Casino Midas - No self exclusion allowed. No Licence held with the Gambling Commission to offer remote gaming in the UK.

posted on January 5, 2015.


I have recently been playing at Casino Midas and deposited £200. I got my balance up to £650 and decided i would like to withdraw. The casino requested that i send in docs to verify my account so i sent in tje requested docs promptly. I chased this up and was told it would take 4-6 days to verify. As i am dealing with a gambling problem i requestwd self exclusion and was told it is not something that casino midas offer. So i asked for my account to be closed. I again was told this was not possible due to beimg in verification status. So, due to the gambling problem i have, i gambled the £650 down to £250. I complained and they offered me a bonus of 50% cash back on any loses for 24 hours. This came to a total of £200 -balance now £450. Due to still not being able to withdraw on the 5-6-7 business day and the fact they have now requested further id docs and back of debit card, both of which were not requested before hand, i gambled my balance up to £2075. Then on the Sunday evening, i lost it all. Then as if by magic, on the monday morning, i had an email saying the docs had now been verified. This seemed very suspicious due to it taking so long to verify. I feel they were knew about my problem gambling, as i was open and requested to be self excluded and were just waiting to verify my docs after i lost my balance.
Due to this suspicion, i decided to do some research into Casino Midas emailed the gambling commission. I discovered that from the 1st November 2014, it is a legal requirement for all casinos who offer remote gaming to players within the uk should be licensed with the Commission. The friendly Manager at ths Commission informed me that Casion Midas did not hold this license!!
For this reason i looked into the conditions of the licence that they should have held and it shows that all operations of remote gaming in the UK MUST offer self exclusion apon a players request.

For this reason i requested a refund of £2075 to be issued. After some discussion with an agent i agreed that this was not the correct amount as it was only winnings that happened after the self exclusion was requested. So i requested a refund of £650, the account balance when i asked for self exclusion as this seemed the fair amount.
After dealing with this for almost 3 weeks i was told it would be passed on to the financial department for authorisation and i would receive a reply yesterday and did not.
The Gambling Commission have been informed of everything and they will be in touch regarding no licence. I don’t feel that casino midas are there to help me anymore so the reason for this complaint is to try amd get an answer from Casino Midas regarding the lack of licence and to try and get the ball moving on the refund as they are not responding to any of my emails.

posted on January 9, 2015.

Dear @DanielWarren1985,
Any update considering your complaint? Thank you.

posted on January 9, 2015.

Still no response from Casino Midas. UK gambling commission have been informed and their response was that they definitely do not hold a licence with them to offer remote gaming in the uk. If they did, they would have had to offer self exclusion by law and therefore are breaking laws accross the board. I have left it with them and they have told me they will be attempting to get in touch with the payment providers used by them, i.e visa etc and force them to stop acting on behalf of this UNLICENSED casino.

posted on January 9, 2015.

And to add to this, you can check for yourself at https:­//s­ecu­re.g­am­bli­ngc­omm­iss­ion.go­v.u­k/g­ccu­sto­mwe­b/P­ubl­icR­egi­ste­r/P­RSe­arc­h.aspx.

This is the link on the gambling commission website which is linked to the register of all licences held with them....

posted on January 15, 2015.

This case has been reopened upon submitter’s request and we would like to give it one last chance for a successful resolution.

posted on January 15, 2015.

Just for all current users of casino midas, the website has now been closed down as a result of my complaint. The Gambling Commission has forced the payment providers to withdraw their services from Casino Midas. Apologies for all other players who have to request withdrawals of funds through email, as to which they may not get a response. This Casino is unlicensed to operate in the UK. I have sent Casino Midas a further email this morning along with reopening this complaint to offer other unwitting gamers some information.

Thank you

posted on March 9, 2015.

This case has been reopened upon casino’s request and we would like to give it one last chance for a successful resolution.

posted on March 13, 2015.

Dear Ask Gamblers,
We at Casino Midas strive to provide our players with the highest standard of service in the industry. We take Responsible Gaming seriously and readjust our policy when needed.
As player updated, unfortunately we no longer service UK players, however we still would like to get more information on Self Exclusion and the websites that offer this service.

Kind regards,
Casino Midas

posted on March 17, 2015.

@Casino Midas,
Did you refund player's amount which he had before asking to be self-exclude?

posted on March 21, 2015.

This complaint we consider unresolved. If player asked for self-exclusion, casino due the self-exclusion policy need to refund player's deposit or in this case amount that he had before self-exclusion.

posted on April 1, 2015.

This case has been reopened upon player’s request and we would like to give it one last chance for a successful resolution.

posted on April 1, 2015.

Dear forum Manager and Casnio Midas.

Thank you both for posting.

FYI, I have not received any refund from Casino Midas however if they were to get in touch and send me an agreeable refund, I will be happy to mark this complaint as resolved.

I look forward to seeing if Casino Midas are happy to try and resolve this issue.