Global Gaming Awards Winners Announced

Global Gaming Awards Winners Announced

As always, end of September is reserved for Global Gaming Awards and this time it was no different. This year the award presentation took place 28th September at the Titian Ballroom in the Venetian Palazzo Congress Center in Las Vegas. The entire gaming industry including both land based and online operators attended this amazing event.

Event in a nutshell

The Global Gaming Awards have 12 categories and one award for the year’s achievements. Each category has 10 nominees that were nominated according to their achievements throughout the year. As for judging panel, it is comprised out of 50 esteemed individuals from different sectors of gaming industry from all around the world.

Even though there are 12 categories, in this article we’ll be addressing only the ones concerning online gaming operators. These categories include:

  • Digital operator of the year
  • Digital product of the year
  • Digital acquisition program of the year
  • Digital industry supplier of the year
  • Digital gaming innovation of the year

So, without further ado, the award goes to....

Digital gaming innovation and digital industry supplier award

This time around the digital gaming innovation award goes to Microgaming and their VR Roulette. Microgaming managed to snatch this award despite the rough competition. NYX Gaming, NetEnt and Betsoft were also among the nominees for this award.

When it comes to digital industry supplier of the year award goes to NetEnt. Even though the nominees in this category included Playtech, Amaya, Microgaming, OpenBet and many others, it wasn’t much of a surprise that NetEnt won this.

Digital acquisition program of the year award

This award might come as kind of a surprise to some of you since the nominees in this category were much stronger than the winner, at least in my opinion. This category nominees list involved eminent names such as 888, Ladbrokes Partners, Paddy Power and Unibet. However, the winner of this award was Income Access.

Now, what all of you probably want to know is who got the award for the digital operator of the year and what was the digital product of the year, so let’s cut to the chase.

Digital product and digital operator of the year

The award for the digital product of the year went to Microgaming. This is Microgaming’s second award in this year’s Global Gaming Awards. This time around the award was given to them for their iconic Jurassic Park online slot.

Jurassic Park Slot

The CEO of Microgaming, Roger Raatgever said that they are very proud to win two of these prestigious awards. Furthermore he added: "Jurassic Park is an incredible game and the fact that the experience is just as impressive on mobile as it is online really does blow people away. But to win an award for innovation is particularly close to my heart. For those that have seen our slots work on smart watches and experienced our VR Roulette product, it is an incredible insight into the future of online gaming."

Digital operator of the year award went to… Let’s add up a bit to the suspense. The award winner for 2015 is BET365. Last year this award went to 888 which was also nominated this year, but they didn’t manage to get the award two years in a row. BET365 managed to get their fingers on this award even though the competition included names such as PokerStars, William Hill, Paddy Power, 888 and others.

That’s all for this year folks. Be sure to follow all the digital gaming innovations this year, because new awards will be presented again next year.