Mega Casino - Winnings refused

RESOLVED
posted on June 3, 2015.

The the companies are completely unrelated with the exception of sharing a very popupular licensing company. They are owned by seperate people. The company allowed me to sign up, it didnt prevent me upon registration. When it realised i had won a large amount it locked my account. And even then, it's customer service agent assured me the full amount for withdrawal would be honoured. This didn't happen. Companies shouldn't be getting away with this method of freerolling players

posted on June 6, 2015.

Deposited £250. Won circa £1700. Winnings refused and deposit returned because a DIFFERENT company that I previously excluded from years earlier operates on the same license as them, Tried to call management, who weren't interested in talking to me, leaving it to the no-nothings in the call centers who were unable to answer any questions...

posted on June 6, 2015.

Here is a conversation between me and Olga, a Live Chat rep...


Hi, looking for some advice. I self excluded from an operator last year, slotsmagic. They are owned by different companies but operate on the same license as a Mega Casino ( though they are not affiliated in any way), so I wasn't to know they use the common Skill On Net License. ) . I deposited £250 on Mega Casino and won £1700. The company refused my winnings and returned my deposit. Is this the correct thing to do? What is the law regarding this? Can I take MegaCasino to court? I didn't exclude with them, I excluded with a completely separate company using a popular license supplier

[email protected]: so i should be allowed to play at megacasino as i didnt request exclusion from here
Olga: No, your account was closed
[email protected]: why?
Olga: as a part of our Responsible Gaming Policy
[email protected]: i have a pending withdrawal on it
Olga: It will be processed, no problem
[email protected]: are you sure?
Olga: Yes, no worries
[email protected]: the full withdrawal will be paid to me?

Olga: We are sister casinos
[email protected]: where is this made clear?
[email protected]: because Primegaming, Mega Casino's owner doesn't list it as a sister casino
Olga: It is within the system of Skill On Net
[email protected]: you stated that the withdrawal will be paid then backtracked and said the payments depertment will check it. will i be paid on not?
Olga: yes, the fact that your account is closed will not affect the withdrawal

posted on June 6, 2015.

Olga was incorrect, the £1698 wasn't paid. My £250 deposit was returned. If Mega casino didn't want my custom, they could have easily blocked me from registering and depositing. Of course they did want it, but only if I lost!

posted on June 8, 2015.

Hi,

Before I'll get into the specifics of this matter, it is important to note that the player has further submitted a complaint to eCogra (The UK ADR company we work with) in accordance to the UKGC regulations and we will fully participate in that investigation, however, for the sake of clarity and fairness, it is equally important to address the main points of the player’s complaint.
We probably have the most complete and comprehensive terms and conditions on the Self Exclusion procedures in the UK and not only that, we provide SE/Deposit Limits utilities for our customers to use directly from the client that has immediate affect on the customers' accounts.

The terms related to the players query are the following, which can also be found here.
Just a short brief regarding the history we have with this user, he previously Self Excluded from one of the Casinos which is operating under the same UK license as our Casino and created another account in our Casino, MegaCasino, which is completely against our terms of use and the UKGC regulations if one has an active SE under the same license holder.

On clause 1 of our terms of use, it explains who owns the license. Furthermore, under the Responsible Gaming section, clause 20.3.4, we explain that Self Exclusion means self-excluding from all the casinos that operate under our License (as described in clause 1 in our terms of use).

Lastly at the bottom of the website we have our License details again, with a click here(h­ttp­s:/­/se­cur­e.g­amb­lin­gco­mmi­ssi­on.g­ov.uk­/gc­cus­tom­web­/Pu­bli­cRe­gis­ter­/PR­Acc­oun­tDe­tai­ls.a­sp­x?a­cco­unt­No=­39326) option that shows the actual license status and all the casinos included in it which reads the following:


This site is operated by Skill on Net Ltd, a company registered in Malta under Reg. No. C50024 with its business address at Level 5, Quantum House, 75 Abate Rigord Street, Ta' Xbiex 1120 Malta and operated under a gaming license issued to Skill on Net Ltd by the Gambling Commission of Great Britain, the status of which can be viewed here(h­ttp­s:/­/se­cur­e.g­amb­lin­gco­mmi­ssi­on.g­ov.uk­/gc­cus­tom­web­/Pu­bli­cRe­gis­ter­/PR­Sea­rch.as­px?­Ext­ern­alA­cco­unt­Id=­39326).

Which in turn, leads to this page...
https:­//s­ecu­re.g­am­bli­ngc­omm­iss­ion.go­v.u­k/g­ccu­sto­mwe­b/P­ubl­icR­egi­ste­r/P­RAc­cou­ntD­eta­ils.as­px?­acc­oun­tNo­=39326.

We therefore clearly state, that if a user self-excludes from one of the casinos operating on the one License, he/she excludes themselves from the rest of the casinos that operates under the same license.

It's highly important to mention, we do not benefit from users that Self exclude and manage to open new accounts on any of the other Network casinos (which operate under the same license), we only lose. Not only that do we pay the costs for the processing of those deposits, but we also invest a lot of time and human resources in checking and investigating each account, thus, we have no gain.

The user was fully refunded with his deposit and was provided with the relevant references that led to our actions on numerous occasions.

It's important to mention that Self-exclusion is not something that players should toy with, it’s a serious choice which we and the UKGC take very seriously and follow to the letter under the current rules of our License.

I hope this explains our position more clearly.

If there is anything more information that you need please let me know, I will be happy to help.

Best regards,
PrimeGaming

posted on June 8, 2015.

Explaining the complex method of uncovering the obscure terms of unearthing the reasons for not paying me the money I legitimately won at your casino would make interesting reading for somebody interested in court room dramas, for example. But realistically, the guys reading sites like askgamblers are the Average Joe Punters like me, who sign up for websites in good faith without painstakingly reading through thousands of words of terms and conditions. You terms and conditions don't even provide the information of the other self excluded website which would in theory hinder my membership to your casino, it merely provides it via a link!

I doubt your explanation has gone down too well with folk on here or potential customers. After all, what chance do we have of getting it right when YOUR OWN STAFF can't?

[email protected]: so i should be allowed to play at megacasino as i didnt request exclusion from here
Olga: No, your account was closed
[email protected]: why?
Olga: as a part of our Responsible Gaming Policy
[email protected]: i have a pending withdrawal on it
Olga: It will be processed, no problem
[email protected]: are you sure?
Olga: Yes, no worries
[email protected]: the full withdrawal will be paid to me?

Olga: We are sister casinos
[email protected]: where is this made clear?
[email protected]: because Primegaming, Mega Casino's owner doesn't list it as a sister casino
Olga: It is within the system of Skill On Net
[email protected]: you stated that the withdrawal will be paid then backtracked and said the payments depertment will check it. will i be paid on not?
Olga: yes, the fact that your account is closed will not affect the withdrawal

posted on June 8, 2015.

Furthermore, i find it absurd the claims that the company take exclusions so seriously. If that were the case, I would be detected as an excluded user upon sign-up. Or up-on deposit. No, the company waits until the withdrawal request ( when they haven't lost, and been allowed to "slip through the net" ;-) )

These companies all operate on the same license yet can't prevent an excluded user from signing up? Is this chap insulting our intelligence by suggesting that a simple database of excluded users shared between users of the license would be so expensive and complex that they have to invest all these man hours into the problem?

Pull the other one.

AskGamblers
posted on June 10, 2015.

Although player raised some reasonable questions regarding the need of a shared database of players under an active self-exclusion agreement within SkillOnNet brands who are all operating under the same license number, we believe that Mega Casino actions were justified in this particular case and they were following their terms and conditions as well as their Responsible Gaming policy. That is why we consider this case as Solved and officially closed.

On the other hand, we will watch closely how another case concerning the same type of issues is about to be dealt from another SkillOnNet powered brand operating under the same license and whether the same standards and rules will be applied when it comes to refunding players. More info here - http:/­/ww­w.a­skg­amb­ler­s.c­om/­cas­ino­-co­mpl­ain­ts/­veg­as-­win­ner­-no­t-f­oll­owi­ng-­the­ir-­own­-re­spo­nsi­ble­-ga­mbl­ing­-policy