Thunderbolt Casino - Maximum bet rule is very misleading

jungitooj South Africa
posted on April 2, 2016.

I have been warned of this rule during my last withdrawal where Thunderbolt Casino advised me that they processed my withdrawal out of courtesy and I should not go against the maximum bet rule in future.

The rule stated as per email from Emma that : " Promotional Terms and Conditions:
Max bet rule for all bonuses = R100.00. Any winnings plus bonus amounts derived from such bets will be voided."

Since Emma made me aware of this in an email dated 30 March 2016, i thereafter gambled on 2 April 2016 . For the record, I responded to Emmas email on 1 April 2016, querying the translation of the clause and if still have not received any response. I quote my email to her :

"Hi Emma
Are u saying that if I use a match bonus, then the maximum I can bet is R100?
Please let me know i am a bit confused"

When I gambled today 2 April 2016, I considered what the rule stated and I reduced my bets to ensure that my bet didn't go over R100. I bet exactly R100. My understanding of emmas email was that the maximum bet must be equal to R100 (i attach proof of Emmas email and my response.)

Since then i spoke to agents Kendra and Shane on 2 April 2016 who advised that i did not abide by rule because the maximum i was allowed to bet was R99 and below (and not exactly R100). I feel very aggrieved because i won R20000 on playing R100 bet using a 50% match bonus coupon. If i was aware that my bet was violating the rule i would have reduced it to R99 or less but i was mislead by the what the clause states. I am now concerned that the payments department will deny my winnings.

I strongly believe that I am not wrong in the translation of the clause and if I translated it wrongly then thunderbolt casino needs to reword the clause appropriately. The clause is very misleading.

I am in total dispute of the the agents explanation that the bet must not be R100. I have to refer this for advice because the wording mislead me. If I knew the bet had to be R99 or less, I would have ensured that I would have abided by rule.

I strongly believe that I did not violate the rule and I believe that clause rule is very badly written. It should rather state that Max bet rule for all bonuses must not be R100.00 or more instead of Max bet rule for all bonuses = R100.00. I understood that the maximum bet must be equal to R100 or less because the wording clearly has the mathematical equal to sign "="

Please ask, I kindly request that you assist me with my complaint about this rule and if you can ensure me that my winnings are paid to me. I apologise to Thunderbolt Casino if I did the wrong thing but I swear I thought I was innocently abiding by the rules. It will not happen again if I was not allowed to bet R100 or more. I really need my winnings paid out to me. I am so saddened and sorry for any inconvenience.

posted on April 7, 2016.

Dear @jungitooj,

Any update regarding your complaint? Thank you.

posted on April 8, 2016.

Hi Jennitha,

Thank you for your input.

You are absolutely right in understanding this rule:

"Max bet rule for all bonuses = R100.00. Any winnings plus bonus amounts derived from such bets will be voided."

You are allowed during any bonus balance, to make bets up to R100. Once the bets are over R100, this rule will be applied.

We apologize for the misinformation and will ensure the support team is coached on this rule.

Thank you,
Thunderbolt Casino

jungitooj South Africa
posted on April 11, 2016.

Hello. Thanks for your response Thunderbolt. I believe this complaint can be closed and resolved as I have been reassured that my bets are in order for bonuses. Nerisa of Thunderbolt reassured me that exactly R100 is allowed according to that rule. Please advise the other agents of the same since they have been giving me the wrong interpretation of the rule

posted on April 12, 2016.

Based on submitter's last post AskGamblers Complaints Team consider this case as Resolved and it is officially closed now.

Thank you all for your cooperation