Cosmik Casino - Withdrawal declined and winnings cancelled

RESOLVED
posted on June 22, 2014.

I deposited £20 into my account (then converted to Euros) and it appears I received a 50% bonus which was not applied for, required or used. Within my first few transactions on the slots, I had a few winners and subsequently increased my wager amount - never exceeding my deposit amount and not needing the 'bonus' to make the winnings possible. I then opted to withdraw in excess of €500 and at which point, the €13 bonus was removed from the total. I later receive an e-mail stating my winnings were cancelled and my withdrawal declined due to 'Irregular Play' with what appears to be a standard automated response saying I have wagered more than 30% of my deposit amount (deposit being €24 and maximum wager was €10 in one slots transaction). No explanation was received as to accusing me of 'Irregular Play' and so far no response to my formal complaint logged earlier today. My wagers were fair and accepted by the casino, so why cancel my winnings?

It appears the 'bonus' element is not an issue, more to the fact is that I have bet more than 30% of my deposit amount, which was accepted by the casino when wagering this amount. It appears it wouldn't have been a problem if I had lost!

Nevertheless, the wager was honest, fair and accepted, yet the casino now refuse to pay my winnings.

posted on June 23, 2014.

Having looked further into this, the T&C's re Irregular Play state:

• Placing single bets equal to or greater than 30% of the value of the bonus credited to the player account, prior to the wager requirement for that bonus having been met.

• Placing single bets equal to or greater than 30% of the value of the deposit.

But I did NOT violate these T&C's as although my bet on the slots was €10, this was a multiple bet of 5 lines at €2 per line, therefore the single bet is logically €2 per line and therefore I did not exceed your 30% restriction on a single bet. The majority of my winnings were based on a win of 200 x €2 and 50 x €2 (€500 total win).

posted on June 23, 2014.

Dear Richard1,

We are sorry to hear that you had some kind of issue withing Cosmik Casino.

In order to hep you solve this, we need your Cosmik Casino username as shown in your account.

Looking forward to hearing back from you.

Best,
CosmikCasino Support Team

posted on June 23, 2014.

My user name is MrREJackson

Thank you for looking into this.

posted on June 24, 2014.

Dear CosmikCasino,

So that we are perfectly clear on the situation, if you do not investigate and remedy your error and arrange to reimburse my winnings by the deadline this complaint has to run, I will be taking this further. Firstly, by reporting this situation to the Lotteries & Gaming Authority Malta, and secondly by instructing debt collectors or solicitors to recover this debt. I appreciate this may be a lengthy process, therefore will seek to recover interest and legal expenses in making this claim and enforcing the debt owed to me.

It has been noted the reason you are using for confiscating my winnings is that you believe I have exceeded a 30% wager limit for a single bet, whereas per evidence supplied above, the single bet was €2.00 per line compared to an initial deposit of €24.03, therefore far below the 30% you state.

I look forward to hearing from you in the very near future. Please feel free to respond to my e-mails if you prefer not to post on a public forum.

Regards

Richard Jackson

posted on June 24, 2014.

Dear MrREJackson,

We've checked your games history and by our T&C your total bet of (€10) did break the 30% rule.

It's actually not relevant if the bet per line was lower, the fact is that the current total bet was €10 which is 50% of your deposit. While hitting the "Spin" the total bet amount is based on the total lines you are playing. There is no independent bet per line, you bet to a group of lines which together made a bet of €10.

If required we will provide the relevant file to AskGamblers in order to dismiss this issue. Just provide us with an email for contact.

Best,
CosmikCasino Support Team

posted on June 24, 2014.

Your T&C's refer to 'single bet' wagers. Per the above screen print you will see the single bet wager is €2.00 per payline with a multiple bet value of €10.00. The winnings were calculated at the single bet value and as an independent bet per line (contradicting your statement above), as per the payout details. If you disagree with this, I suggest your terminology is incorrect and misleading in your T&C's re single bet wagers instead of multiple bet/payline values.

And if you stand by your decision, then why was my entire winnings confiscated? I increased my bet value to €2.00 per payline when I had €200 in my account, so why was the entire amount forfeited?

I am sorry, but the bet was valid and accepted and I am not prepared to have this dismissed by a rule which is not industry accepted. I have sought advice from affiliated casino members and will pursue this matter further in a bid to receive my winnings, won fair and square and to the letter of your T&C's.

Regards

Richard Jackson

PS you have my e-mail address per my account details and the e-mails I have already sent to your Support and Finance e-mail addresses, so far without reply.

posted on June 24, 2014.

Dear Richard,

Our T&C are not open to individual interpretations. They are clear and comply with our License requirements. They are applied to all players without exception.

Betting €2 on 5 lines means you are betting a total of €10.

Proof of T&C breach was sent to AskGamblers so as to dismiss this issue

Best,
CosmikCasino Support Team

posted on June 24, 2014.

Per an initial e-mail from CosmikCasino:

'"Irregular play" may include, inter alia:

• Placing single bets equal to or greater than 30% of the value of the bonus credited to the player account, prior to the wager requirement for that bonus having been met.

• Placing single bets equal to or greater than 30% of the value of the deposit.'

Do you agree that betting €2.00 on one payline (total bet €2.00) is different to betting €2.00 on five paylines (total bet €10.00)? Is it conceivable that one is classed as a single bet and the other is classed as a multiple bet? I am puzzled why you wish to refer to the breach amount as 'total of €10.00' when your T&C's clearly state 'single bets'. It is clear there was not a single bet of €10.00, but 5 of €2.00. The winnings were also based on 200x €2.00 and NOT 200x €10.00.

Nevertheless, you have also failed to answer why you deemed it satisfactory to confiscate €200 from me which was accumulated via (in your opinion) legitimate wagers below the 30% threshold before I increased my bets to 5x €2.00 increments. What is the reason why this was confiscated?

Since it is becoming obvious that you wish for no mediation on this matter, I think it only fair that I contact The Lotteries and Gaming Authority Malta for confirmation that your practice and T&C's 'are clear and comply with your Licence requirements'.

posted on June 25, 2014.

Dear AskGamblers,

Yesterday we provided all the required info in order to close this issue.

We'd appreciate if action is taken at your earliest convenience so as not to delay the resolution of this conflict.

Best.
CosmikCasino Support Team

AskGamblers
posted on June 25, 2014.

After a careful analysis of Cosmik Casino Bonus terms and conditions we could confirm that player has indeed breached p.13 Placing single bets equal to or greater than 30% from the value of the Bonus credited to the player account, prior to the wager requirement for that Bonus having been met.

Submitter was supposed to contact casino's support and request a clarification of these terms in case he was not sure what they mean prior placing even a single bet.

On the other hand, we recommend to Cosmik Casino to try and clarify its terms and conditions as much as possible in order to avoid such situations and misunderstandings in the future.

This case is now officially closed.

posted on June 25, 2014.

Please also state whether this '30% of deposit' rule is limited to the very last deposit as I had deposited €77.87 that week, which more than covers a total of a €10 wager at 30%. Your T&C's merely state 'value of deposit', so a total value, or value of last deposit, etc.

So for the record, let's get this into perspective.

Gaming and general casino play should be fun and held in a safe environment. Yes, fun playing the slots, but not fun when trying to make a withdrawal. Safe environment? Perhaps not. If the player loses, fine, if the player wins by placing fair and accepted bets, then best have an unfair rule in place whereby the casino can accuse the player of irregular and fraudulent play and confiscate all their winnings, yes, even winnings which were deemed fair and fall within the casino 'restrictions' and wagered before the 'irregular play' wager.

This 'condition' is not an industry standard and appears solely to be in place to restrict the few who do manage to win some money.

The stake was increased to €2.00 (8% of deposit placed on that day) per payline after 278 spins on the slots. Is it normal for every casino player to consult the T&C's (141 rules + subsections + other categories) every time they change games or increase their stake?!?!?

In summary, so far I have been accused of Irregular and Fraudulent play and had €500+ taken from me which was won fair by stakes accepted by the casino. The T&C's clearly state 'single bet value', yet my €10.00 (calculated as 40% of last deposit) wager is only referred to as a 'total bet'. Single values do not have a 'total' as by that very fact they are singular in value. Even my winnings were paid out according to a €2.00 wager.

Very upset at this turn of events. I play a game whereby my bets were accepted, then walk away being accused of irregular and fraudulent play and having to forfeit €500 as a penalty to the casino because they accepted my bet and I won.

For the record, please detail what 'p.13 is' as it does not tally to their published T&C's.