LeoVegas Casino let me register even though I am permanently self-excluded there

RESOLVED
posted on June 3, 2015.

I self-excluded from LeoVegas on the 28. Oct 2014 because of gambling problems. In January i opened a new account with no problems even though you have to verify through a code you receive on you mobilphone. I used the same number as last time, registered on me, same d.o.b, my real name and so on. I deposited and lost. desided to close the account. And some days later i checked if it was possible to open a new account again, and i could. yet again i verified through the same number. I contacted the support, and they said they would come back to me within a few days. this was on the 17. may. and have not heard anything yet. I recieved a confirmation from suppert that i self-excluded permanent because of gambling problems, and have attached the relevant documentations.

Thank you :)

posted on June 3, 2015.

Hi Emmdah,

We are sorry to hear about the problems you have experienced with LeoVegas and will do our best to help you. Please inbox us with your username and full name so that we may enquire about this for you.

Thank you.

posted on June 3, 2015.

i just sent an email to [email protected] with the title: Askgamblers complaint

posted on June 3, 2015.

Hi Emmdah, this will go to customer services not us, please inbox it to us so that we can deal with it directly.

Thank you.

posted on June 3, 2015.

I tried to see if I could send it to you private here, but couldn't fint anything?

posted on June 3, 2015.

Hi Emmdah, the forum have forwarded on your details to me no worries. Our team are currently looking into it and as soon as we have a response we will inform you. Thank you for your patience.

posted on June 4, 2015.

is there anything new regarding my issue?

posted on June 5, 2015.

Hi Emmdah,

Our customer services team received the email you sent in and have responded to you. Nevertheless I will respond to you on the forum and would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused. It's correct that it's possible to open more accounts with the same phone number, the reason for this is that mobile numbers are not something people are stuck with for the rest of their life and we don't want to restrict people from signing up just because they have inherited a phone number from an existing LeoVegas player. We also welcome people without a mobile phone on our site and they are welcome to use their spouse or someone else's phone number to sign up, even if the spouse is a player at LeoVegas already.

The fact that it's possible to create more accounts using the same mobile number doesn't mean you should do so. It's clearly stated in our Terms & Conditions (like for all other gaming site) that you can only open one account. If you really want to breach our Terms&Conditions, it's always possible, but just changing your name and your email address wont prevent us from finding out sooner or later, and by later we mean when you try to make a withdrawal.

Responsible gaming is something we take very seriously and hope that you seek help for your gambling issues with professional help. We encourage you to visit the site www.ganorge.no which is the site for Gambler Anonymous Norway.

Thank you.

posted on June 6, 2015.

Hi. So if i had won a lot of money you would have recognized and stopped me. So in that case you would have "won" by holding back the winnings and refund the deposits? But if you just deposit and loose your money you just keep it.. You win again.

just because it is in the t&c does not prevent someone from trying to gamble again. It is like saying to an alcoholic who wants to quit drinking to just stop going to the liquor stores..

Other sites it is impossible to register a new account using the same phone number. and the most secure from you part would be to confirm if the person behind the registered number was me, and if not, have that person provide identification/ documentation because the former owner is excluded because of gambling problems.

i have read the license conditions and codes for both ukgc and mga.. and you are far from conducting the principles of responsible gambling. an email is way more easy to change in just a second, than a phone number.. the phone number is also registered in my name.

I think you are in the wrong here. And you should refund the money you illegally have taken. im not taking anything from you. just think you should give back what doesn´t belong to you.

Had the same issue with another casino, and they admitted they where wrong, and resolved the issue the same day.

seems like some casinos act the way that fits them, and don´t care about rules they have to follow to have their license.

posted on June 7, 2015.

Hi Emmdah,

When registering again with LeoVegas you in fact changed your email address and name, which is why when you used the same mobile number it would come across as a different individual that now has that mobile number. Had all details remained the same, this would not of been the case.

We understand your frustrations, however once you have self excluded you have no right to winnings you may have deceptively received from the casino as you did not register as yourself and any payouts are not due to you.

We do agree that registering with the same mobile number should flag up sooner and apologise for any inconvenience caused. We will pass this on to try and cause a flag to arise sooner, to avoid any further problems. Again, we do take responsible gaming seriously and advise that you seek help for your gambling issues.

Thanks.

posted on June 9, 2015.

I really think that you are wrong here.. When I verified through my phone number it should have been stopped since that number is used to self exclude due to gambling problems.. It is a verification procedure.. So you verified a problem gambler.. You can't let people verify multiple accounts after that and take zero responsibility..

posted on June 9, 2015.

Hi Emmdah,

As stated previously we do agree that registering with the same mobile number should flag up sooner and apologise for any inconvenience caused. We will pass this on to try and cause a flag to arise sooner, to avoid any further problems. The reason this is currently not the case is because we can not block a mobile number, as this on it's own does not verify that it is the same user and you registered again using different information.

Again we are looking into this so that this problem does not arise in future.

Thanks.

posted on June 9, 2015.

can you mail me the registration information I used? Or send it private?

posted on June 9, 2015.

can you mail me the registration information I used? Or send it private?

posted on June 9, 2015.

We do not have access to this I'm afraid you need to contact customer support.

Thanks.

posted on June 9, 2015.

So that mean I could have withdrawn any winnings without any problems?

posted on June 9, 2015.

Hi Emmdah,

Not sure if we understand what you're saying. You are you and you have self excluded, as we have said previously as soon as we realised it was you we closed your account as you are self excluded and therefore have no rights to winnings you may have received deceitfully.

posted on June 9, 2015.

You say you are unable to recognize it if the player registers using a different name or email.. That means I would recived my winnings without any problems..

posted on June 9, 2015.

That is not what we said. We said we recognised eventually that you used different details other than the phone number which remained the same. We have apologised for any inconvenience caused and have stated more than once, that we are looking into changing this process to avoid problems in future.

posted on June 9, 2015.

That is why you should refund.. "Eventually" means in your best interest.. You first let them loose their money, and when you eventually realize, you close the account, and keep their money.. That money doesn't belong to you in the same way you say that any winnings wouldn't belong to me.. Can't operate with a double standard.. If I had won a big amount of money, you would probably have refunded.. Because in that way you would also have won..

posted on June 10, 2015.

I got the information from the support, about my account details. I have not used fake names. The first account i opened is with my middlename and surname. Selfexcluded in october. the second is with my firstname and surname. I self excluded from that also. And the other two i could open is with my firstname and surname also!

posted on June 10, 2015.

We can confirm that we have been informed that your details were not the same, otherwise you would have flagged up straight away. As you are self-excluded you have no rights to any winnings you may have got deceitfully. We apologize that you were not flagged up sooner with your mobile number and are looking into changing this so that it does not happen in the future.

posted on June 10, 2015.

I have not recived any winnings.. And you should not receive money that was not supposed to be taken.. I have the email.. The names are the same..

posted on June 11, 2015.

We're sorry you feel that way, but regardless of what does happen to the winnings they are not yours. We can only apologise that this incident has occured and have said on several occassions that we are looking into changing the system so that problems such as this don't occur in the future. We thank you for opening our eyes to this and wish you all the best.

posted on June 11, 2015.

I understand.. But you don't reply to the fact this is a double standard?? That the money deposited isn't yours either..

posted on June 11, 2015.

What LeoVegas now do with the funds is something we can not comment on or have knowledge of. As I'm sure you'll understand that is not information us Forum reps hold nor is it the obligation of LeoVegas to share. Nevertheless, you breached contract of your self-exclusion therefore no funds are due to you. We do not wish self excluded players to try and re-sign with us, hence why we offer self exclusion in the first place. You took it upon yourself to try and deceive the system which, we have said should have been flagged up earlier, but the fact that you tried is not the fault of LeoVegas. Again we are very sorry that the mobile number did not flag up sooner and are taking this seriously.

Thank you for your co-operation.

posted on June 15, 2015.

Not satisfied with the solution..

AskGamblers
posted on May 11, 2016.

The complaint has been reopened as per LeoVegas Casino request and AskGamblers Complaints Team would like to give this case one more try and help both parties involved to reach a satisfactory resolution.

AskGamblers
posted on May 11, 2016.

AskGamblers Complaints Team have been provided by valid evidence on behalf management of LeoVegas Casino where it is clearly displayed that player had opened more than one account. Player by these actions violated general term # 1.14

If You open or attempt to open more than one account, for whatever reason, LeoVegas may block or close any or all of Your accounts at its discretion. LeoVegas also reserves the right to withhold any deposits or winnings upon the discovery of duplicate or multiple accounts at its sole discretion. Should LeoVegas decide to leave one account open, it will be the first account that You opened with LeoVegas, to which Your remaining deposits, if any, will be transferred. LeoVegas will deduct an administrative fee of 10% (minimum €30) for every account You have opened as well as any other deductions that may apply in accordance with these T&C.
Furthermore, if you attempt to open any additional account after your original account had been closed for the reason of gambling addiction, any funds held in your additional account/s will be immediately forfeited and no winnings shall be paid out under any circumstance.

Based on the above, AskGamblers Complaints Team consider this case as Resolved and it is now officially closed. In a case of a disagreement with our decision we remind the player that further assistance on this matter could be requested from the relevant licensing authority responsible for LeoVegas Casino.