in session. But when I played, bonus game was hard to get and 2 bonus symbols could pay x2 or something like that.
winningfly 283 reviews
Message
Reviewed on October 31, 2015

LIKED

Age of discovery is game made by Microgaming. I played this game very few amount of times, it is does not give me almost anything I want. Just like bonus game and played few times.

I like bonus game in this slot. Bonus game in this game triggered when 3 or more scatter symbols appear anywhere on reels. Unfortunately bonus scatters does not have payout so it is probably no difference how many you get. Bonus game is typical you just pick and get prizes. But it could pay good, from my very first bonus game trigger I won more than 100 bets. Which is good.

During normal play I had best result probably 30 bets, and bonus game here is not interesting. Wilds without multiplier or any feature.

I think I could rate this game with 6 stars, there is not much things I like in it.

DISLIKED

I did not like that regular scatters does not award any feature. Once I got 3 scatters played first time I was expecting that I get some feature, freespins probably, but after I just get payout and nothing else of course I was sad.

I did not like look of this game. Old, with not nice sounds and music. Games like this i am very rare prefer, but this one is not this example.

I did not like normal play at all. It is just not interesting, scatters that not give any feature, wilds without even a multiplier. Very sad and annoying to play this game for a long time.

I did not like game at overall. I mean that it is really hard to play it, because nothing to wait or expect. You can only wait bonus feature which is good one, but game could not hold just on one bonus game, specially if there is not very huge potential.
NextTimeWin 375 reviews
Message
Reviewed on May 31, 2015

LIKED

Age of Discovery Slot game I played couple of times in past, and can't say that I like this game much, but since I opened it couple of times and played, I since my brains like something in this game.

Game looks okay. In a theme I could say, anyway I like how this game looks, sounds also good. Just a pleasure and nothing else. This game has 25 paylines.

Base game at this slot is quite not very interesting. Scatters here pay not much money even for 5 of it, and moreover do not trigger any feature. At least scatters looks good as a symbol. Wilds here presented on all reels and payouts for it is good, I like it, but unfortunately this is all what wilds have, nothing else, nothing like multiplier, and of course nothing like some special feature.

It is possible to trigger bonus game at this slot. I can't say that it is unique one or very beautiful, but I really like it. Most likely this is because it is usually pays decent amount of money, and it is not hard to get it. You just need 3 or more bonus symbols - and feature is triggered. You have to picks special signs just before collect symbol will appear. Once I collected almost everything, and won something like x 100 total bet. This is of course very rare event, but still it is great when bonus game not only to award you small not interesting prizes, but when bonus game also can pay you some solid money.

Unfortunately I cannot say that I had good hits during base game, but couple of average wins I got. Nothing special, because payouts are not so big and wilds not so easy to get anywhere.

DISLIKED

Quite low payouts during playing, not is what I want.
irishchris07 39 reviews
United States
Message
Reviewed on October 20, 2014

LIKED

Age of Discovery is a very beautiful looking game and when I first opened it I was pleasantly surprised by the graphics. In some ways the game made me feel like a new age Columbus searching for new found treasure on a mysterious island.

This time I made sure to check I wasn't betting max amount and took it a little easier. While betting 25c I managed to trigger the bonus within the first few spins. To get the bonus I had to get three compasses anywhere on the reels. I was then presented with a treasure map where I had to select X's. Under each X was a particular cash sum and as my luck was with me I combined €15 worth of coins. On my first pick I got €5 which was the biggest amount on the map so I was happy out straight away, then when I was getting a good run of it I got a skull and it ended. Even though it was over I was still very excited to have got the max amount so quick so I decided to be a bit braver and increase my bets on the reels. My new bet was 50 cent and roll after roll the game threw plenty of wins at me, even the wilds were coming out more frequently than I imagined that they would. As I kept spinning I saw 4 water monsters appear on the reels which paid me a sweet ten euro! I was considering increasing my bets further but I decided not to. No more than 10 spins later I got hit with the three compasses again and was kicking myself for not raising the bet. I was back on the treasure map even with a slightly bitter taste in my mouth. So this time round I managed to pick 7 coins in a row without the dreaded skull but only managed to gather €18 in total. There was one coin somewhere on the map holding 10 but I wast in the right place to find it.

All things considered this is a slot game I will definitely be returning to and the rewards were enough for me to love it!

My rating for Age of Discovery is 9/10
sagar.agarwal.1865 93 reviews
India
Message
Reviewed on August 29, 2014

LIKED

Age of discovery is a 25 play line and 5 reel gaming slot by Microgaming. The slot has very mediocre animation and the sound of the slot is rather very realistic. It depicts the a ship sailing over the water.

I started playing the slot at 32red casino with a bet of $0.25. And just in my third or fourth spin I don’t remember exactly I activated the special bonus feature of the slot. It was triggered when three compass symbols appeared on the reels. In this feature word map opens with lot of crosses on it. On choosing any cross symbol you will either come across a treasure or the danger symbol when bonus game will end. I won 300 coins that is $3 at a bet of $0.25. In which 250 coin I won on choosing the crosses and the remaining were awarded to me as bonus (I don’t know which bonus it was). But the bonus feature has real potential for a good win because in around 20-25 crosses on the world map there were just three danger symbols.
Then you have wild symbol in which you can win maximum of 60000 coins when the 5 wilds appear on the reels. The scatter symbol is in form of dragon and can give you a maximum win of 80 times the total bet. I increased the bet to $1.25 but still could not make a good win. And even the special bonus feature did not trigger again.

The slot has very average payouts. Although in the bonus feature you can manage good win if you don’t hit the danger symbol early. The symbols used in the slot are also very ordinary with no significant good animations or effects. I would give the slot a seven on the scale of ten.
LilianInThaHouse 657 reviews
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Message
Reviewed on August 29, 2014

LIKED

Age of Discovery is a slot game created in Microgaming. It’s been a long time since the European explorers made these grand discoveries. Still this historical period served as a theme for numerous movies, novels and even a theme for a slot game.

Some of the symbols here are very interesting. Like the symbols with some sea monster or a symbol with a a compass, a device which today in the era of GPS and satellite navigation is almost totally abandoned and forgotten. I played this game several times but without some big success. Still overall I like this game a lot.

The main set back here in my opinion is that this game doesn't have a free spins bonus. The biggest wins here can come in the bonus game which is activated when on at least 3 reels you get scatter compass symbols. From my experience so far I can say that this happens a lot. It’s actually a pick up bonus. Here you have a map with a lot of places marked with an X. Behind each one of those places is a cash prize or a skull. I also noticed that often the first mark you will click on will reveal a skull. A not so often would be that the last place you click on reveals a skull. Still in that case a big win is guaranteed. That happened to me a few times when I played here on a 0.25 bet and even then I would win about 30 euros.

Taught from some bad experiences when I played here on a bigger bet and lost a lot of money in a very short time I now play here on a minimum 0.25 bet per spin.

Overall

An interesting slot game but I advise you to play on a small bet and to be very cautious.

Why are you reporting this review?

RATE GAME AND WRITE A REVIEW
150 characters left for pros 150 characters left for cons

Time to Check your email!

You are recognised as Casino Representative. We sent an email to with registration link, please click that link in order to complete the registration.

Age Of Discovery Slot Winning screenshots

Been lucky lately? Share your winnings.

Sign up for +100 No Deposit Spins!

Availability may vary depending on your country or region.

By subscribing you are certifying that you have reviewed and accepted our updated Privacy and Cookie Policy