PlayHippo Casino - Allowed me to deposit and play over 2 days then blocked account because of self-exclusion from sister site.

RESOLVED
Julie Grant United Kingdom
posted on August 31, 2015.

I opened an account with this casino on 12/08/15 and deposited and played through £500 over the next couple of days. I tried to log on on 14/08/15 only to find my account blocked and when I queried it with support I was told I was self excluded from a sister site until January 2016. I checked and found that this was for Jetbull - I'd been having problems with the amounts I was spending so self excluded for a year. I then left a message with PlayHippo on 19/08/15 asking how I was able to open an account and deposit and play through £500 before my account was blocked and stating that it seems very unfair that I have played with money that I was never going to win anything with or have the chance to recoup and I would like an explanation of how this has been allowed to happen under the responsible gaming policy as in the past I have found with other casinos who operate sister sites if I sign up, I am then unable to deposit because my card won't be accepted.
Nobody came back to me so I forwarded on 20/08/15. I then got a response from customer service merely stating again that my account was excluded until January 2016. I responded saying "I did NOT exclude from Playhippo. I opened the account, deposited and played over a couple of days then when I went to log in to play more I was told to contact customer support.

When I did this I was informed that because I was self excluded from one of the sister sites I had now been excluded from playhippo. As I explained I am now aware that I am self excluded from 3 sister sites due to problem gambling and should therefore never have been able to open an account in the first place, let alone be allowed to deposit funds. Effectively, I have been allowed to spend £500 that you would never have payed out on.

I would appreciate if you could escalate this for a manager to have a look at and I am also going to send an email to the regulating body because in terms of responsible gaming, this seems grossly unfair.
I then got a response back from another agent apologizing for his colleague and saying my complaint had been forwarded to his manager and he would be in touch. I waited four working days (as stated on their website) and heard nothing so followed up with an email on 25/08/15 asking if they were any further forward with an answer to my query. Still no response. Emailed again 27/08/15 - guess what? Still no response. It's like they are ignoring me and all I'm looking for is an answer to my query.
Hope you can help!
Kind regards,
Julie

posted on September 3, 2015.

Hi Julie,

Can you please send a email straight to [email protected] and we will look over this. I just need your player email.

First of all let me apologise for the slow reply from our customer support, will look into why that has happened. But I can say as a general ground rule, if you are blocked on a site with the same license as is the case with Jetbull and PlayHippo - if you manage to deposit you will get the money back.

I just need to look into the specifics of your case to see if there are any other reasons for this to have not happened. So kindly send me a email there with your details.

Regards
Sven

Julie Grant United Kingdom
posted on September 3, 2015.

Hi Sven,
I have sent you an email from the account I registered on the site with, forwarding on all the details.
Kind regards,
Julie

AskGamblers
posted on September 6, 2015.

Dear @fb_10­153­126­903­358404,

Any update regarding your complaint? Thank you.

posted on September 7, 2015.

Hi, just a update on this since I just talked to our finance department.

All of the players deposits was returned to the same method of deposit on 03/09/2015 09:19:39 - or more precisely it was sent from us then - and should reach the players payment option within 3- 5 bank days.

We are sorry for the long time it took for this resolution and that our support could not help on your first contact with us.

We hope Julie will be able to confirm this as soon as the money reach her

Regards
Sven

Julie Grant United Kingdom
posted on September 9, 2015.

Money was credited back to my account on the 4th which was a very speedy resolution so that was appreciated. I guess that is the complaint resolved although there was no explanation as to how this had been allowed to happen in the first place or why I was being ignored by support on such a serious matter - I wonder if the complaint would have been resolved if I had not escalated it?!?

AskGamblers
posted on September 12, 2015.

Based on the player's last comment we consider this case as resolved and it is now officially closed.