Ag Awards
Login
You are about to go to the Italian version of AskGamblers
Kindly note that some features such as complaint service and forum are currently available only on the international version.
You are about to go to the German version of AskGamblers
Kindly note that some features such as complaint service and forum are currently available only on the international version.

PokerStars Casino - Verification runaround

RESOLVED
kaijudoka Canada
Posted on October 12, 2018.

Hi,

On Oct 3rd,2018 I opened a pokerstars account and deposited $60 US. An hour and a half later I first attempted to play but a pop up notice said my assets were frozen for security reasons. When I them contacted they demanded ID.

Over the course of a week I sent a few emails trying to find out what the issue was and to complain about the process. I strongly disagreed with being asked for ID post deposit (ID should be pre deposit or when withdrawing). I received form letter responses to some of these.

When I begrudgingly supplied the ID ( Ontario Photo Card, a mailing from Canada Revenue Agency with my address showing) I received no response.
I sent a follow up email with no response. I sent a second email asking for a resolution by...
1) Verifying my account,
2) Providing an explicit reason why my account is a risk, or
3) Return my money and close the account.

In response I received another form letter that did none of these things and no acknowledgement that I sent the ID scans. Just another demand for ID, differently phrased. Without transparency on their part I will not do this.
Also I can't do more for the mail as I receive no other land mail from any source. Who gets letters anymore?

I would prefer to have my cash and account made available for play but otherwise I want my money returned. I can provide copies of any of their emails if needed, but they are all stock forms.

I apologize for the length of this post. It is my frustration showing.

Thanks,
Kaijudoka.

Posted on October 15, 2018.

Good day,

After having received the username , we are investigating internally .

Regards,
PokerStars Casino

Posted on October 15, 2018.

Good day,

We have been informed that our verifications team have emailed you about the situation.

Regards,
PokerStars Casino

AskGamblers
Posted on October 15, 2018.

Dear @kaijudoka,

Please let us know if there's an update regarding your ongoing complaint. Please keep in mind that you are supposed to reply within the given 96-hours time frame, otherwise AskGamblers Complaints Team will consider the case as Resolved and it will be closed accordingly.

Thank you for your cooperation.

kaijudoka Canada
Posted on October 15, 2018.

Hi,

I received a notice from Pokerstars today. I will post that and my response, following this. But first, I noticed my post to you on Oct 13th does not appear here. I saved a copy of my post and will reprint it here. The Pokerstars mailing and my reply are attached,

From Oct 13th,

"Hi,

I have been contacted by Pokerstars. I do not know if it is related to your actions.

They claim they did not receive my documents. I replied with a question about the proof of address and whether mine is acceptable.
If the response is yes, I will forward it. This is despite my conviction that requesting anything besides goverment ID is inappropriate and all documents should have been requested before allowing a deposit (or when withdrawing).

If they will not accept it, I will want my money returned and the account closed. I see no point in going back and forth with them demanding varieties of personal information. I'll go to another site.

To clarify my position, I feel strongly that the request for verification needs to be during the financial transactions, depositing and/or withdrawing. If asked during the process it avoids circumstances where the customer cannot produce the ID and an opportunity to decide if they are willing to share the information. The vendor should also be checking for "security risks" at that time. Accepting money, then withholding service and refusing to return it would be considered criminal in any business.

If they feel that my ID is required because I became a security risk during the hour and a half between depositing and attempting to play, as originally claimed, I would like transparency on their part before complying. For what reason do they deny my use of my funds after approving the deposit? Why am I a risk?


Pokerstars mailing and my reply are attached.

Best regards,
Kaijudoka."

kaijudoka Canada
Posted on October 15, 2018.

Hi,

My mail from Pokerstars today says I had a previous account with them. I don't recall this but the Pokerstars ID they give was one I was using online until recently. I think the account must be about a decade old (the last time I was trying out new sites) and would have been inactive since, I don't know the password anymore and cannot supply verification for this.
If I was given this reason from the start, or after any of my request for transparency, this process would have been quicker and less unpleasant.

I was having difficulty loading an attachment and have included the latest (Oct 15/18) exchange below.

From
securi­[email protected]­sta­rsa­cco­unt.com
Mo 15. Oct 06:02
To
Me
RE: Alternate Address Document Required
Hello David,

We have reviewed your Stars account and found that no documents were submitted at any time. Please also note that you opened an account while already having an active account with us (Stars ID GoGoJira), which, is a breach of our Terms of Service and requires the verification of your details. We therefore kindly ask you to re-submit requested documents at your earliest convenience.

We thank you in advance for your cooperation!

Regards,

Grietje
Stars Security

To enhance the security of your Stars Account, we strongly encourage you to set up our additional security features; Stars PIN, SMS Verification, RSA Token and Security Questions.

Activation of these features is extremely simple and can be completed within the ‘Account’ menu within our software.

We will NEVER ask you to confirm your login credentials or password via email, phone or chat facility or in any way. We do not advise giving your login information to anyone under any circumstances.



------- Previous Email -------

From: securi­[email protected]­sta­rsa­cco­unt.com
Sent: 10/15/2018 04:35:22
To: mypoke­rma­[email protected]­tut­ano­ta.com
Subject: Alternate Address Document Required

Hello David,

Thank you for your email.

We accept as proof of identity any valid government issued picture ID.

Please note that in accordance with our Anti Money Laundering Policies, we can only accept the following forms of Address documents:

Utilities Bill, such as water, gas, electricity
Landline Telephone Bill
Internet Service Provider Bill



Bank Statement
Tax/insurance letter
University matriculation
Social security letter

The document must show your full name, current address, and the issue date within the last 3 months. We kindly ask that you scan or take a clear photo of the requested documentation and send it back to this e-mail address.

Unfortunately, we cannot say in advance whether we approve to a document without viewing it first.

If you currently have access to your Stars Account, you can also upload documentation via the client.

We look forward to receiving your documents so that we can proceed with the validation of your account.

Thank you for your cooperation.
Regards,

Tanja G
Stars Security

To enhance the security of your Stars Account, we strongly encourage you to set up our additional security features; Stars PIN, SMS Verification, RSA Token and Security Questions.

Activation of these features is extremely simple and can be completed within the ‘Account’ menu within our software.

We will NEVER ask you to confirm your login credentials or password via email, phone or chat facility or in any way. We do not advise giving your login information to anyone under any circumstances.



------- Previous Email -------

From:
Sent: 10/13/2018 04:59:35
To:
Subject: Re: Alternate Address Document Required

I am willing to forward my documents a second time. First, I would like to know if it is acceptable.

The "valid government issued picture ID" will be an Ontario Photo Card.

As for the proof of address, I receive virtually no mail. Will you accept as a "Tax/insurance letter" a Canada Revenue Agency statement report mailing?

They are addressed but since they are sent the same time annually they have no mailing date. It would have arrived approximately six months ago.

It does clearly state the year the tax statement covers. To be clear this years mailing, 2018, is for "Year 2017". I would black out the financial statement and my Social Insurance Number.

Let me know if this is acceptable and I will send the documents again.

Kaijudoka.

--
Securely sent with Tutanota. Claim your encrypted mailbox today!
https://tutanota.com

13. Oct 2018 03:42 by securi­[email protected]­sta­rsa­cco­unt.com:

Hello David,

Thank you for your email.

Unfortunately, although we received a few emails from you, there were no attachments in any email.

We haven't yet received any documents.

Please attach the requested documentation to this email and send it back to us.

We apologize for all the inconvenience, but we cannot move forward before we have received the requested documentation and finished the verification of your account.

Please be aware that we require a proof of identity and a proof of address.

We accept as proof of identity:

- A clear copy of your driver's license, or any other valid government issued picture ID

Please note that in accordance with our Anti Money Laundering Policies, we can only accept the following forms of Address documents:

Utilities Bill, such as water, gas, electricity
Landline Telephone Bill
Internet Service Provider Bill



Bank Statement
Tax/insurance letter
University matriculation
Social security letter

The document must show your full name, current address, and the issue date within the last 3 months. We kindly ask that you scan or take a clear photo of the requested documentation and send it back to this e-mail address.

If you currently have access to your Stars Account, you can also upload documentation via the client.

We look forward to receiving your documents so that we can proceed with the validation of your account.

Thank you for your cooperation.

Regards,

Tanja G
Stars Security

To enhance the security of your Stars Account, we strongly encourage you to set up our additional security features; Stars PIN, SMS Verification, RSA Token and Security Questions.

Activation of these features is extremely simple and can be completed within the ‘Account’ menu within our software.

We will NEVER ask you to confirm your login credentials or password via email, phone or chat facility or in any way. We do not advise giving your login information to anyone under any circumstances.



------- Previous Email -------

From: securi­[email protected]­sta­rsa­cco­unt.com
Sent: 10/11/2018 09:39:47
To: mypoke­rma­[email protected]­tut­ano­ta.com
Subject: PokerStars Security -

Hello David,

Thank you for your email.

In order to assist you with your request, we are required to ask you to verify your Account.

To complete this process, we would like to ask you to please provide us with the below documents:

1. A clear scan of your driver's license, or any other valid government issued picture ID (front and back).

2. A copy of a recent utility bill clearly showing your full name, current address and statement date (no older than 3 months). In lieu of a utility bill, we will accept a phone bill, bank statement, payslip or insurance bill which includes your full name, current address and statement date. Please note, we will not be able to accept personal letters or online statements.

Please scan or make a digital photo of your documentation and send it to securi­[email protected]­sta­rsa­cco­unt.com (with a size up to 5 MB).

We appreciate your cooperation regarding this matter.

Regards,

Vladimir
Stars Security

To enhance the security of your Stars Account, we strongly encourage you to set up our additional security features; Stars PIN, SMS Verification, RSA Token and Security Questions.

Activation of these features is extremely simple and can be completed within the ‘Account’ menu within our software.

We will NEVER ask you to confirm your login credentials or password via email, phone or chat facility or in any way. We do not advise giving your login information to anyone under any circumstances.


Since I can not at this time supply the proof of address mailing (as I receive no land mail they accept) I have asked
them to return my deposit and close the old account ( GoGoJira ). The closing of the new account ( Kaijudoka ), I left to their discretion, I will probably return to Pokerstars when I have a mailing that they accept but that won't be soon.

I have attached the most recent exchange.

Best regards,
Kaijudoka

kaijudoka Canada
Posted on October 17, 2018.

Hi,

Sorry about my previous post. I did not notice how the long chain of emails I pasted was.

I have received another email from pokerstars assuring my of their information security. I have never questioned this. No comment or resolution on returning my deposit.

I have again sent a reply asking for my deposit to be returned. Attached.

AskGamblers
Posted on October 20, 2018.

Dear PokerStars Casino,

Please let us know if there's some update regarding this case.

kaijudoka Canada
Posted on October 21, 2018.

Hi,

After a couple more irrelevant messages from Pokerstars, they have returned my deposit.

AskGamblers
Posted on October 22, 2018.

Based on submitter's last post AskGamblers Complaints Team consider this case as Resolved and it is officially closed now.

Thank you all for your cooperation.

By subscribing you are certifying that you are over the age of 18.

Sign up for +350 No Deposit Spins!

This offer is not applicable to residents of Great Britain.

By subscribing you are certifying that you have reviewed and accepted our updated Privacy and Cookie Policy

Try your luck with top-rated casinos on the market!

You have been inactive for 90 seconds