Vernons Casino - Deposit Limit Exceeded

RESOLVED
posted on June 5, 2015.

Hi,
I've had an account with vernons for a while, (before I start I'm a compulsive gambler trying to control an addiction) in December I set a deposit limit of £10 per week, every week until this week I've deposited £10 however this week for some reason I was able to deposit £1200 now I know this was a stupid act however after setting my limit I didn't think I'd be aloud to deposit such amounts, I wrote and complained to vernons who replied sayin that on 2nd of march I'd changed my deposit limit to 'no limit' now this is very unlikely as I continued to play at only £10 per week until this week, where do I go from here?? How can I prove I never amended the limits? I just know something's not right as when I called the manager was actually expecting my phone call,

posted on June 8, 2015.

We take responsible gambling extremely seriously at Vernons. The player initially contacted us via email on the 5th June. We took the steps of excluding him from the casino due to the issues with gambling mentioned. We checked the player's account and can confirm the following changes were made to his deposit limit:

02/10/2014 Weekly limit of £20 applied
21/12/2014 Weekly limit increased from £20 to £50
21/12/2014 Weekly limit reduced from £20 to £10
02/05/2015 Weekly limit removed - no deposit limit in effect

On the 2nd May the player attempted to deposit three times between 22:55 and 22:56. At 22:56 the player requested the limit to be removed (as with all limit increases, this took effect after 24 hours). The declined deposits were declined by the player's bank; the player then successfully deposited £10 from an alternative card. The deposit attempts and limit removal were done on the mobile application. We have provided the player with confirmation of the above and therefore we cannot provide any refund for the deposits made and lost.

We can confirm that the account is fully excluded and as such the player will not be able to re-open or re-register with us whilst the exclusion is active.

Kind Regards,

Vernons

posted on June 8, 2015.

Hi,

Just in response to above, yes this is correct until the last part where it says reset my deposit limit to no limit,,

What I tried to do was reduce my deposit limit to £0 per week in effect self excluding however by doing this it looks like I increased my limit to 'no limit' obviously I'm now thankful that I have been excluded however really disappointed that vernons are accepting no responsibility for what happened, I thought that having a limit of £0 per week would surely mean I could deposit nothing??

posted on June 9, 2015.

We can confirm that entering the amount "0" would return an error when trying to set a deposit limit - because 0 is not a valid deposit amount. The system will have returned "Amount not valid" and asked the player for another amount. As such we unfortunately cannot provide any refunds for deposits made and lost prior to the player notifying us about the issues with responsible gambling.

Kind Regards,

Vernons

posted on June 9, 2015.

To be honest it's no longer about a refund it's about vernons admiring that there system is wrong and accepting some responsibility! I've since asked a friend to who also has vernons to try and enter a deposit limit of £0 and his account limit has also been removed, I start to wonder how many people might be affected by this, however I know that there's only going to be one winner in this case and indeed that is vernons as they know that it'd make no financial sense for me to take matters further. I hope others reading this post take not of the shambolic level of customer service vernons are providing and think before choosing them :)


Kind regards,

Marc.

posted on June 9, 2015.

I've also just noticed that there has been a case very similar to mine posted on this website involving vernons, Coincidence????????? Hhhmmm

posted on June 11, 2015.

The issue the player is referring to was in February; our software provider had a temporary issue which was resolved by the time the player contacted AskGamblers. We have tested our mobile application and can confirm that if you try to enter "0" the app will return an error - confirming that "0" is not a valid number and ask you to enter another.

As we have already mentioned the player attempted to deposit three times (which were declined by his bank) immediately before removing the limit. The player then went on to deposit successfully with another card.

We take responsible gambling extremely seriously at Vernons, and if there were an issue we would take steps to resolve it and ensure any players affected were contacted and put right. However, in this case, we have tested our mobile application and can confirm we do not have any issues.

Kind Regards,

Vernons

posted on June 11, 2015.

Well I've now had this tested on 3 other accounts all of which there deposit limits have been removed completely, I hope people reading this take this on board as when you are a compulsive gambler issues that may seem trivial to some are more serious, like in this case, so are you now admiring that there have been software issues with deposit limits before?? And now all of a sudden it's impossible for my case to be down to a software issue?? Without any sort of a software investigation taking place?? Very convenient... for vernons that is!!

posted on June 12, 2015.

We have sent an email to the player asking for him to explain the exact steps he takes to replicate the issue he experienced. As confirmed, we have tested and cannot replicate the issue he claims to have had.
We will gladly work with the player to ascertain how the issue arises as all of our tests have not replicated it.

Kind Regards,

Vernons

posted on June 13, 2015.

I'd just like to let you know that I've sent the information required to vernons, it looks like there finally going to investigate rather than jumping to conclusions like they've done thus far, I aware their response in antisipation

Regards

Marc.

posted on June 17, 2015.

We have received some information from the player and are currently looking into it.

Kind regards,

Vernons

posted on June 17, 2015.

It's funny vernons are saying one thing here and a totally different thing to my direct email, yesterday I was told via email that they wouldn't be looking any further into the case yet on here today they say they have some info and are looking into it?? Very mixed messages from a very unprofessional company, I've asked that my complaint be esculated it's not even about the money I know I lost it for me it's about vernons fixing there system to stop this happening and also about vernons admiting they have or had an issue!!!

AskGamblers
posted on June 20, 2015.

Any news?

posted on June 21, 2015.

Hi unfortunately no news, I've provided as much info as I can however there now asking for exact steps for instance at what point did u hit enter ect.. There also asking me to log on to a friends account and repeat the process which I feel is an unreasonable request, one minute I'm told vernons can retrace all movement I make on there site now I have to provide ''exact and precise'' details of what action I took!! Unfortunately it looks like this complaint will go unresolved.

However I'd like to thank ask gamblers for giving me the opertunity to highlight this issue to the public and hopefully avoid I'd happening to anyone else,

Thanks.

posted on June 24, 2015.

We would like to confirm that we have tested our systems extensively and have not been able to reproduce the issue the player described. Additionally, the player has not been able to provide any further information on either: the steps he took to change the limit or: the friend that was able to replicate the issue. We are sorry that the player is not willing to provide the information available from his friend as this may shed light on an issue that we are otherwise not able to reproduce. We would like to clarify that we do not want the player to log-in to anyone else's account - rather that he provide us with the information for the friend's account he mentioned earlier as having been able to reproduce the issue.

Kind Regards,

Vernons

AskGamblers
posted on June 28, 2015.

We invite both parties to supply evidence regarding this complaint. Please send them at [email protected]

AskGamblers
posted on July 6, 2015.

Based on the evidence that casino management provide, and also we tested this option. We can confirm that you can't set your limit to 0, options are: "-" no limits, or "limit must be a positive number". We consider this complaint resolved and officially closed. If player consider that his rights was infringed, he can seek further help with a licence authority that issued casino licence.